We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Sandgate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Booked two rooms at short notice when returning back from the continent early. Arrived late around 10:15pm but met with friendly reception and shown to rooms. Although the rooms were adequate in size, they were dated and tired and the price was certainly not justified especially as breakfast was not included. Decided to have a drink in the bar and met the owner and some of the regulars. Hints of a 'North' v 'South' devide evident and became competitive during a few games of pool. North won but atmosphere changed and became uncomfortable at the end.
Breakfast was served by a lady that must have a diploma in misery and rudeness! Asked if I could have some sugar for the cereals and had the response "don't know if I have time". Breakfast was OK but nothing special and didn't warrant the price tag.
Wouldn't recommend this hotel at all.
Had a much better stay at the Collingbrook Hotel the following night with breakfast included and a third of the price cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Collingbrook Hotel are quieter and of a much higher standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Fabulous service,great family room ,we enjoyed so much on our way to the Continent made sure we stayed again on our way back. Breakfast was a true English with plenty of everything. Highly recomend and if ever thay way again that will be our place to stay,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a perfectly nice overnight, on our way across the Channel for a few days. We arrived too late for supper but were given a sound recommendation for a place down the promenade. Room was comfortabe with a huge ensuite that included a desk and an extra wardrobe (not that we needed either). Sincere welcome. Breakfast nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal-Nutrition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked the sea view room and before arrival had high expectations for the almost £90 price tag. upon arrival at 2:30 our room had still not been turned over which was an inconvenience. On top of this disorganisation the room itself was extremely disappointed and not as it was pictured on the website: there was only one small window in the corner which was a quarter of the size of the one on the website; the bathroom had a lovely view but that was what we expected to have in the actual bedroom!

When washing in the morning the shower was weak and the soap was the like water because it had been so watered down! The TV also made a constant slight buzzing sound all night which was a bit irritating.

We were also shocked to find out that breakfast is not included in the price of the room and it would be another £15 for the two of us to eat; meaning the room and breakfast would have cost over £100! Unsurprisingly we went elsewhere for breakfast.

The bed was comfortable so we slept well but it was definitely not worth the high price tag!

Room Tip: go for the cheapest one as it cant be much worse than the best (which we apparently got) as I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel with friendly locals in the bar, and close enough to town with a 5 minute taxi ride, or a gorgeous beach virtually on your doorstep. Meals are good value for money pub grub and very tasty. This hotel is perfect for your cheeky weekend away, particularly when the sun shone continuously the whole time. Parking quite limited, but then it was the weekend of a great air show, but we told the proprietor and she was happy to put the car at the rear of the property in the small car park....just ask!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yazcopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel/pub was just 10mins from Tunnel. Staff friendly and room was small but clean and ok. Thought it was a bit overpriced considering did not include breakfast. Parking was available but tight and limited.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked this hotel site unseen. I've lived in England for three years but this was mum's first trip abroad ever. Let me just say, I'm so chuffed at my stay here that it's prompted my first tripadvisor comment ever. This hotel is absolutely lovely, the rooms more lush than anything I've found in London. The views are beautiful, regardless of whether you choose sea or street - the sea view is of a 16th century castle built by Henry VIII (now a private residence) overlooking the channel - but the street view is also a gorgeous view of a village green hillock.

Contrary to other comments, the owner and staff, including the fabulous pub locals, have been not only very welcoming and accommodating, but extraordinarily friendly.

The location is central to much of lower Kent, 6 miles from Dover, 17 from Canterbury. My next trip to Kent will be booked with the Royal Norfolk directly, pending Cara's approval. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EjGtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandgate
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
493 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandgate Hotel
Sandgate Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandgate
322 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Norfolk Hotel

Address: 7 Sandgate High Street, Sandgate, Folkestone CT20 3BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone > Sandgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sandgate
Price Range: £44 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royal Norfolk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Norfolk Hotel offers comfortable and well presented accommodation, with a family friendly environment and free parking. Gee's Bar serves food Monday - Saturday from 12.00 - 20.00 and 12.30 - 18.00 on Sunday. Situated just a stone’s throw from Sandgate beach, famous for its fishing and watersports, you may enjoy a leisurely walk along the sea wall, through the lush coastal park and onto The Leas Water Lift, the oldest funicular lift in England. Giving you access to the historic Leas Promenade. Other local attractions include the Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch steam railway, Hythe Canal, Port Lympne Wild Animal Park, Dover and Leeds Castles and Canterbury Cathedral. The High Speed 1 rail link to London is available from Folkestone Central and West. The Channel Tunnel, Ashford Eurostar and the Port of Dover Port are all within a short distance from the Royal Norfolk Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Royal Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Norfolk Hotel Sandgate, Folkestone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing