We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, nice people...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandgate
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice people...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I don't know about you but when I am away on business I want a pleasant place, service with a smile all at a reasonable price. Sandgate the village is good for taking the air, good enough for William Wilberforce and Mary Shelley, not to mention Hattie Jacques, with several pubs and restaurants too.So more than good enough for me.The Sandgate Hotel over looks the channel with plenty of free street parking and a terrace which is a great spot and for me is just right. Nice is more than enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    71
    47
    52
    65
See reviews for
47
159
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton on Sea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed overnight to avoid a long journey before our booking on Eurotunnel. We were both worried about the hotel when we arrived at the back by car. It looks run down and not very welcoming. However from the front it looks much better and the restaurant and reception area are a pleasant surprise when you enter from the car park at the rear. The car parking is very limited. The bedroom was adequate for a one night stay. We had dinner and breakfast the following morning and we found the food to be excellent. Lily was very attentive to our needs and charming.

Room Tip: We found room 2 perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeltonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you can book elsewhere, I would. I stayed in sea view room at end of May 2013. Rooms are cheaply decorated and a bit tacky. The bed was one of the worst I have slept on. Bathroom in sea view room was something to be desired and a blast from the past. The only saving grace was breakfast. This place is a miss if you can book elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandgate hotels

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel is perfectly nice, décor a bit chavvy, but ok. Very reasonably priced, great position, right on seafront, easy to park. Breakfast was very good.
Now the bad bits,some of the staff were arrogant, particularly the young man who appeared to be in charge. I couldn't get the TV to work, and asked someone to come , he said that someone would come within quarter of an hour. After an hour I gave up and went out,.
Worst of all was the awful ,cheap matress/bedstead. My partner says he can sleep anywhere, but even he was unable to get a decent kip. It was old, hard and lumpy. DREADFUL, ruined the trip.

Room Tip: I would ask if the bed is old!! We were at the top, and it was lovely and quiet, (apart from the ine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

A warm and friendly hotel with good restaurant and service situated on the sea front at Sandgate. A take away continental breakfast was offered which was convenient for a very early departure. A ten minute drive to an early Chunnel so well placed. Will visit again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EcossaisAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Although the hotel is in need of complete spruce up the staff made up for the short falls. I had a most enjoyable stay during the 2013 heat wave that gave the hotel a mediterranian feel with its great location and bar/dinning area opened up giving superb views out to sea. Food and service was very good. Breakfast on the terrace drenched in early morning sun was fantastic!

will return next year but for longer!

Room Tip: Go that bit further and book room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in May and was disappointed. The hotel is in a great location facing the sea, however the room I had was in serious need to attention. The room itself was worn and the bedding and towels were particularly worn. The bath had a shower which was a bath tap/ shower head type however there was nowhere to place the shower head above. The reception/bar area was ok, as was breakfast. Would not return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelofthenorth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandgate
1.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandgate Hotel

Property: Sandgate Hotel
Address: The Esplanade | The Esplanade, Sandgate, Folkestone CT20 3DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone > Sandgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandgate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandgate Hotel Folkestone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing