We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sandgate Hotel(Sandgate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wards Hotel(Folkestone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Southcliff(Folkestone)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Carlton Hotel(Folkestone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
64
41
15
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
41
15
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunlike some placesbusy barsunday roastpub grubsea viewcomfortable nightlarge bedmin drivegreat place to stayroom was cleanan overnight staytea coffeelovely hotelexcellent staygood sizegood pointssea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Situated on a main road, very busy all evening, no net curtains and double decker buses passing by so you have to close the curtains very early. Poorly attended, no-one around to let me out in the morning. Poor value compared to other local hotels I have stayed in locally.
Restaurant wasn't open when I stayed

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

I am very impressed with this hotel. Check in was nice and easy and I was upgraded for free by the lovely assistant manger Vicky.
She was very friendly and efficiant and recommended a couple of places to eat which we took her up on. The Mexican restaurant down the road. We stayed in room 41, which was at the top, but well worth it.
We had to let Vicky down for breakfast the following morning. She was very understanding. For being employed here for such a short period of time she was fantastic.
Allltogther I found it fantastic value and the customer service was excellent. Why can't more places have such friendly staff?
We shall definately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v145pac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Stayed at the Royal Norfolk as I was working in the area and for an overnight stay it was pretty damn good. The room I had was really clean with a view of the sea and had an overall relaxing atmosphere which is what you need after a hard days work. The hotel bar is also very chilled and there is a great Mexican just 30yrds down the road. And lets not forget the awesome breakfast which was just what one needs the start the day. Will defo stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WrkhardPlayharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

The location of this hotel is wonderful, certainly the greatest feature is waking up to a view of sandgate castle 20 metres away and the sea 30 metres away! Also, not only in there is a good Thai restaurant on the premises, you have a great choice of various cuisines within a spitting distance! All in all good, honest accomodation with friendly staff at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rysieGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We stayed in this hotel for one night (a saturday) before getting the tunnel to France the next morning as it is conveniently located for this. The hotel looks much nicer on it's website than it does in reality.
Upon our arrival, we had to ring a bell for assistance and wait until we were met by a surly man for whom everything seemed to be too much trouble. We had to pay up front, £69.50, and were told that breakfast was extra. We agreed to this but were then told that they would not provide breakfast for us at 7 a.m. as this was too early for a Sunday. We could not have it later as we had a shuttle to catch. The man told us we could get something to eat at the shuttle terminal. Incidentally, he also never gave us the 50p change he owed us from our payment!
Our room was at the top of the hotel up numerous flights of stairs. We had come on a motorcycle and had crash helmets and bike gear as well as baggage. No help was offered with our luggage.
The room was clean, reasonably comfortable and had a large clean bathroom. There was also a sea view. The main drawback however, was the bar. This was on the ground floor and open until 2 a.m.. A fact that was not mentioned on the website.The outside smoking area was also below us. We could hear the music from the bar and everyone's conversations clearly and loudly. Cars and cabs were pulling up constantly and the noise of cars and doors slamming was overwhelming. it was impossible to sleep.
All in all, it was an unpleasant stay in a slightly jaded, run down establishment and I would not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolalola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews