We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel with a touch of class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dimosthenis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dimosthenis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Goumenissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A friendly hotel with a touch of class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

I stayed here on business and would definitely come back. The room was comfortable, clean and to a good standard. The public areas are spacious, have character and have all the facilities that one needs when working. The hotel's best asset, the staff, were wonderful; they were efficient, polite and extremely helpful. Overall, an excellent experience in a beautiful area of Northern Greece. Well done Maria.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
12
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We have stayed at this hotel before but after our most recent stay we felt we should let it be known how great it is. Family owned and operated; within a day of checking in we felt like it was our home and the staff were our friends. Relaxed, extremely clean, comfortable and maintaining a slightly Greek atmosphere, I could not recommend the hotel more. The staff do everything they can to make your stay as good as possible, and they succeed! Breakfast is served daily from around 6-10am and it is amazing... so homely and tastey. Set in the court-yard of the hotel, fresh jams hand-made by Nadia (one of the staff of the hotel), boiled eggs, toast, croissants, tea, coffee juices etc and fresh fruit. They keep it simple but breakfast was close to the high-light of our day, and that is saying something considering our love for Goumenissa.

The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, and the location is great, being literally a stone-throw's away from the main square (the iconic Goumennisa fountain). I cannot recommend this hotel, or this town any higher. My family and I hope to return to this hotel very soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesContos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Very nice and friendly place. Room (loft apartment) comfortable, even with Jacuzzi. Excellent service, tasteful long breakfast. But best of all is stylish lobby where you can enjoy cup of coffee in comfortable armchairs, read a book, watch a selected DVD movie or chat with the friendly hosts, willing to inform you about what to see in the region of Kilkis . A nice surprise indeed, behind not very promising facade. Children loved it too (there is a nice playground). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mvratonjic32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pécs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

I highly recommend this hotel. Maria was very friendly and helpful. The homemade breakfast was wonderful and the town was charming. It was a perfect place to stop on our way to Athens.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderer2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

We have spent one night here. The room was big and very clean and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was very good. Maybe we will come back some other time to spend more days in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

I visited this small, traditional hotel with my wife and two children after a friend recommended it. We had such a lovely and relaxing time. The kids were busy either in the playroom or exploring the countryside so me and my wife had some much needed time on our own. Long breakfasts with homemade jams, lovely walks and the discovery of the underrated nearby wineries made us come closer once more. Leaving personal circumstances aside this is a great little hotel, tastefully decorated and run by a friendly family willing to spare some time and give advice on food, wine and attractions.
We will definatelly visit again in the springtime.
Ektor and Penelope Poulopoulos

  • Liked — the wine cellar
  • Disliked — wish we had more time to stay
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ektorAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

We stayed there with a group of friends for 4 days during October.
The hotel is very relaxing and homely. The atmoshpere is ideal for families, young couples or even a small group of friends.
Each room is named after a flower and decorated uniquely. The personal touch of the owners gives a classy yet cozy result.
The one thing we really apreciated is the breakfast. They offer a small variety of home made products, such as jams, pies and hot donuts...a perfect way to start your day on the mountain.
The mountain surrounding Goumenissa, mount Paiko, is amazing this time of the year. Living in Athens deprives us from the contact with nature and we can't even remember the last time we saw leaves in such colours...yellow and red and green..the mountain in autumn is so picturesque!
The activities offered in near distance make sure you'll never get bored...hiking, cycling or even wine tasting in traditional distilleries and spas. The owners of the inn are always more than willing to share their excellent knowledge of the region with you.

  • Liked — The personal contact with the owners, friendly yet discreet.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmouzouri, public relations manager at Dimosthenis Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2008
Thank you soooooooo much!
We'll make sure you get a extra discount next time you visit us!!!

All the best!
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goumenissa
17.4 mi away
Maison Hotel
Maison Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chalkidona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
22.4 mi away
Evridiki
Evridiki
#2 of 4 in Kilkis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
10.3 mi away
Pella Hotel
Pella Hotel
#1 of 3 in Giannitsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimosthenis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimosthenis Hotel

Property: Dimosthenis Hotel
Address: 17 Kountourioti | Kilkis, Goumenissa 613 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Kilkis Region > Goumenissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goumenissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimosthenis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms have been decorated in order to offer a warm and relaxing atmosphere to make your stay pleasant and unique. Each room's own special colour represents a different decorative theme: you can experience the 'Jasmin' essence, the romantic note of 'Magnolia' or the glow of 'Paeonia'. Breakfast is served with a variety of recommended local flavours, homemade marmalade and pastries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dimosthenis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing