We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth It”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Co Down
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth It”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after Valentines Day . Great base to explore Connemara and Cliffs of Moher. We stayed in a Junior suite and the room was spacious and homely. The bathroom had been refurbished and looked great. We had one evening meal and the food was excellent . The waiter was very informative about the food and also the wines.(superb) . Breakfast was in the same dining room and it had a great view over Lough Corrib. The bar is to the back of the hotel and has a nice charm about it and there are some other rooms that you can have a quiet drink. All the staff are so helpful, telling us where all to go and see. Ainne who we booked our stay with was so nice to talk to on the phone , pity we never meet. Hotel only 2 miles from Galway, so quite handy to everything. Hotel was fully booked but never seemed like it was so busy, was very peaceful and quiet. Would recommend highly for couples who want a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Junior suite was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    216
    97
    54
    29
See reviews for
200
615
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I travelled to Galway with my partner & parents. They were the reason we chose Glenlo Abbey & very happy we did. It's a short drive from the Galway city centre in a nice quiet location on its own grounds. Staff were super from the moment we arrived to when we left. Very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is lovely & relaxed, full of character & history. Rooms are very spacious with a comfortable bed and quality linen. Had dinner in the bar & our vegetarian diet was well looked after by staff. The dining room the next day for breakfast was a nice surprise, beautiful decor with lovely views and a great variety of breakfast options. Would definitely stay again. Great value off season also.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ingridw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband & I had a two night stay to celebrate Valentine's Day, we arrived to a cosy fire at reception where the receptionist (Maura) was very friendly and most welcoming. Our porter (Danny) took our bags up to our spacious room & was also very chatty & friendly. We had a drink at the bar later & it was nice to see the locals popping in for one or two! It's less than a 10 minute drive from Galway city, depending on traffic of course but very easy to get to. We got a taxi in to town so we could have a few drinks, which the receptionist kindly booked for us. Valentine's Day we had dinner in the hotel which was divine, our waiter was very pleasant (Raphael), then along with other couples we were serenaded in the drawing room by a wonderfully talented pianist. It was a lovely evening and we didn't have to budge from our comfy chairs beside the fire as our drinks were brought to us! Breakfast was also very nice with plenty to choose from to suit all. The hotel is lovely and very comfortable throughout, the grounds also looked amazing but as the weather wasn't great we didn't get a chance to explore. Very relaxing atmosphere & excellent staff.

Room Tip: We had a room to the back of the hotel looking out onto an old walled garden, very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have just returned from an overnight stay at the hotel with my Mum and two sisters. It was the most relaxing break we have had away. The minute we walked in Sandra at reception was so welcoming and friendly. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. The whole setting was just so relaxing. We loved the big open fires and the relaxed atmosphere. Our beds were so comfortable and we had beautiful view from our room. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A peaceful break with a city on doorstep. We stayed two nights and the service and breakfast were excellent. Was great escape from a student filled city! The receptionist spoke excellent Irish and was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Myself and my wife took a midweek break here with the intention of relaxing for a couple of days taking in the majestic sights of Connemara by day and enjoying good food and a few drinks by night.
Our visit completely exceeded our expectations of a five star hotel experience, before we even arrived we received a call from the hotel enquiring if we'd like to book a table for dinner that evening and on arrival we were warmly greeted by Maura who was very friendly and made us feel more than welcome.
James escorted us to our room and again we were made to feel at home. The view of Lough Corrib from our room was stunning I must add.
The food in both the river restaurant and the cellar bar was really good served by friendly waiters.
Overall it was a laid back relaxing break which in my opinion was mostly down to the friendly staff in particular Maura Lee who was so impressive regarding her kind nature.
We will most definitely be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Second & third floor rooms facing the rear car park have stunning views of Lough Corrib.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I am a local who has eaten in the bar three times recently. I was delighted that Glenlo was open again and wanted to support it with my custom. The first two times the food was nice, the third it was very poor. The service is very haphazard. The waiters seem attentive but then forget parts of the order. Simple things like forgetting water and cutlery or returning to check if we wanted another drink. The service at the bar is poor and very slow. The bar seems stiff and slightly uncomfortable. I think they are trying to be 5 Star but don’t know how. Perhaps it is only teething problems, hopefully things may improve. They should concentrate on the basics first. I think I’ll leave if for a few months before I try it again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,708 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing