We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Blandon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 10 days in Ireland and this location was the finest. The entrance, gardens, the entire setting was just beautiful!! The front desk was polite, organized and helpful. The room was the most comfortable room so far on our trip. A large bed, soft covers, bathroom remarkable and the view of the river and golf course are just stunning! We enjoyed drinks and dinner in bar which was tasty and the bartender did a great job keeping up with customers eating and tending bar (he deserves some help or a raise). Thank you for an incredible lasting memory of Ireland!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    216
    97
    54
    29
See reviews for
200
615
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This is one of the most beautiful hotel experiences my husband & I have shared. The accommodations were FIRST CLASS. The staff was so very nice! We ate a lovely dinner in The Pullman. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I read all the previous reviews of Glenlo Abbey and I totally agree with each and every POSITIVE comment. Seriously, from the time of our arrival to our departure we felt as though the entire staff was happy to have us spend time with them. We couldn't have been treated better if we WERE family or royalty. As of matter of fact, we wanted to take Sandra (the first person to greet us upon arrival) back to the States with us...she truly could not have been more pleasantly helpful and caring during our stay : ) .... The food/menus, the Oak bar (esp. Michael O'Toole) and cocktails, the lovely decorated and clean rooms - including a fabulous view of the golf course ... not to mention the décor of the entire abbey/hotel... is second to none. My husband and I (and our traveling partners) actually toyed with the idea of scratching the rest of our scheduled Ireland travels and simply enjoy the Glenlo for a few extra days!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chf304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A sweeping driveway leads to the steps of this stone abbey. If it's your first visit you are in for a real treat. Everything is perfect. There needs to be another level above excellent because this abbey deserves an 'excellent plus' score.
From the minute you arrive you'll be treated to nothing but the best. Service is great. The rooms are stunning. Decor is superb. A range of media reports featuring very special guests who have visited the Glenlo Abbey feature on some of the walls. Heritage abounds everywhere - so many stories to be told, so much history to be shared. Food is a specialty. Breakfast is typically Irish with loads of delicious food. Choices of restaurants include a fine dining experience in train carriages close by in the garden. The spacious gardens include a golf course. Now I am not a golfer but my friends are and they loved the opportunity to enjoy golfing as part of their weekend at the abbey.
Weddings are a specialty. The chapel attached to the abbey makes a perfect venue.
The bedrooms are plush. Everything that you would expect from a top class establishment is there.
You'll leave Glenro Abbey promising yourself you'll return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amazing!!! From the moment you enter you are treated like family. The staff was so helpful and fun to chat with. Jennifer even called her dad to get us the tide reading so that we could go to Omey Island. She gave us fabulous places to eat and visit! We loved our time there. We arrived late and had dinner at the restaurant Pub. Good mussels and good pub food. Breakfast -- fabulous poached eggs and breakfast pastries. Be care -- it is so easy to over indulge as everything is so fresh. You must make sure you dine at Orient express carriage. It was like going back in time with a 5star meal. Our room overlooked the golf course and "lake". It must be a "must stay" when you visit Ireland.

Room Tip: Pack for half your trip and send out your laundry. It is so much easier than lugging heavy suitcase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is in a very attractive location and we stayed during a spell of good weather. The staff were very friendly however many of the staff we encountered were not well trained e.g. we were served in the breakfast room by 4 different people each of whom forgot to bring the tea which was repeatedly ordered. The service in the lounge was also poor. It is very disappointing when such basic service is lax. At the entrance to this property five stars have been placed beside its name - unfortunately our experience would suggest a rating considerably lower than five star. We saw no evidence of management staff, a boat without a rudder flounders and may eventually sink.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valeriebeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great time had celebrating my birthday with my husband. The room was spacious and luxurious with a beautiful view of Lough Corrib. The staff are super helpful and nice. Dinner on the Orient Express carriages in the grounds just topped the whole experience off.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful - we stayed in 308
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,708 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing