We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in every way!!”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way!!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in glenlo on st.stephens night.wonderful homely warm experience.we were welcomed by maura who couldn't do enough for us..a wonderful bubbly nice person and very professional.also Ernie who showed us to our room and carried our luggage.we had a very nice meal in the bar with great atmosphere and service.we can't wait to return to glenlo Abbey from Gareth and helen keane .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garethnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Garethnh,

What a lovely review! We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Christmas was so cosy here with the log fires and Christmas trees. With quite frequent storms howling outside it was really pleasant for our guests to sit by the fire and marvel at having nothing to do. Such a rarity in people's busy lives nowadays! We will pass on your kind words to Maura, Ernie and all here!

We hope to welcome you back to Glenlo soon!

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    216
    97
    54
    29
See reviews for
200
615
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and have to say that it was some of the friendliest staff we had on our entire trip! Great suggestions on places to go and things to do in the area that are cheap and magnificent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekker2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Trekker2024,

Thank you for your lovely review! How delightful to read that you found our staff the friendliest of your entire trip to Ireland. We are most fortunate to have a very personable team here at Glenlo!

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I decided to stay two nights here on a package deal B&B with evening meal and I didn't regret it.
Our experience from start to finish was outstanding, from the lovely ladies in reception Maura and her co-worker to George in the Cellar Bar. This is what hospitality is all about. Our evening meal was outstanding and compliments to the chef on his fabulous prawn risotto starter it was the best I ever tasted. The hotel was very quiet due to the fact it was very near Christmas I suppose. Our room overlooked a wonderful golf course and the views of lough corrib was gorgeous. Christmas trees adorn the foyer and lounge rooms which made it feel special. All in all this is a great hotel and the service is exemplerary. Definitely we will be back to stay in the new year. Well done to all at Glenlo Abbey you have set the standards for the rest of us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear CarmelbCoMayo,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were delighted to hear your kind observations especially that you found our service exemplary. Our entire service ethos is wholly guest focused which we hope brings a warmth to the Glenlo experience. We will pass on your comments to Maura, George and all here!

We hope to see you again soon and wish you warmest regards.

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Glenlo Abbey is an amazing hotel in Galway, Ireland. We went in the spring where the flowers are in bloom, and the grass is green. The Oak Cellar Bar is a great place to grab a pint. The rooms are spacious, and the staff is over-the-top friendly and very accomodating. We had a wonderful time, and enjoyed every minute of the time we stayed. The little church is a must to look through, and the train car restaurant, is a must for fine dining. This hotel is an attraction in itself. Thank you Glenlo Abbey for making our stay amazing!

Room Tip: We requested a room overlooking the golf course. The view of the grounds were breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelia8259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Ann L,

Thank you for your kind review which we were delighted to read! The Abbey is indeed a unique part of Glenlo and has marvellous acoustics that would almost encourage you to sing. Although given our personal ability in this area, we are frequently urged not to!

We hope to welcome you back to Glenlo in the near future!

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My boyfriend and i did a reasonably priced package that included 4 castles across Ireland. This was Castle #3. We arrived a bit early. our room wasn't quite ready for check-in, so we stashed our luggage in their back room, and went to check out Galway.

We hit a bit of a speedbump though. There was consistantly 1 person behind the front desk. Typically, this person was incrediblty helpful, but they were, nonetheless, 1 person trying to accomodate the needs of many many guests. This resulted in some pretty extensive wait times. Particularly at check-in and check-out. I know its my American expectations... and that i should excersize patience, but after waiting a solid 30 minutes to hand over a key and hit the road, i couldn't help but scream inside my head! Also, providing a bad taste in our mouths was the fact that the front desk person tried to reroute our plans for the day actually saying "You can do that tomorrow... here's what you're going to do today" providing us some details for a pretty extensive drive... with minimal consideration of the fact that we'd just sat in the car for 2 1/2 hours to get there in the first place. We both felt pretty uncomfortable right then... but politely removed ourselves from the situation.

I must say that the grounds of this property are lovely. There are a few restaurants on-site including a chinese 'train' around back that we totally didn't even see until we were leaving. The lobby was lovely, and the place had a smell in it that really brought me back to my childhood. Subtle scents of Christmas that I just couldn't help but love. Our room (303) was... fine... but given the amazingness of the property, and the public spaces, i felt like they really could have done a lot more to carry the 'castle' theme into the rooms. It felt pretty generic. The room was, however, spacious. The property provided us 2 bottles of water daily which i appreciated.

The bathroom door was pretty annoying though, as it swung closed with some serious force! If you wanted to put on makeup after someone took a hot shower... you were in for a struggle. No ventalation whatsoever. Also, the shower was THE most complicated unit i'd encountered in Ireland (across all 4 castles). We both took cold showers the first day, and by the 2nd day we figured out how to get the water to be tepid at best. It was pretty uncomfortable. Also there was a flimsy little piece of plastic to keep you from soaking the bathroom. We soaked the bathroom. The bathroom, however, was marble and lovely... just a few small adjustments need to be made to make it easier to 'figure out'.

We had breakfast on site one day too. That was very good. Very expensive for what it was... but a lovely experience. The place was decorated for Christmas and really just looked great!

All in all... i'd stay here again... but while it had among the more authentic castle-roots, it really didn't FEEL like a castle in your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CohenLaurenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear CohenLaurenA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are even happier that our log fires evoked childhood memories. This is such so lovely especially at this time of year.

We hope to welcome you back to Glenlo soon.

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for our recent ''mini-moon'' and we had an amazing time. From the lovely warm welcome we received from Maura on our arrival, to the complimentary bottle of Prosecco that was brought to our room along with our luggage by the more than helpful and extremely friendly Ernie.

Our dinner which we had in the magnificent River Room restaurant was one of the best we've ever had and the service was second to none.

Our room was immaculate and the bed was so comfy it was like sleeping on a fluffy cloud!

Our breakfast was equally as good and the lovely girl who served us couldn't do enough for us and 2nd and 3rd helpings were offered!

Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay for longer at this amazing hotel! Thank you Maura, Ernie and all the staff at Glenlo Abbey for making our stay so memorable and special. Highly recommended!!

Lisa & Gavin McCormack

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Lisa M,

Congratulations on your recent marraige and we are delighted that you chose Glenlo for your "mini moon". Many guests are commenting on how sleeping in our new beds is like sleeping on a cloud! Now that you have added fluffy to this just makes us want to sleep here tonight ourselves! We will pass on your kind comments to Maura, Ernie and all here!

Hopefully you might come back to us for your anniversary or sooner!

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here as a family for night as a base to explore the Christmas markets etc. in Galway. I typically stay in a city centre hotel, but on this occasion, we decided to stay slightly more rural.

Location:
10 minute drive from city centre (with little traffic), but definitely more if a) it's raining (which it mostly is), b) if the day has a 'y' in it. However, that is an issue with any hotel on the outskirts of Galway city, so it's a moot point. The hotel is in Bushy Park (the connemara side of the city), overlooking Lough Corrib and the golf course. It is easy to get to and handy for access to both Salthill and City Centre.

Rooms:
Spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished, with the most comfortable beds (with goose down duvets) ever... While the hotel rooms and room corridors are aging, it's actually irrelevant. There is refurbishment in plan, but to be frank, the rooms are absolutely fine, and still have a luxurious feel. The hotel was furnished and decorated properly in the first place, and you can see and feel the quality as a result.

Food:
We only partook in breakfast, which was simply fantastic. there was nothing lacking... absolutely nothing. The bar and restaurant menu (as well as the food itself) looked divine too. The restaurant is dripping with old school elegance with beautiful views over Lough Corrib.
Oh yes... And they have 2 pullman cars (from the orient express no less) as dining rooms.... How about that?

Bar:
The Cellar bar is a leather and stone clad, elegant and atmospheric place to be. Excellent staff, excellent drinks, and the locals drink here. If the locals drink in a bar in a decent hotel, you simply can't go wrong. The atmosphere is typical of some of the best local pubs in Galway.

Service:
Second to none...... Professionalism mixed with a family feel, from check in, and portering through food and drink service. Even check out was superb. I don't think I've experienced that feeling of being genuinely welcome in a hotel before.

Summary:
I will probably never stay in another hotel ever again in Galway... and I've stayed in most of them previously

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing Lough Corrib
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac10K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Mac10K,

What a great review, thank you so much! The greatest compliment you could have paid us is that given that you have stayed in most of the hotels in Galway, you will never return to anywhere but Glenlo. We are deeply flattered and grateful. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,993 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing