We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First Class Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the June Bank Holiday weekend. The friendly welcome and attention to detail sets this hotel apart from others we have visited. Lovely relaxed atmosphere with nothing too much trouble. It great to feel your visit is appreciated. Lovely room and a great dining experience on the Sunday evening in the restaurant. We would love to return. Hotel is quiet and calm and very accessible to Galway City. Afternoon tea in the residents' lounge was a fitting end to a first class experience. Staff like Maura (hope the name is correct?) on Reception are the difference between an ordinary and a memorable weekend break. Well done to all!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear james m,

Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments....please spread the word.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    208
    91
    53
    28
See reviews for
191
581
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel is perfect, I was going here for years for meals before I even got married, but when I did get married The Glenlo Abbey shined and service was 5+ A rated. The standard and staff were so good and excellent, they catered to my every need and made my day perfect. You want to get married in Galway choose The Glenlo Abbey.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Hi Fionuala,

Thanks so much for your comments which are very much appreciated. We only do one wedding a day at Glenlo hence extra special care.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was lucky enough to stay four nights at this hotel. I can't say enough about the service we experienced every day - way beyond excellent. The breakfasts, pub and restaurant food were outstanding too. I'd definitely go back to this hotel and have already recommended to friends in U.S.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Barbara A,

Thank you for your kind words....I see your in Raleigh NC....make sure to call into the Hibernian Pub which is my buddys place.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton Hants UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We unexpectedly stayed there for 4 nights. Would love to return for the hospitality, the friendliness, cosiness, spaciousness, the view and cooking. I plan to return for a longer period. Nothing too much trouble, cannot fault the place. We were there for the international quilt show and it was a pleasure to return there every day.The taxi drive is only 10 minutes to galway, we managed to walk but it took us one and half hours slow walking on a really lovely, warm day.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the Corrib
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bess_thurgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
The Inaugral Quilting Festival....what an event it was and we are lucky to be close to the action.

Thank you for your kind comments.

Brian Bourke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Glenlo Abbey as part of our Sceptre Tours package. Getting there was a challenge! We felt very prepared, having our trusty Magellan GPS, which we purchased the European update before we left home. American travel tip for Ireland - carefully research directions to your hotels BEFORE you leave home!! There are no street addresses in Ireland. The address provided by our tour company said Bushypark. We inputted the address into our GPS and were taken to a rural road with no hotels! Bushypark isn't the street -- it's the area! (N59 to Clifden would have been REALLY helpful!) No problem....we would just call the hotel on the prepaid phone we bought in Dublin, right?! Wrong - American travel tip for Ireland #2 - when you buy the prepaid phone, ask for what numbers to call for the area that you're in! (The number provided for the hotel wouldn't work because we were given the number to call when we were in the states -- certain numbers are different within the country!) Very helpful people tried to give us directions - and clarified which number to call for the hotel! We called Glenlo and talked to Sandra (3 times) and finally found at the hotel!! Sandra warmly greeted us and immediately put us at ease! Beautiful property and rooms- very classy. Loved Sandra and the staff - made us feel that Glenlo was our home for 2 days! Definitely take a cab or drive to Galway for the great music in the pubs at night - very entertaining. Sandra suggested we take the road to Clifden, with lunch at Mitchell's, and then back through Cong -- and we were so glad we did! Great day and Cong is beautiful!!

If you want a beautiful place to relax - highly recommend the Glenlo Abbey!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0vesBlueWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Hi L0vesBlueWeather....you do know that we've had GPS in Ireland since the motorcar arrived 100 or so years ago....just role down the window and ask a local!!

Glad you made it to us eventually and I do recall your arrival which was kinda funny!

Thank you for your humourous account of getting here...

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We loved our 2 night stay at Glenlo! The staff was so friendly and helpful. The facility is breathtaking, rich with history and an overall very unique stay. If u are planning a trip to Galloway, Glenlo would be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachJG03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Hi RachJG03,

Thank you for your comments which are very much appreciated....come back and see us!!

Brian Bourke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Sometime ago I purchased 2 Vouchers with Groupon for an overnight stay at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel near Galway. This was our second visit and I can recall that when we were leaving the last time we hoped to be back again soon and so our visit last Saturday came to pass, and once again we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived to our departure the attention given to us by all of the Staff was 1st Class.
The weather last Saturday was very wet but it was most enjoyable to sit in our Room, read a Book and look out over Lough Corrib. We were with another Couple who were equally impressed.
We had Dinner in the River Room and it was very well presented and good value @ €35 per person. Because there was the remnants of a Christening in the Bar and it was very busy we decided to go to the Residents Lounge where we found Scrabble and proceeded to have a very good game.
Sunday Morning Breakfast was of a very high standard with plenty of choice. again we were able to relax in the Residents Lounge and read the Sunday Newspapers.

The Rain finally stopped as we were leaving but we all agreed that we would be back again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the River have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear DaleLimerick,

Great to have you back with us and thank you for your kind words. We'll have to entice you back up again soon....Limerick to Galway....a mere one hour!!

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing