We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Westwood House Hotel(Dangan)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ardilaun Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nox Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anno Santo(Galway)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,323 results
Traveller rating
883
236
108
61
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
236
108
61
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspullman restaurantcellar barlough corribhole golf courseroom restaurantbeautiful dining roomfive star hotelbeautiful hoteleggs benedictgalway cityfrom start to finishreception arearoom was largesconesspent nightscooked breakfasttop class
Filter
Updating list...
964 - 969 of 1,323 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If only all hotels could be like this. The grounds were beautiful and the hotel itself felt old (in a good way). It felt historic as if you could almost see the people who had walked through there the last 200 years. Although we didn't eat there, the downstairs pub was great fun and featured a lively group of locals. the hotel's also very a convenient drive to the fjord and surrounding areas. Finally, by far, the best part of the hotel was Maura and her infectious enthusiasm and welcome advice. She and Alva never failed to greet us and make us feel like one of the family.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear P S,

We were delighted to read your lovely review and to hear that you had such a nice stay with us. It sounds like you had great fun in The Oak Cellar Bar with some of our neighbours! This bar has been the scene to many a lively night with both locals and visitors enjoying each others company. We will pass on your kind comments to Maura, Ailbhe and all here in Glenlo! They will be very happy to hear them!

We hope to welcome you back to Glenlo and we are sure our neighbours would be delighted to see you again too!

Warmest regards

Glenlo Abbey Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Glenlo Abbey was our second "tour" stop while visiting this awesome island and is unique in it's setting, architecture, furnishings, decor and STAFF. Upon arriving we were greeted by Sandra who immediately put us at ease. Her recommendations for travel thru Connemara were spot-on, especially the linner (lunch and dinner meal) at Mitchells in the town of Clifden...awesome fresh and tasty Calamari. We took the "back-roads" along the water and thru the Bog to find our way back to Glenlo. The trip thru the bog was incredible, with lack of houses, traffic and many, many, many peat diggs, this off-beaten road was unique and a step back in time.
We made our way back to Glenlo, where we met Ivan in the downstairs pub for a night cap. We enjoyed lively conversation with Ivan and two locals; Hugh and Paddy and our night cap ended a few hours later, satiated with Irish lore, myth, and charm...not to mention the Guinness pints.
Needless to say we enjoyed our time at Glenlo Abbey, and kudos to Luke who helped layout our next adventure south bound to the Cliffs of Moher and Dingle Peninsula. We have fond memories and stories to share of this tour "stop", and thank you for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvankuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear kvankuren,

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are delighted that you have fond memories and stories from your stay here with us! Hopefully these stories will be at the heart of the reminisences of your trip when you go home and you will remember us fondly. We will say hello to Hugh and Paddy for you when they next drop by for a refreshment!

We will pass on your very nice words to Sandra, Ivan and everybody here and hope to see you back here again soon.

Warmest regards

Glenlo Abbey Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We recently spent two nights here and were somewhat disappointed. It's supposed to be a five star hotel and is not even close! It's a lovely old hotel with beautiful grounds but the rooms are quite outdated and worn. If our stay here had not been part of a package I would have been even more upset but since we didn't pay by the night I couldn't complain too much. The room was large but there was no drawer space, no water, no amenities. The bathroom was in need of a makeover. Making up for all this, though, were the staff who were marvelous. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. And the location was also a plus, just a bit outside of town and convenient to everywhere we were going

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizP1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear LizP1055,

Many thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted to advise that we are now under new management. Although this was a very recent transition, Glenlo is already starting to glow anew! The refurbishment programme is been carefully administered to ensure that the character and integrity of the house remains unharmed. Here in Glenlo we are always mindful that as with all old houses across the Irish countryside, we are but custodians to protect the house for generations to come. The staff will remain the same and are most excited with all this progress.

We hope to welcome you back to Glenlo to see everything we have achieved!

Warmest regards

Glenlo Abbey Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed at several 5 star hotels while in Ireland. This hotel was charming,clean and well appointed. However, the most outstanding component was the staff. Sandra, the front desk manager was a dream come true. She was friendly and quite knowledgeable. She gave us wonderful suggestions for touring which lead us to attractions we were unaware of and the best routes to travel. She was also helpful and supportive when we had a problem with our rental car. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable. I would stay there again and highly recommend it to other travelers. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. This hotel gets 10 stars. I hope you'll have the good fortune to meet Sandra. Rest assured you'll be in very capable hands.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene1754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Charlene1754,

My goodness, 10 stars! What a wonderful rating! Thank you for your kind words and comments which I will very happily pass on to Sandra and everybody here who I know will find them very encouraging indeed.

Warmest regards

Glenlo Abbey Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The grounds and view here are Beautiful, A very friendly staff espically Maura she remembers everyones names and was very helpful in planning our day out. She was just delightful!! Our room was a little dated but that's part of the character here. My only complaint is there was no air conditioner but luckily it was cool so could open up windows. I believe this is the quietest place I have ever stayed in you could hear a pin drop. Great location to drive the Connemeras and see some castles. Short taxi drive to Galway City. We got in late and I was hungry so they made me a sandwich and brought to my room I thought that was very nice! All & all this place was a very nice stay and I would recommend it to anyone. Also, a good location to go see the Cliffs of Moher we took a bus tour just to take a break from driving it was great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear stephanie p,

Thank you for your review which we enjoyed reading! We are most fortunate to be set in such an aesthetically pleasing back drop overlooking Lough Corrib. Glenlo is such a peaceful place! I will pass on your kind words to Maura and the entire team here in Glenlo whom I am sure will find them most encouraging.

We hope to welcome you back to Glenlo soon!

Kind regards


Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews