We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Myself and my fiancé have just spent a mid week break at the hotel and we had a lovely time. The hotel staff are the nicest I've ever met. Reception, bar, restaurant and cleaning staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much bother for any of them. The hotel is lovely and having a bit of refurbishment but that did not detract from a restful and most enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPAJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for Glenlo Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Such a pleasant and helpful staff! The hotel was so quaint and beautiful and peaceful. We stayed here as part of our Aer Lingus package and had a gorgeous room with a beautiful view of the Corrib. Loved having a full tea service in the room. It made for a couple very relaxing afternoons! Situated so close to Galway made it really convenient to have both a relaxing getaway and a touristy trip into town. On our second night, the lady in reception called a taxi for us so we could enjoy and evening of dinner and pubs. We would HIGHLY recommend Oscar's in town for a great seafood dinner and the Kings Head pub was a lot of fun, too. The continental breakfast was probably one of the best we had on our trip. We really can't say enough about this wonderful hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights. It was part of a package so it wasn't the top end room. But it was nice and comfy. What set this place apart by miles from everywhere else was Sandra in reception. She is the best. From the advice and directions to just making us feel at home she could not have made this a better stay. I hope the owners of this hotel read this as I have stayed in hundreds of places across the globe. So owners - don't lose this girl! She's what makes ur property extra special. If ur a guest ask for her advice and take it! U will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jafmns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Two lovely nites at this beautiful hotel! We stayed here as part of an Aer Lingus package of air, car and castle accommodations. The room has a delightful view of the Corrib River. It's spacious with a very comfortable king bed! The
staff is superb offering all types of helpful services. Maura is a wealth of
knowledge on Galway as well as a lovely and friendly hostess! I wish we could stay longer but other Irish sights await as we continue on our journey.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBonnieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is very close to Galway city, yet it is out in the countryside with fantastic views. The house is old and has some beautiful furnishings. They have a golf course fronting the hotel and also some old railway carriages that they open as a restaurant “The Pullman” during the summer months. We booked a superior room with a river view and it was well worth it. We had some trouble with our room door key lock, but the hotel staff, were very efficient and helpful at solving the problem and in fact got all the bedroom doors checked by a locksmith the following day. The evening dinner in both the Restaurant and in the Bar was very good and the breakfast was very nice. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejoeIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here with my family last week and we had the BEST experience. We were greeted by such friendly staff (big thank you to Luke!!), and the rooms were cozy and luxurious. The staff found out it was my mom's birthday and delivered a bottle of wine to our room. The breakfast was also very good (a little pricey), and it only takes 5 minutes to drive into the city center. The grounds are well-kept and beautiful. I would 100% come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

First of all, IGNORE the seventy-something percentage review rate. This hotel is wonderful and i wouldn't let that put you off as it almost did for me. We stayed as a couple for one night for my birthday. I was really hoping on being able to get a room with a view of the golf course and rivers recommended by everyone else on trip advisor but actually it didn't make any difference as i didn't spend any time looking out of the window. The rooms are really spacious and I've never felt so comfortable in a hotel room. The staff are really lovely, friendly and efficient. Particularly noticed the service given by our lady waiter in the river room restaurant, she was excellent and the food was really amazing- both very tasty and generous in portion- a rare combo! The breakfast the following morning followed suit and it also had they biggest variety on offer. We had a cream tea in our package which we didn't have time for so they made us up a packed lunch with it. Lovely!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,725 reviews
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,818 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range: £134 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming open log fires and a warm personal welcome await you at Glenlo Abbey Hotel. This luxury, five star hotel is nestled peacefully on a stunning 138 acre estate on the shores of Lough Corrib near Galway City, with a choice of elegant bedrooms and suites, individually designed and beautifully appointed, blending luxury and contemporary décor. A choice of unique dining options, including the award-winning Pullman Restaurant, set on two original Orient Express carriages, now a fine dining restaurant on the hotel grounds. Take time to relax in one of the many reception rooms, with Afternoon Tea by the fireside or the timeless elegance of the River Room Restaurant. Enjoy drink in the Oak Cellar Bar that exudes warmth and character. Activities on the 138 acre estate include golf on the 9 hole championship course, fishing on Lough Corrib, falconry and archery in the Walled Garden. Relax in the comfort of our in house cinema or enjoy some friendly competition in the Billiards Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing