We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Connemara Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Definitely not the same experience as compared to recent reviews for our recent stay at this hotel. Our room was on the non- air conditioned side and the room was hot at first but we were able to cool down withe windows open, so no real issues here. The room was clean, and was comfortable enough.
I guess the attention to detail that other reviewers have commented on was missing for our stay. The restaurant and the food left a lot to be desired. Found the menu to be average at best. Unfortunately my entree arrived with a hair in it. I mentioned this, they were apologetic and brought me a new meal. No detail here as the kitchen obviously did not look at my plate before allowing it to be served. It was not a hair picked up along the route from the kitchen to my table as it was underneath the veg and ought to have been strikingly obvious against a light cream sauce. Ordered a bottle of wine, the wrong bottle was brought. They returned to say that my selection was no longer available and I had to choose something else. Our dining companions also ordered a bottle of wine and were also brought he incorrect bottle. Maybe it was our server that was having a bad day but really this only boils down to training and standards set by the hotel.
Had laundry sent out to be cleaned. It was ready at the time promised however I was missing 6 shirts. The front desk person called the laundry service who thankfully did have my clothing. They brought it within an hour. Once again, lack of attention to detail on the part of the front desk person. She ought to have made certain that all items were returned. Poor training yet again. Staff were able to correct the mistakes they made but the goal should be to not make them in the first place as it chips away at the overall guest experience.
We were there as part of a tour. Based on the amount of hotels available I would likely try another hotel, but wold not be completely adverse to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bitbytravelbug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Connemara Coast Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our Insight Tour stayed two nights at the Connemara Coast, Friday 16 and Saturday 17 August. A mixed bag .... not the worst but not the best on our Tour, a little pretty near the foyer area but!!!
Our room was at the far end of the building upstairs and seemed miles from the centre, through double doors and landings. We thought there were no other lifts until one sympathetic porter pointed out a lift in a back alcove. It was a light and airy room and from the bay window feature we had a sideways view of Galway Bay so no real complaints.
I am becoming impatient with the lack of "standard" accoutrements in Irish hotels : no separate showers, no clock, no radio, no washer(s) despite the supply of body wash, here a small CRT TV with misshapen faces. There are also two Wifi systems in this hotel, in the room it is ConnemaraCoast, in the foyer area it is Syslink but do not worry as neither worked for me.
Management GET A BOOSTER,please!! so guests will not pester the hapless but pleasant reception staff
Back to the washer, we got one from a very unhappy housekeeper.
We had our (now) standard set menu dinner in their large eating area. This was also the breakfast venue and as it is on two levels with dark coloured stairs, it is an O H & S disaster for older folk carrying food from the buffet, something one of our members pointed out to staff. Service was patchy as tea/coffee had to be chased up. While one could order eggs etc delivery was forgotten and they arrived half-cold and hard. All a bit concerning though I am led to believe the porridge was great.
The hotel's bar which serves food is noisy and crowded; it is the Local for nearby residents; it was busy on Friday and on Saturday night when we came back looked not to be the place for a quick and pleasant meal.
Fortunately we had stayed back in Galway instead of going on one of the Tour's optionals. On the recommendation of a couple of Irish girls in a pub we booked and then came back for a wonderful dinner at Mc.Swiggan's Restaurant, clearly a popular spot with locals and great value. Taxis are readily available in Galway's centre area and return to the Connemara Coast is an easy exercise. Three cheers for those two nice strangers at the next table in the pub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarcyJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

we stopped here for something to eat during an evening drive, although it is billed as a restaurant it is actually just a bar serving food, the food was ok but when we tried to ask for the bill it took about 20 minutes to attract any of the server's attention and paying took even longer as the staff at the bar were more concerned with serving the drinkers, also, as we were leaving, a band were setting up making the available tables even fewer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Arrived in Galway from a trip to Clare with no reservation and found it impossible to get a hotel. Thanks to a very friendly receptionist in a Saltill hotel who phoned other hotels for me we were offered a room in the Connemara Coast Hotel. €200 for bed and breakfast, totally overpriced. Ireland wake up and smell the roses. No wonder we have no tourists. Apart from the price, we did enjoy our stay as the room had beautiful views out to sea. We had dinner in the bar which was okay but waited 45mins for 2 ice creams, not even a homemade desert but ice cream. We orderd a brandy as part of an apres dinner drink and when it arrived in a tumbler glass we were informed they had no brandy balloons. The buffet part of the breakfast was good but the cooked breakfast which is ordered at the table was cold. It could have been an overall better experience for what money we spen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naleoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

15 minute drive at least from Gallway centre. Not a huge deal to do there but the staff were friendly, the food was good and the hotel was beautiful. The swimming pool was nice but bring a swimming hat as its regulation in ireland that you have to wear a hat (romance out the window). I had a massage and it was lovely. Massage was definately worth the money.

Room Tip: Make sure there is no wedding on!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1_Annsc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this gem of a hotel. Our first visit to Ireland (won't be our last). Our stay was because of a wedding and we had a couple of days to tour around before this. Very well appointed rooms with 6ft bed and comfy pillows. Hotel itself is a little jaded on the exterior but inside was warm and welcoming. The food did not disappoint either. Massive breakfasts and great meals in the restaurant. I had the Irish roast beef one night and Connemara lamb the next. Unbeknown to me the wedding breakfast was a choice between turkey or the beef and I chose the beef again as it was so good. Just remember - Irish small portions are very large I am very much heavier in only four days! Any gripes? Well the shower head could do with a de-scale and the doors to the rooms are not easy to close quietly - a lot of banging at various times! All in all a lovely time and ALL the staff are friendly and work very hard. They throw a great wedding too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleplum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had not booked a room but just wandered in one day on the off chance that a room would be available and we were not disappointed.

Our room was beautiful - the view was amazing and for this alone it was worth the rather inflated charge for one nights B&B !! The bedroom was large, airy and spotlessly clean. Usual facilities including trouser press, tea and coffee facilities etc. TV had a great choice of channels but the set itself was dated - big box type set - its tine for a plasma screen folks!!

The only major down side to our hotel room was that every single sound from the corridor could be heard in the room!
Free wi fi throughout the hotel but different log ins for each area - a pain but wi fi in bed rooms was very poor - best reception was in corridors
Bathroom was disappointing - dated looking with heavy green limescale staining in bath but the bath towels were huge and fluffy.The hotel offered a turn down service each evening which was a nice touch

We had supper in the hotel and opted to have the bar food rather than eat in the dining room - it was fantastic!!! We both decided on steaks - beautifully cooked as requested accompanied by chips, onion rings and a big dish of fresh tastily cooked vegetables - yum Service was swift and food was undoubtedly great value for money. Bar service was excellent also.

Breakfast was not so good - in fact it was disappointing. We were told that a waitress would take our order for the cooked part of breakfast so we helped ourselves to the continental element which was reasonable with a fair range of choices. Both chose the full Connemara breakfast and waited up to 15 minutes for it to be brought to our table. I expected a completely freshly cooked breakfast but it was obvious from the outset that all bar the eggs had been cooked earlier and left aside. A real disappointment - whats the point in ordering the breakfast and waiting so long? Why not just have a buffet for the hot element too? Sorry CCH but you let yourself down there badly :(

The hotel has a lovely pool and outdoor hot tub! The grounds are beautiful and where better to spend an evening relaxing and watching the sun go down o're Galway Bay

Room Tip: Eat in the bar - Sin Sceal Eile - bar food is fabulous
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galwaygirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furbo
2.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
4.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,204 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,563 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.5 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connemara Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara Coast Hotel

Address: Spiddal Road | Furbo, Furbo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Furbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furbo
Price Range: £106 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Connemara Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Connemara Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Connemara Coast
Connemara Coast Galway
Connemara Coast Hotel County Galway/Furbo, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing