We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were visiting family in Galway and decided to treat ourselves to a five night stay at the Glenlo Abbey. On arrival We were greeted warmly by Maura who promptly upgraded our room to a suite! Although impressively large it was tired looking and seriously in need of updating, it has a very peculiar layout and extremely heavy doors leading to the shower room and toilet, neither of which had anywhere to place toiletries or makeup. This was my only criticism and our stay was really enjoyable.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the view from our room was memorable.

The reception and lounge areas were fabulous and throughout our stay the staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. We didn't catch her name, but the breakfast waitress looked after us really well. My husband 'Ivan' was particularly impressed with the generous serving of buttermilk pancakes with strawberries and maple syrup.

Sadly we didn't have the opportunity to visit the River Room restaurant on this visit - the menu looked great - but we did enjoy lunch one day in the downstairs bar.

We are looking forward to returning, very soon I hope.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear DoreenT,

How mouth watering! Buttermilk pancakes with strawberries and maple syrup! We get so many delightful compliments about our breakfasts which we are always grateful for and are well deserved by our breakfast chef. We were very happy to have you with us for five nights and hope that you might return again. We will pass on your kind words to Maura and everybody here!

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    211
    93
    54
    29
See reviews for
195
590
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The hotel and setting are beautiful, The room was very spacious and comfertable (really comfertable bed) and lake views. We had an excellent breakfast in the dining room with views of thwe lake.

The staff are warm and friendly. It was such an enjoyable stay - Thank you!

We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnG136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear JohnG136,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is so nice to treat yourself to a night away in January to lighten the post Christmas blues!

Thank you again and warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our last stay in Galway was the Harbour Hotel, which is a sister hotel of the Group. We had also stayed in the Strand Hotel in Limerick, and were given a discount voucher for Glenlo Abbey as it has now been acquired by the Group.
We had to visit Galway recently for business and therefore had booked into Glenlo. We were cordially greeted at reception and shown to our room. The room was quite good with good space in it. However, there were some faults. The self closing bathroom door was badly warped, due no doubt to bath overflows in the past. The result was it didn't shut properly. There was a pervasive smell of smoke, either tobacco or from the open fires which were timber fuelled and possibly with chimneys without adequate draught.

We had reserved a table in the dining room as we were told it might be busy. When we arrived, we were greeted by the head waiter who showed us to a pleasant table. The room however was gloomily lit and it was very difficult to read the menu. The waiter did offer to illuminate the menu with the torch on his phone!

Food was largely good quality, but the main vegetarian course of aubergine and goats cheese was very stodgy and tasteless. However, we must complain about the cheese board. There were three cheeses on offer. Are we not a first class dairy based country with access to a multitude of cheeses? The head waiter told us that where he trained in England, the restaurant offered thirty to forty cheeses. This lack of thought is not uncommon in a lot of hotels. What must tourists think? The cost of the a la carte menu was not excessive, but the wine list was overly expensive, with what appeared to be large mark ups.

We slept well, but were awoken by the noise of workers arriving underneath our window at 5.45 a.m and shortly after that by a person in a neighbouring room taking a bath. It sounded as if they were in the room with us! Soundproofing please!!

We had ordered breakfast in the room and this arrived on time, but lukewarm with lukewarm tea. It was all so unappetising, we left it. I have to say, our recent experiences if room breakfasts have all been disappointing bar one. Having not paid full rate for the room (but full rate for breakfast) we decided not to complain.

If this is what tourists are being offered for what is supposed to be a five star hotel, I am not impressed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surveyorDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear surveyorDublin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us the details of which we were most disappointed to read. We would like to reassure you of our continued commitment to service and standards here at Glenlo. We do not take your comments as criticism but merely as direction. Should you wish to discuss your stay with us further we would be delighted to contact you on your chosen contact number and at an opportune moment for you.

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

From the moment we arrived at Glenlo Abbey we felt very welcome. Maura on reception was just the best, so much so we booked for two nights but stayed for another night. Great recommendations on things to do, places to go and just down time. The staff in the breakfast room were superb, Alex you are fantastic. I wish I could bring the staff home with me, and we will return again. Beautiful fires, beautiful food, beautiful warm feeling, yes I guess you could say we had a beautiful time. Many thanks to Maura and all the staff, and best of luck to the new owners. Toni and Danny in Killarney

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonikillarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear tonikillarney,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with. Even more so that you were able to stay on for an extra night! Everybody here is most enthused about ensuring that our guests get to see the best of Galway and Connemara. Often the road less travelled is the most beautiful and interesting thus local knowledge and recommendations are invaluable. We will pass on your kind words to Maura and everybody here!

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The avenue to the hotel was impressive and the car parking was plentiful. Our introduction to the hotel was so pleasant. We were met by Sandra on reception and from the word go she made us feel at home. She handled the check in and brought us to our room. For a first point of contact Sandra is a fabulous ambassador for this hotel. The room was brill and the bed and pillows very comfy. Breakfast could not be faulted and again all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We liked our stay, short as it was, and will certainly be staying again. Overall it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is set back from the road I believe all rooms will give privacy and no traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Jake,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that on your return visit you might be able to stay longer. We will pass on your kind words to Sandra and everybody else here!

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

From the front desk to the staff in the dining room & the waiter in the "Orient Express" train restaurant we were treated like royalty! Yes, as stated in other reviews.....the Abby is older & perhaps in need of some updating. That said, to much updating would ruin the character of this lovely hotel. Upon checking out I told the young lady that I would be happy retiring there....beautiful scenery, good food & lovely people!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josflowerbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear josflowerbasket,

We thoroughly enjoy welcoming guests to Glenlo and are delighted that you felt like royalty! We would be delighted to have you retire here or even just to come back again for a visit.

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have just got back from a 2 night stay at Glenlo Abbey and what a fantastic hotel to stay at for a trip to Galway and sightseeing in Connemara. From the moment we arrived we were treated like we were their main guests for the weekend, Maura at reception greeted us on arrival and from there on whatever we needed was instantly looked after. The character of the Abbey is fabulous and very warm and cosy all round, the reception, bar, dining rooms and bedrooms all very comfortable, the beds are the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in. We were also made very welcome by the local regulars in the bar and were given some fantastic information as to where to go for proper sight seeing of Galway and Connemara areas, places we would never have found ourselves, so when we return to Galway again we will definately be heading back to Glenlo Abbey Hotel for the welcome, comfort and service.

Liam & Catherine Dunne

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a Penthouse Room with a view overlooking Glenlo Golf Course and Lough Corrib.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Jack D,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is much appreciated! We are very happy to hear that you had some enjoyed our neighbours in The Oak Cellar Bar! They are indeed great fun and delight in visitors coming to their local. We will tell Maura and everybody else here of your kind comments who I know will be delighted to hear them!

We hope to see you back again soon!

Warmest regards

Guest Relations, Glenlo Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing