We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old charm which would need money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
2 reviews
“Old charm which would need money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a long week-end in Glenlo.
Even though I was a bit disappointed to have to realize that only a part is really an Abbey, the rest of the hotel was added later, only that one doesn't see clearly on the pictures published.
The international staff did its best to please us, very friendly, polite and helpful.
Even though it is a pity that whatever one looks at - is rundown. Money would be needed to replace old beds, matrasses, bathroom installations, pipes, heating, etc. - for a 5 star hotel the quality provided is on the edge
The food was good, especially down in the oak cellar bar. However one had the feeling that in the restaurant the chef has too high aspiration, (and the wines are overprized).
The surrounding landscape is beautiful and I could imagine to come back, the hotel definitely has its charm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlvdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    208
    91
    53
    28
See reviews for
191
581
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

my wife and i arrived sunday 23 of march to be met with a roaring log fire in reception,this bode well for our stay.very friendly staff,a beautiful room and delicious lunch in the bar maintained our delight.dinner that evening was first class as was the service and indeed the dining room.
the pullman restaurant in the grounds,which is a dining carriage from the orient express looked fantastic.breakfast was very good with a wide selection of hot and cold options.
cannot fault any part of our stay.will return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: just turn up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have to say the staff at Glenlo are fantastic. The hotel is having a revival under new management. The reception, lounge and bar are just lovely, I agree with reviews on the rooms being a little tired but hopefully they will catch up! Excellent breakfast, the ingredients were good quality and spoke for themselves. We loved lounging by the fire on arrival, for a nightcap and to read the Sunday papers before we left. High praise for the general manger who went out of his way to make our party of four feel at home! Plus great restaurant tips for the Oyster festival while we were there. Many thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exploring365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My family stayed here (my husband and two daughters) for one night and loved it! We arrived very early in the day (8:30am) and were just hoping to store our luggage until check-in time so we could see the town, but were pleasantly surprised that one of our rooms was ready and we could have it upon arrival! Sandra at the desk was wonderful! She anticipated our every wish and was very welcoming. She even helped us line up a taxi driver as we needed to get to Castlebar on a Sunday and there weren't many options for public transportation. We ate in the bar for lunch and supper and the food was very good. Breakfast was wonderful and the decor of the whole abbey was beautiful. A very relaxing place to unwind. Great wifi everywhere in the building and lots of gathering places to sit and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I have been to genlo abbey for afternoon tea on two occasions. I expected an improvement from my first visit as I was told by staff they were to have a new menu for afternoon tea after Christmas, but unfortunately this was not the case.
The ffrench room is beautiful and the perfect setting for afternoon tea but the service and presentation do not live up to this. We had to ask at reception for staff after waiting a considerable amount of time and when the waiter arrived he shouted across the room did we want tea or coffee and left! No requests about our afternoon tea, even something as simple as to what type of bread we would like. What we received was not what I would consider afternoon tea! A wonky cake stand with two ham sandwiches, a bit of brown bread with salmon and some stale desserts. The scones were lovely. Very poor presentation and the whole experience does not reflect the beauty of the surroundings. I spoke with staff after my first visit and hoped for an improvement, if anything this place has gotten worse. I take to writing this review as I hope it is seen by staff and changes are made. I have a gift voucher but am very hesitant to return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank LauraOHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

It was a very nice hotel, but nothing to write home about and I am unsure why its 5 star... The bed is very comfy and the pillows were soooo good. Food was fine, breakfast, plentiful. Loved the Brown bread! It is a few mins out of the town, so I wouldnt count it as City Centre. The staff were out on their own. Nicest friendliest people I have ever encountered. Great job guys. We got it as a deal from Pigs back, so money wise, it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were given this lovely gift from a friend. We arrived to a warm welcome from Sandra and received great service during our stay. Our bedroom room was vast, comfortable and the prosecco on arrival chilled and enjoyable. Our meal in the restaurant was tasty and steak cooked perfectly (medium rare). Dishes were well presented with again good service from the waiting staff. The breakfast the next morning was everything you wanted from a five star hotel, excellent options from the buffet and a la carte. The open fires, candles, views of the lake all made for a wonderful ambience. We had a great visit. Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing