We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gaelic Charm, Singing, Memories!”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Do you want memories of guests and locals singing inside the pub IN the castle? Do you want friendly staff, and the feel of a real castle? Come here! Do you want good food, sound bed, and actually hear a Babbling brook outside of your room? A year later - and my 17 year old Son and I still remember playing golf in the soft, drizzling rain outside, knowing we were but steps away from late Summer warmth of the luxurious castle inside....
I can still see my son cautiously trying to pet a large beautifully feathered but grumpy parrot (perhaps the parrot was yearning for a pint?).

Come here - like this Yank did, and leave with memories so dear of Dad and Son.



(or you can do the tired Radisson thing- it's ok too)

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank hubbard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear hubbard k,

While we would dearly love to take the credit for this wonderful review and treasured memories, we must truthfully point out that it’s not our hotel, perhaps kind words should be shared with the rightful owners…we are guessing perhaps the Abbey Glen Hotel in Clifden?

However we are cheekily inviting you to call in and sample the delights ( minus a parrot ) that the Glenlo Abbey hotel can provide on your next trip to Galway.

Warm Regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

The TripAdvisor reviews on Glenlo Abbey were fair and accurate. The hotel feels like it was refurbished in 2000 and has festered ever since.

The good stuff includes:
1. Pancakes at breakfast were the best I have had
2. Nice location with a golf course outside
3. Free wifi across the whole hotel + free parking

The mediocre stuff included:
1. Staff were keen but poorly trained + managed so it is all a bit amateurish
2. Bedroom decor is dated but not bad

The bad stuff included:
1. The worse bed I have slept in - it slumped 6 inches when I sat on it
2. Towels are threadbare
3. Cigarette burns in the net curtains

All in all it would be a reasonable hotel for EUR 100 per night but at EUR 200 per night it is better avoided. I couldn't recommend the Glenlo Abbey and wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear BertBantham,

Thank you for a comprehensive review of our hotel, the good and the not so good.
Firstly the good, we are delighted you enjoyed the pancake breakfast and will pass on your kind words to the breakfast chef and team.
Secondly, that you enjoyed the location, the ample parking and hotel wide wi-fi. Of course we thank you also for highlighting areas that we need to improve upon, and can assure you that we will be reviewing your comments at management meetings.
We strive to offer a friendly professional service and your comments will help us to focus on areas for improvement for training. We review and refurbish rooms and décor on an ongoing basis and apologise again that your stay with us fell short of our normal high standards.
We hope to welcome you back to stay at some stage in the future.

Warm regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a night in August the staff in general across the hotel are friendly and have potential. The rooms are well used but are clean and the housekeeping supervisor keeps the staff on their toes which is excellent. The one thing is that the bathroom door had a lever which shuts in your face which is dangerous and even though the golf course has a nice driving range.The golf course should be shut down temporarily so the digger can finish work and the grass on the greens can grow in fact one hole had the greensmans hand mover parked on it and it looked for quite a while as it was rusty. Unfortunately the breakfast is a real letdown and why are the staff running around with an iron and stuffing it under a dirty table.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear MsEuro,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and your kind words about our friendly staff and efficient housekeeping service.

The bathroom door lever is a spring activated lever to close the door behind you and should not pose a danger, we have asked housekeeping to complete a review of bathroom doors to ensure all are operating in a correct manner.

We have started renovations of our golf course in February and hope to have it complete be the end of September and we do apologise for any inconvenience experienced. We are disappointed that your breakfast dining experience did not live up to our usual high standards and will address points made with the restaurant manager. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at the Abbey for 8 nights. It was the perfect "launching pad" for my 2000 km drive around Ireland. I took day trips hither and yon and saw so much breathtaking scenery during the day, but was always glad to come "home" to the hotel in the evening! The staff is beyond compare! They were renovating the reception area for a couple of days and there was NO effect on the services. Their breakfast menu was superb and kept me going until evening. The Oak Barrel Lounge is a delightful pub with excellent food! I met so many wonderful people on my trip and many of them were staff members at the hotel!

It was unseasonably warm during my stay and there is no air conditioning in the hotel, but they gave me a fan for the room which made sleeping much more enjoyable. The golf course is idyllic (unfortunately, I don't golf), and I enjoyed watching the golfers from my room and the outside patio of the Oak Barrel Lounge.

I'll be back! Erin Go Bragh!

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course would be my preference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwazegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear alwazegr8,

Thank you so very much for your kind words on all aspects of the hotel and we are delighted you felt at home with us, we look forward to welcoming you home again in the very near future. We will pass on your very kind words to our wonderful staff and thank you for sharing your fond memories on your review.

Warm Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed the night (2 rooms) 4 adults and found the mattresses in both rooms to be unsatisfactory. When you pay for a 5 star hotel you expect excellence from every aspect. The doors were difficult to operate, the safe did not work properly. I can say the staff has been exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gladgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear gladgirl67,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we will review the unsatisfactory mattress and faulty safe issues with maintenance and housekeeping departments , we strive to offer excellent satisfaction levels in every aspect of our hotel and apologise that we fell short in these matters.
We thank you for your kind words about our exceptional staff, and hope that they made your stay with us memorable despite the areas you have highlighted for improvement. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the very near future.

Warm Regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Spent the evening having the most fantastic dinner with family for our wedding anniversary in the Pullman restaurant. The food was prefect wine excellent stunning views. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff couldn't do enough for us.
See you soon thanks

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sean163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear smkwalton,

Wishing you a belated happy anniversary and many more years to come, for you both, from all of us here at the Glenlo Abbey.

Many thanks for your very kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future to enjoy more of the same wonderful experiences.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a first class hotel that does things right. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The wi-Fi is better than any we have encountered elsewhere in Ireland. Ask for a room with a view of the golf course and the lake.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jsteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Jsteveb,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted that your stay with us was such a positive one and we thank you for your kind words.
We hope to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Warm Regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,751 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,864 reviews
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,250 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,040 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range: £117 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming open log fires and a warm personal welcome await you at Glenlo Abbey Hotel. This luxury, five star hotel is nestled peacefully on a stunning 138 acre estate on the shores of Lough Corrib near Galway City, with a choice of elegant bedrooms and suites, individually designed and beautifully appointed, blending luxury and contemporary décor. A choice of unique dining options, including the award-winning Pullman Restaurant, set on two original Orient Express carriages, now a fine dining restaurant on the hotel grounds. Take time to relax in one of the many reception rooms, with Afternoon Tea by the fireside or the timeless elegance of the River Room Restaurant. Enjoy drink in the Oak Cellar Bar that exudes warmth and character. Activities on the 138 acre estate include golf on the 9 hole championship course, fishing on Lough Corrib, falconry and archery in the Walled Garden. Relax in the comfort of our in house cinema or enjoy some friendly competition in the Billiards Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing