We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Ashton,MD
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

All-around excellence. Large rooms, helpful and friendly staff, wonderful food, welcoming pub. Very nice atmosphere throughout the hotel. Easy drive into Galway. Also served as an excellent jump-off point to head out to the Connemara peninsula. Head to Clifden, then on to the Sky Road. Try to visit Kylemore Abbey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackdoghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    212
    93
    54
    29
See reviews for
197
599
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night this month and we couldn't fault it. The hotel is in beautiful grounds, the staff were super friendly, room was massive and the breakfast was lovely! We also went for a drink in the hotel bar which we found to have a really nice atmosphere and attentive service. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcullen, Ireland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here as part of a special offer the hotel was running. As other reviewers have mentioned the grounds are beautiful and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The hotel is in a good location and is easy to get to, just outside the city. To be honest, I was a little disappointed in our bedroom for a five star hotel. I understand that the hotel is going for a traditional style but I thought our room was a little dated. The breakfast room was beautiful and the food itself was plentiful and tasty. A ticket to Kylemore Abbey was included in our package. I thought it was a little strange that nothing was said about it until I asked as we were checking out. It's quite a bit away from the hotel but worth going to on a nice day. Overall, I felt the hotel represented good value for money, the staff were friendly, it was easy to get to but that it was not a five star accommodation. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POC-CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Myself and my fiancé have just spent a mid week break at the hotel and we had a lovely time. The hotel staff are the nicest I've ever met. Reception, bar, restaurant and cleaning staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much bother for any of them. The hotel is lovely and having a bit of refurbishment but that did not detract from a restful and most enjoyable break.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPAJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Such a pleasant and helpful staff! The hotel was so quaint and beautiful and peaceful. We stayed here as part of our Aer Lingus package and had a gorgeous room with a beautiful view of the Corrib. Loved having a full tea service in the room. It made for a couple very relaxing afternoons! Situated so close to Galway made it really convenient to have both a relaxing getaway and a touristy trip into town. On our second night, the lady in reception called a taxi for us so we could enjoy and evening of dinner and pubs. We would HIGHLY recommend Oscar's in town for a great seafood dinner and the Kings Head pub was a lot of fun, too. The continental breakfast was probably one of the best we had on our trip. We really can't say enough about this wonderful hotel!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights. It was part of a package so it wasn't the top end room. But it was nice and comfy. What set this place apart by miles from everywhere else was Sandra in reception. She is the best. From the advice and directions to just making us feel at home she could not have made this a better stay. I hope the owners of this hotel read this as I have stayed in hundreds of places across the globe. So owners - don't lose this girl! She's what makes ur property extra special. If ur a guest ask for her advice and take it! U will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jafmns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Two lovely nites at this beautiful hotel! We stayed here as part of an Aer Lingus package of air, car and castle accommodations. The room has a delightful view of the Corrib River. It's spacious with a very comfortable king bed! The
staff is superb offering all types of helpful services. Maura is a wealth of
knowledge on Galway as well as a lovely and friendly hostess! I wish we could stay longer but other Irish sights await as we continue on our journey.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBonnieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing