We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel like home”
Review of Dimosthenis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dimosthenis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Goumenissa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2011

High level of hospitality, attention to the details and a very warm welcome by the owner Maria who operates the hotel and makes you feel like home.
Ideal location for a long stay combined with daily excursions or just for a short break on a tour.
The hotel is located 1 min away from the Goumenissa΄s square and a parking lot is available at the back yard.
The lobby has a very traditional and cozy decoration which predisposes you to stay there all day.
Breakfast is served individually ? including fresh butter and 3 different kinds of home made jam.
The family room extends in two levels and is fully equipped.

We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris1969Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

We spend one night in Goumenissa, driving to Skopje from Athens.
The staff was extremely friendly and always willing to help with everything. Rooms are very clean and the breakfast was exactly what you call "home made".
The hotel is ideal if you are looking for something clean, quiet, friendly very close to the nature with facilities that match 100% the environment. I recommend with no second thought.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pvez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I stayed here on business and would definitely come back. The room was comfortable, clean and to a good standard. The public areas are spacious, have character and have all the facilities that one needs when working. The hotel's best asset, the staff, were wonderful; they were efficient, polite and extremely helpful. Overall, an excellent experience in a beautiful area of Northern Greece. Well done Maria.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cubberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We have stayed at this hotel before but after our most recent stay we felt we should let it be known how great it is. Family owned and operated; within a day of checking in we felt like it was our home and the staff were our friends. Relaxed, extremely clean, comfortable and maintaining a slightly Greek atmosphere, I could not recommend the hotel more. The staff do everything they can to make your stay as good as possible, and they succeed! Breakfast is served daily from around 6-10am and it is amazing... so homely and tastey. Set in the court-yard of the hotel, fresh jams hand-made by Nadia (one of the staff of the hotel), boiled eggs, toast, croissants, tea, coffee juices etc and fresh fruit. They keep it simple but breakfast was close to the high-light of our day, and that is saying something considering our love for Goumenissa.

The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, and the location is great, being literally a stone-throw's away from the main square (the iconic Goumennisa fountain). I cannot recommend this hotel, or this town any higher. My family and I hope to return to this hotel very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesContos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Very nice and friendly place. Room (loft apartment) comfortable, even with Jacuzzi. Excellent service, tasteful long breakfast. But best of all is stylish lobby where you can enjoy cup of coffee in comfortable armchairs, read a book, watch a selected DVD movie or chat with the friendly hosts, willing to inform you about what to see in the region of Kilkis . A nice surprise indeed, behind not very promising facade. Children loved it too (there is a nice playground). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mvratonjic32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I highly recommend this hotel. Maria was very friendly and helpful. The homemade breakfast was wonderful and the town was charming. It was a perfect place to stop on our way to Athens.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderer2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We have spent one night here. The room was big and very clean and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was very good. Maybe we will come back some other time to spend more days in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dimosthenis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimosthenis Hotel

Address: 17 Kountourioti | Kilkis, Goumenissa 613 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Kilkis Region > Goumenissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goumenissa
Price Range: £42 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimosthenis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms have been decorated in order to offer a warm and relaxing atmosphere to make your stay pleasant and unique. Each room's own special colour represents a different decorative theme: you can experience the 'Jasmin' essence, the romantic note of 'Magnolia' or the glow of 'Paeonia'. Breakfast is served with a variety of recommended local flavours, homemade marmalade and pastries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dimosthenis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing