We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel with beatiful view”
Review of Sandgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandgate
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Nice little hotel with a great seaside location. Room are quite simple, but clean. Restaurant deserves to be called 2nd best in Folkestone. Much better than restaurants around. Super friendly staff.

Great for couples or families.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask a room on a first floor with a balcony (Amazing view!).
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gulnara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Sandgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Arrived with my daughter for a stop-over after a Eurotunnel crossing at 9.30pm. We were told that there was an (unspecified) problem with the room we'd been allocated but that we'd been 'upgraded' at no extra cost, although the manager was just sorting out a problem with the window in the second room. The manager appeared ten minutes later to explain that they'd only discovered the broken window that day and hadn't been able to fix it so they'd stuffed the gap with towels. My 12-year old daughter asked if we'd been upgraded to a room with a broken window. I couldn't get the word 'Basil' out of my head. When we got to the room, the 'problem' with the window was the there were blocks of wood holding it open that were screwed into the frames. This clearly wasn't a 'new' problem. If you read some of the other reviews here, you'll see this window business is a recurring theme...! We were shattered so slept through the draughts and road noise until an incessant dripping woke me from the bathroom. After checking the taps, I found that there was rain coming in through the extractor fan. I would describe the room as 'tatty' and the bedside lamps weren't plugged in. As my daughter was already asleep, I didn't go moving the bed to find the sockets and lay in the darkness. The breakfast was a better experience but the waitress appeared to be late for work and we sat at the table for ten minutes before we were served. It wasn't dreadful but, of the eight hotels we stayed in during our holiday, this ranked seventh and was redeemed largely for the comedy value alone. Question them fully if you hear the word 'window'...

Room Tip: Take your own windows.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gill1312Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A pleasant hotel, convenient for the trip through the Channel Tunnel. Very pleasant staff and really good food.

Having eaten many steak pies around the country, I have yet to find one better than you can get here. Food prices are reasonable but the quality of the food is unexpectedly good for a seaside hotel.

Rooms are pleasant, facilities are what you would expect for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PJohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked 2 nights in this hotel, bringing my 90 year old mum for a treat Wish I had not bothered! the location was perfect, but rooms were very shabby and in need of some TLC. Carpets stained, windows wedged open so could not close, toilet seat falling off, sink blocked, floor tiles broken and cracked, stains up the walls, linen and towels discolored and stained, bedside lamps did not work, doors to balcony would not close....I could go on and on, generally very poor and was not worth £80 per night!! The bar and restaurant seemed popular and the Manageress Lily and bar man Dan worked hard and were friendly and efficient , although found Katy to be inexperienced with service and people skills. All in all not very good and very disappointed, not the treat for my mum that we hoped for. Owner needs to spend some of his profits on a odd job man to go round keeping things in ship shape. Could be a lovely Hotel if standards were improved. We will not be staying again!!

Room Tip: Front bedrooms overlooking sea, on main road but as we could not close windows very noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaygirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having just come from a dreadful, overpriced B&B in Dorset, we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation at the Sandgate. We had one of the cheaper rooms facing the side-road which was relatively quiet. The bedroom was nicely decorated and well equipped, the bathroom was fine but could have done with more shelves or a cupboard of some sort - there was nowhere to put even one toiletry bag. The room was clean on arrival but missing a couple of towels - however the colleague on duty that evening was able to provide us with what we needed. There was a good choice of breakfast dishes - both the continental style and traditional English breakfasts were delicious.
There is a parade of shops with places to eat and drink just up the road in Sandgate. Otherwise, It is a short drive from the hotel into the centre of Folkestone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel has all the potential to be really good but there are areas in need of care and attention. Our window would only open for about 10 cms but neither would it close. This meant that although it was really hot we could not get anymore air in. We had to ask for towels and were told once they had been tumble dried we would receive them which we did.
In its favour it is in a superb location and our breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea was first class. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the Sandgate for an overnight stay in July for a local wedding. Unfortunately the hotel's nice location on the seafront was pretty much the only positive.

A number of people from our wedding party stayed at the hotel and given it was simply a stopover to sleep at for a few hours it inspired a remarkable amount of negativity among the group!

This is a very poor hotel. One of the worst I've stayed at frankly. Yes it was only £50 but there is no excuse for the state of the Sandgate; tired decor throughout; check-in over the bar amongst people drinking; very dated rooms and bathrooms; phones didn't work; dirty and damaged grouting throughout the bathroom; damaged and dirty floor tiles; peeling wallpaper; damp on ceiling and in the bathroom; stains on towels and carpets; noisy bar and DJ Going on to early morning......I could go on!

Simply put, avoid this place regardless of the price and stay somewhere (anywhere, frankly) else!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Screddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandgate
1.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,037 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,715 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
458 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
1.8 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandgate Hotel

Address: The Esplanade | The Esplanade, Sandgate, Folkestone CT20 3DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone > Sandgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandgate
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandgate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Sandgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandgate Hotel Folkestone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing