We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel?!?”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of a travel package including stays at several castle hotels throughout Ireland. We stayed at two other, 4 star hotels that were absolutely outstanding in service, setting and room decor/amenities. Knowing the Glenlow Abbey was a 5 star, we couldn't wait to arrive.
As other reviewers have mentioned, Maura at the front desk is a model for 5 star guest service. She shook our hands and even spoke to us by name over an hour later. Very impressed with her service orientation.
The rooms however leave much to be desired and leave us disappointed. While there are amenities that support a 5 star rating, I can't believe that the room decor and upkeep haven't impacted the rating of this hotel.
The bathrooms are dreary, all gray marble with incredibly outdated fixtures, chipped grout, stained bowls and scratched porcelain. The wallpaper is ripped by the bed and the lampshade on the desk is permanently crooked. The decor make it look like a motel room.
The rooms are very large, yet the furniture is outdated and not grand enough in scale to match the room size.
Wanted to sit in the lounge to warm up by the fire, but the entire room smelled like a campfire from the fireplace making it unbearable to spend any time in this room. The sofas in the lounge were very old and lacked any seating support.
Overall, amazing service that is overshadowed by poor facilities and outdated decor which don't even match lesser rated hotels.
Sorry staff at the glenlow-the physical condition of the hotel is taking away from the experience.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank smitk037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear smitk037,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Whilst we were disappointed to read your comments we do wholeheartedly take them on board. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme here at Glenlo so perhaps you may revisit to appreciate the work completed. We will pass on your nice comments to Maura whom I am sure will be very happy to hear them.

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
There are newer reviews for Glenlo Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Good location, food, staff and service. Rooms need a little something extra... perhaps a revamp or update (at the moment they are more like those of a 1980's hotel and they could be so much more - just a suggestion). Relaxing stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIzzMKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear MlzzMKA,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and even moreso that you intend to return. We are currently enjoying a refurbishment programme so hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and see our progress!

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A beautiful Irish inn just outside of Galway. We had beautiful views of the lake and mountains from our clean and comfortable room. Maura and all the staff were both helpful and pleasant. No better place to relax than by a fire in one of the common rooms. Breakfast was substantial and of the highest quality. In short, this has a classic, homey feel which stands in contrast to chain hotels. I highly recommend Glenlo Abbey.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Kevin l,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! Relaxing by a crackling fire as twilight falls is indeed a splendid way to while away an evening. We will pass on your thoughtful comments to Maura and everybody else here.

Hopefully we might have the good fortune to welcome you back to Glenlo soon.

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

From the time we pulled into the drive, we were welcomed before we even parked our car!! Maura Lee greeted us at the reception desk with such warmth and charm and then Rory the bellman escorted us on a brief tour of the hotel on our way to our room. We stayed here two nights and loved the helpful tour information given by Maura on the best drives in the area. We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Jill R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Glenlo on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate it. It is most gratifying to see that you found us to be warm and welcoming on arrival. This is very important as it can set the tone for your entire stay. We will pass on your nice comments to Maura Lee, Rory and the entire team here.

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights and had interconnecting rooms. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The kids loved the massive TVs. The breakfast was great each morning and we had one evening dinner, which was very good. The staff are quite simply the friendliest and most helpful we have encountered and bent over backwards to accommodate us and keep the kids happy. A special word of praise to the French (?) maitre d' - sorry we didn't get his name, but he really made the dinner for us and the kids.

My only (very) small reservation about recommending this hotel to families is the lack of a leisure centre and other kid-friendly activities. Falconry and golf aren't our thing. However, a short drive takes you to all Galway has to offer so it wasn't such a real issue.

In short, it really is a lovely hotel with fantastic staff, great food, comfortable rooms and a brilliant atmosphere. It will be first on our list of places to stay if we visit Galway again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomomara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear tomomara,

What a lovely review! Thank you! We are delighted to read of your experience with us and that you found the rooms spacious and comfortable, especially important when travelling with little ones. We will pass on your kind words to everybody here.

Warmest regards

Guest relations, Glenlo Abbey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This one of the most wonderful hotels I have ever stayed in during the many years of travel. The staff is excellent and the rooms are large and very comfortable. If you want a great meal, eat in the dining car, it was excellent.

Room Tip: Just go to the staff and ask them for a nice room with a great view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Jerry H,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we were delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us. Hopefully we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glenlo again soon!

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Very bad service, very bad food, after a long day we spent outside, there was no hot water in the hotel... After we talked to service, they told as to wait half hour till they will fix it... Unbelievable for 5 star hotel!!! In addition the heating in the room didn't work... I would never recommend this hotel

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Annasotnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Annasotnik,

Thank for you for taking the time to share your experience of which we were most disappointed to read. Should you wish to discuss this further we would be delighted to speak with you personally should you provide us with your contact details and an opportune moment.

We look forward to speaking with you presently.

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,824 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range: £140 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming open log fires and a warm personal welcome await you at Glenlo Abbey Hotel. This luxury, five star hotel is nestled peacefully on a stunning 138 acre estate on the shores of Lough Corrib near Galway City, with a choice of elegant bedrooms and suites, individually designed and beautifully appointed, blending luxury and contemporary décor. A choice of unique dining options, including the award-winning Pullman Restaurant, set on two original Orient Express carriages, now a fine dining restaurant on the hotel grounds. Take time to relax in one of the many reception rooms, with Afternoon Tea by the fireside or the timeless elegance of the River Room Restaurant. Enjoy drink in the Oak Cellar Bar that exudes warmth and character. Activities on the 138 acre estate include golf on the 9 hole championship course, fishing on Lough Corrib, falconry and archery in the Walled Garden. Relax in the comfort of our in house cinema or enjoy some friendly competition in the Billiards Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing