We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views, beachfront location and fine dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Sandgate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views, beachfront location and fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

This was a very last minute choice as the professional photos did not exactly sell the hotel. We had no idea we were going to be right on the seafront which is a lovely promenade with a pebble beach. Also we thought we were going to Folkestone, but in fact Sandgate is a quaint tiny village just past Folkestone and quite different in character with a couple of restaurants and antique shops. The views from the hotel bedrooms and the elevated viewing/dining terrace were magnificient. We had the top floor 'channel suite' which was the same room price but excellent value, providing a sitting room with stunning sea views and a separate bedroom and shower room. All were tastefully and recently refurbished. The restaurant was a real suprise, providing an amazingly accomplished fine dining experience rather than pub food. The pub itself is separate to the restaurant dining room and is small and mainly for locals. It is advisable to book a table while booking your hotel stay as it is a popular place with locals on a saturday evening for a meal out. We were lucky and squeezed in with a cancellation. We ended up eating every meal there as it was such good quality, including the cooked breakfast. The hosts were helpful and friendly - overall a delightful place to stay which we will certainly return to for a weekend at the coast.

Room Tip: top floor channel suite is the same 'room price' but you actually get a separate sitting roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingwilfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    29
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
65
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed overnight after returning from Europe. Only 10 minutes from the tunnel. Lovely traditional old pub but behind that a first rate restaurant where we had a great evening meal, top class, good value and service. The rooms where in an adjoining house, right on the seafront and fitted out to a very high standard. We had the channel suite on the top floor with every consideration, from tea and coffee to complimentary drinks and a great view. Both the pub and restaurant were packed, so that speaks for itself. We booked from recommendation and can see why. Will be staying against without hesitation as we travel to Europe to visit family alot. Thankyou.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I have read a few of the previous reviews and some don't read well. I think they are a bit misleading. We stayed at the Inn 2 nights and had a very enjoyable meal on the friday night. Would loved to have stayed another night and dined again on the Saturday too but both accommodation and restaurant were booked out. I think that says it all for it's popularity. The owners are very nice and even offered us their table (it was their night off) before a helpful waitress managed to free a table and save our friday night. I'd definitely revisit. I'd describe the room as cosy rather than luxury but good value for money. Parking is tricky but the owners, location, restaurant and friendly pub make it very worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagy, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here twice within 10 days.

First time we were in the cottage ground floor, but the second time in the top floor bedroom which has its own sitting room and wonderful channel views.

Both times the reception was very warm and friendly form both hosts.

Rooms exceptionally well appointed and comfortable. Very clean.

Wonderful breakfast in the dining room overlooking the channel on bright sunny mornings a great start to the day.

Recommend this unreservedly. 5 star B and B!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before taking the Ferry back home, we had a lovely diner in the restaurant a good night sleep, a nice hot shower and a great breakfast . Everything was clean and the staff was very friendly. The trip to the Ferry was not even a half hour drive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miek37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed a night here before hopping on Eurotunnel

Great, well appointed room with genuine sea view right on the beach

Nice traditional bar serving a good range of drinks with a 'proper pub' atmosphere

Restaurant was superb. Large range of food to choose from well cooked and well priced. Terrific views too. Breakfast equally good

130 quid the lot. If you're going under (or over) the Channel- don't do a chain hotel- real quality is available less then ten minutes drive from the terminal- book here- you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durrant64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here for 1 evening and didn't want to leave! Its such a lovely place and are seaview room was spotless! Best night sleep I've had in a long time, wendy and stuart coulnt be nicer the atmosphere was lovely and I'm already planning my next visit the sooner the better!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scorness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandgate
0.9 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandgate Hotel
Sandgate Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandgate
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: 65 Sandgate High Street | Sandgate, Sandgate, Folkestone CT20 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone > Sandgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sandgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Folkestone
The Ship Inn Sandgate, Folkestone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing