We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
£67
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£60
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
222
174
82
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
174
82
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub shepherd neame car park dog friendly hotel evening meal and breakfast fish and chips north downs good size attending a wedding food was lovely would stay again a lovely stay stayed for one night bath ashford dover kent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2023

The hotel it's self was lovely, staff very friendly. We stayed in the superior room and I couldn't fault it, it was lovely and spacious. However breakfast was a little disappointing, waited over 1 hr and full English came out cold and sausage uncooked. Also there was many dogs at breakfast, although this is a dog friendly hotel, I'm not sure at breakfast as lots of dog hairs on floor. Overall room was very nice.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2023

Great quirky Hotel, need a map of the Hotel in order to get around. Only downside being the requirement to pay for drinks, meals etc., instead of being able to charge to the room. This is an archaic procedure !

Room tip: Be aware that you need to pay for drinks and meals 'upfront' and cannot charge to your room.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StanC382
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2023

The only reason that I visited was because I had a two-for-one mains offer. The truly helpful and charming waitress meant that I did not give it the lowest rating. My friend said that his pasta dish was okay but my fish and chips can best be described as 70's work's canteen quality and at £17.50 a disgrace. The chips were, just chips but the fish was meagre with some soggy batter. There was no choice of 'mushy' peas and the bright green frozen peas had not been drained adequately so sat in a pool of water. The bitter was more than £5 per pint-other pubs around here charge about £4.50.

Room tip: Avoid for food
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amw3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

Perfect resting place being within 20 minutes of the Channel Tunnel terminal.

Friendly welcome, lovely atmosphere in bar and excellent menu. Really attentive staff too.

Really enjoyed our stay, only comment is bedroom was quite drafty and therefore a touch cold.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 693tobiase
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2023

We stayed at the Dog and Bear during early July and were hugely impressed by the quality of the service, the value for money and the friendliness of the staff. From our arrival through to check out, nothing was too much trouble and this wonderful attitude greatly enhanced our stay. The room was immaculate and the food was of a consistently high quality. i would particularly highlight the Eggs Benedict.

We are happy to give The Dog and Bear our highest recommendation, and our thanks for making our short stay so enjoyable.

Room tip: Plenty of parking behind the hotel. Very clean, amazing food!
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jilly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews