We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent location for a stay in Galway”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent location for a stay in Galway”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just completed a two night stay at Glenlo, and we cannot wait to return again at a future time. The hotel itself is graceful and beautifully laid out. The grounds are sweeping and pleasing to the eye, and the buildings are stately but warm. The rooms are amazing, with some of the best beds we have ever slept on in any hotel, and the public spaces a inviting and comfortable.
Most of all, the personnel are charming and eager to be of help. The heart and soul of the operation is the front desk manager, Maura Lee, who seems to be everywhere at once and knows every guest name within a few minutes. She is a treasure trove of knowledge about local lore and places, and willing to help guide travelers to interesting sights and sites.
The Pullman Restaurant is set in former rail cars of the Orient Express. The food is wonderful.
This place is delightful, and it should be on every Galway visitor's short list of destinations.

JJ

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJTwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    218
    97
    54
    29
See reviews for
204
625
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am unable to comment on the quality of accommodation at Glenlo Abbey but I can give some insight into management and service.
In early March 2014, I booked, prepaid and was GUARANTEED a room for two nights for a stay planned for late May, 2014.
Three days prior to my arrival and three months after confirmation,l was contacted by email to advise that due to heavy booking my room for the first night would not be available and that I had been provided with an alternative some kilometres away, and that I would spend the second night as planned at Glenlo Abbey. I did not accept the inconvenience of moving and refused the option.

I then sought to book a room for my two original nights at Glenlo Abbey to find that rooms continued to be available but at a considerably higher price that I had been offered and had paid.
Glenlo Abbey staff and management are either very poor at their jobs or have decided to bump a lower paying guest, either way......unacceptable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ijballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We traveled from Waterford across to Galway and arrived on a sunny afternoon, the view as you come down the drive to approach the hotel is stunning.
The accommodation is clean, tidy and functional, the staff very polite, helpful and charming.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wonderful old world hotel with every modern convenience. Bar food excellent lovely bar
in converted cellar. Friendly staff and lovely grounds for walks. We are a couple in our sixties and it suited our needs perfectly. Lovely old sitting rooms to enjoy a drink in the evening. Surrounding area ideal for touring , and only 3 miles from Galway city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Was brought here for a weekend in March as a birthday surprise. Horrible weather but the hotel certainly made up to that. The room was fabulous. We had food in the Basement Bar on the first night and it was really good. The dinner in the main restaurant on the following evening was excellent and the breakfast was to die for. The staff at this hotel are excellent and could not do enough for you. From the moment we arrived we were looked after really well.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for a little bit of peace, quiet and luxury. Would love to
go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seacoast, NH
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I so enjoyed our time at Glenlo Abbey. Maura Lee gave us very warm welcome and showed us to our room. The room was well appointed. All of the staff was anxious to please.

We explored the building and found lots of warm cozy public rooms plus the 270 year old pub in the basement. My husband and I love history and it was so much fun to be surrounded by it.

Breakfast was in a beautiful room and was very peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelForUS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Glenlo Abbey has a perfect location about 4km from Galway city on the road to Clifden. Set in its own grounds (probably well in excess of 100 acres), it includes an interesting looking (and challenging) golf course and a walk which takes you right down to the shores of Lough Corrib. For those who like an historic setting what could be more satisfying than a mid 18th C house, five-bay two-storey over basement, with modern sympathetic additions, a grand majestic entrance and a an adjoining church building. This house had once been the home of the Ffrench family - one of the 'Tribes of Galway'. The information in our room sadly didn't contain a history of the house but perhaps it originally did.

The accommodation was excellent but sadly a very strong smell of smoke pervaded the reception area and the corridors on the first floor - thankfully not the bedroom itself.

The food was a bit inconsistent - at its best it was excellent - our meal on the first night we arrived was very good. As a vegetarian I opted for the 'goat's cheese quiche' and really enjoyed it - I got two tartlets served with salad and fresh vegetables and everything was first class as was my wife's steak which was served exactly as requested. Breakfast the following morning was also excellent. The buffet was great and the hot breakfast (Eggs Florentine for me and Eggs Benedict for her) was as good as we have ever got in an hotel. Sadly the evening meal that evening was far less good than on the first night. I opted for the same main course but got one tartlet instead of two and while the salad was fine the vegetables were very heavily salted. The deserts when they came lacked the finesse of presentation which we received the previous evening.

Our biggest disappointment was with the breakfast on the second morning - someone (waitress or chef?) mixed up our orders and my hot vegetarian breakfast ordered with scrambled eggs came with poached eggs and my wife's ordered with poached came with scrambled! We had to scramble things even further to swap eggs from one plate to another. I had ordered (with the scrambled egg) tomatoes, sauteed potatoes and mushrooms - you can imagine my surprise (in a 5 star hotel) to receive a solitary mushroom and half a tomato with the potatoes and egg.

From our experience while the hotel had so so much to recommend it a bit more consistency would make a great difference in the Dining Room. We saw the wonderful dining carriages from the Orient Express train but sadly they were not in use during our stay - they looked absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view - it really is a stunning vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gearoid O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,054 reviews
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,748 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing