We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient,cosy & good value”
Review of Dog & Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dog & Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient,cosy & good value”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We was attending a wedding at the nearby church, which the hotel was ideally situated.
The hotel was clean, rooms were comfortable and clean,the breakfast was good and service was prompt, we would defiantly return if we was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    120
    58
    7
    2
See reviews for
58
142
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Clean Room,

Excellent Breakfast, so much choice, nicely cooked food,

Nice Staff

All Good, gladly stay again, quite at night as well.

car Park is not the biggest that would be the downside but i got parked in the end

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dansjoinery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, Worcs.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here a couple of times on business. Very comfortable rooms, well decorated and furnished. The shower in room 23 is a little short on pressure and wasn't particularly hot, but it's a minor gripe. The food was excellent and the breakfast choice was good. I've previously stayed at the Mercure Great Danes just down the road and am very glad to have found this place instead - the Mercure was truly awful. I'll be staying at the Dog and Bear again for sure. See you soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_and_Deb_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Dog & Bear. Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. We had a very warm welcome when we booked in and all the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. We had previously read all the reviews on this hotel and they were all right ...(except for one persons review who I don't think could have been staying at the same place as everyone else). The food was great and the breakfast was extremely good. We explored the area by day and then had 3 very pleasant evenings chatting to the locals and staff in the bar. Thankyou to everyone who ensured we had a really relaxing break in The Dog & Bear. See you next time.
Carole & Dave Dudman (Room 3)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroledaveGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Good friendly and very helpful staff. We arrived hours before checking in time but they still had our room ready in 40 minutes.We asked for a taxi in the afternoon to take us out at night it was booked straight away and was there on time for us.We would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Excellent atmosphere and service from the helpful and friendly staff, don't miss out on the breakfast , it will set you up for the day. The location is excellent in the town square, and Lenham is full of character.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FTtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

No major faults other than a badly cooked steak for one of our group and the second attempt was no better. A free pudding was given as compensation. All staff were very friendly and overall the stay was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hoady-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
1.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
962 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
559 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.6 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
7.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog & Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog & Bear Hotel

Property: Dog & Bear Hotel
Address: The Square, Lenham ME17 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dog & Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Dog & Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog And Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel Lenham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing