We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Don't let the website photo's fool you'”
Review of Sandgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandgate
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked 2 nights in this hotel, bringing my 90 year old mum for a treat Wish I had not bothered! the location was perfect, but rooms were very shabby and in need of some TLC. Carpets stained, windows wedged open so could not close, toilet seat falling off, sink blocked, floor tiles broken and cracked, stains up the walls, linen and towels discolored and stained, bedside lamps did not work, doors to balcony would not close....I could go on and on, generally very poor and was not worth £80 per night!! The bar and restaurant seemed popular and the Manageress Lily and bar man Dan worked hard and were friendly and efficient , although found Katy to be inexperienced with service and people skills. All in all not very good and very disappointed, not the treat for my mum that we hoped for. Owner needs to spend some of his profits on a odd job man to go round keeping things in ship shape. Could be a lovely Hotel if standards were improved. We will not be staying again!!

Room Tip: Front bedrooms overlooking sea, on main road but as we could not close windows very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaygirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having just come from a dreadful, overpriced B&B in Dorset, we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation at the Sandgate. We had one of the cheaper rooms facing the side-road which was relatively quiet. The bedroom was nicely decorated and well equipped, the bathroom was fine but could have done with more shelves or a cupboard of some sort - there was nowhere to put even one toiletry bag. The room was clean on arrival but missing a couple of towels - however the colleague on duty that evening was able to provide us with what we needed. There was a good choice of breakfast dishes - both the continental style and traditional English breakfasts were delicious.
There is a parade of shops with places to eat and drink just up the road in Sandgate. Otherwise, It is a short drive from the hotel into the centre of Folkestone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel has all the potential to be really good but there are areas in need of care and attention. Our window would only open for about 10 cms but neither would it close. This meant that although it was really hot we could not get anymore air in. We had to ask for towels and were told once they had been tumble dried we would receive them which we did.
In its favour it is in a superb location and our breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea was first class. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the Sandgate for an overnight stay in July for a local wedding. Unfortunately the hotel's nice location on the seafront was pretty much the only positive.

A number of people from our wedding party stayed at the hotel and given it was simply a stopover to sleep at for a few hours it inspired a remarkable amount of negativity among the group!

This is a very poor hotel. One of the worst I've stayed at frankly. Yes it was only £50 but there is no excuse for the state of the Sandgate; tired decor throughout; check-in over the bar amongst people drinking; very dated rooms and bathrooms; phones didn't work; dirty and damaged grouting throughout the bathroom; damaged and dirty floor tiles; peeling wallpaper; damp on ceiling and in the bathroom; stains on towels and carpets; noisy bar and DJ Going on to early morning......I could go on!

Simply put, avoid this place regardless of the price and stay somewhere (anywhere, frankly) else!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Screddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Where to begin...we booked a family room, which was confirmed. We then got a call that a mistake was made and we would get two adjacent rooms. The latter was a dirty room, and smelle awfull, we were then given 2 other rooms.

The towels in thise rooms were wet, not damp, but wet. The girl at the counter said they tumble dryed the towels only...?!?

2nd night no change of towels, nor any room cleaning done. Floor was wet. Dinner however was good. Breakfast without toast, becaase the toaster broke down.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is our second stay in this hotel. The staff are helpful and friendly. This time we stayed in rooms with a sea view, which were better than our previous ones at the back. The room itself was nicely decorated. However there were bits and pieces in need of some repair. The tiles on the bathroom floor were lose obviously as a result of the shower screen not preventing water from flooding the floor. The toilet flush was strange and didn't flush so well. The bath was a little grubby.The carpets in the hotel could do with a good clean. The ones in the hall ways were badly stained. The outside of the hotel could do with painting and the balcony needs repair. This is all cosmetic and isn't good for the image of the hotel. We only ate breakfast and a bar snack at the hotel. Both were enjoyable. The breakfast wasn't as good as last time.

Room Tip: Chose a room with sea view. They are better maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chez79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel on way to France, thankfully it was for just one night.....don't be deceived by the images on the internet! This hotel is in need of a MAJOR refurb. Carpets dirty, bathroom dirty with broken bits, toilet never seen bleach, broken windows, bed linen dirty, broken stair balustrades & wallpaper peeling away. On arrival it was like a scene from the Wild West with this country & western band playing so loud I could not hear the girl on reception & the locals all turned to look at me....yes I had travelled for 5hrs so looked tired but I didn't have two heads! Breakfast was an experience too....the restaurant if you can call it that smelt of stale beer etc, tables & chairs dirty. The man serving us explained he had no milk for cereal as it was being rationed until staff arrived with supplies, think the black pudding was on ration too as he kept asking are we sure we wanted black pud with our cooked breakfast. When breakfast arrived the black pud was wafer thin & hard, then to top it off two guests came into the 'restaurant' with their tribe of dogs.....I am a dog lover too but not whilst people are trying to eat their breakfast & the dogs are wet having been on the beach! Overall it's not worth a stay for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandgate
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
2.2 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,879 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
515 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandgate Hotel

Address: The Esplanade | The Esplanade, Sandgate, Folkestone CT20 3DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone > Sandgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandgate
Price Range: £41 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Sandgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandgate Hotel Folkestone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing