We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, beautiful views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Connemara Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is the 3rd hotel the tour stayed at and it was very nice. Everyone was very nice, the rooms were clean and the food was very good. Highly recommend. Beautiful pool area, very clean, nice area to take a walk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylviann55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

It may seem unfair to give this hotel an average rating but I think the reasons are legitimate enough.Firstly the positives.The check in staff are all lovely.Very professional and pleasant and a warm welcome given...even an upgrade given on check in to a lovely room with a sea view.
The room itself was largely fine...it was only the very dated bathroom and shabby bed cover and blanket that let it down.The bathrooms need to be modernised now before they date even more...and a duvet would be preferable to a knobbled blanket and a shiny cheap bed cover.The bed itself was lovely and comfortable however.
There are two restaurants...one child free,the other more family oriented.Our stay included the Gallery finer dining option which was lovely except there were only four couples in the whole space,everyone else using the other restaurant.This affected the atmosphere,as there was only one waitress to serve the huge space,a large grand piano sat forlorn in the corner unused....what a waste of a lovely room.
Finally,a wedding was taking place,which preoccupied a lot of the staff,and when we asked if there was any entertainment,we're told no...not tonight....on a bank holiday Saturday night!!!
With a visible change in direction from prioritising coach parties and weddings,this place could be a Mecca for stressed out city dwellers,looking for a special few days away...as it stands it is ok,but no more.
By the way did not use pool area but it looked nice

Room Tip: Sea view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mixerclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This would be a great resort but it fell short for me in two areas. First, the wi first coverage is limited and my need for connectivity was not addressed. Rooms had data jacks but they did not work. Shower in room was dangerously small.

My biggest complaints was bar staff and wait staff attitude. Only one waiter, Marek was friendly and personable. It was hard to get a smile from most.

Probably would give this a miss next time.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScoutW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Connemara Coast Hotel is a fabulous hotel with wonderful food and really excellent staff. It's a great base for seeing Galway city, Connemara and for a trip to the Aran islands from Rossaveal. We stayed for 4 nights and highly recommend the hotel. Breakfasts were great and the evening meals were excellent. The grounds of the hotel were wonderful to walk around, with a wonderful walk by the sea and a wonderful view across to Co. Clare.

WiFi could have been better but didn't take from the excellent rating for the hotel.

I'd highly recommend the hotel and will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PC-Dublin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed over Christmas time and we absolutely loved every second of our stay. The weather was typically Irish... howling gails and rough seas but the atmosphere and luxury in the hotel was second to none. Scenery from the hotel is every Irish traveller's dream . Staff are wonderful and so courteous. I truly believe that you will not get better. The breakfast was outstanding. Restaurant best of Irish local cuisine and bar food so tasty if you want a midday snack or light evening meal.
Perfect for kids also. Definitely going back when next in Ireland. Call hotel directly as we got a better deal and availability when we spoke to the reception staff directly. Enjoy !

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank The3Caulfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here on the Easter weekend with my fiancé and 3 month old son. The staff were fantastic from beginning to end, friendly helpful and unobtrusive, really felt like our custom was appreciated. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a superior room which had an amazing view out over Galway bay to the hills in Clare. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant where again the staff were great. Would definitely return and in fact are considering the Connemara Coast for our wedding as a result of our visit!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank RM356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

From check in to check out, this was just a great hotel. Our room was not huge, but there was plenty of room to move. We ate in the bar and all the staff were great. The pool was excellent. Breakfast was also wonderful, with more than just the usual "full Irish" on offer. There was easy access to the sea, and a playground for the kids.

Room Tip: Don't go to too much trouble to get a sea view room. You can get a fabulous view from most room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNTNiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furbo
2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,778 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
4.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.8 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,733 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connemara Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara Coast Hotel

Address: Spiddal Road | Furbo, Furbo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Furbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furbo
Price Range: £91 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Connemara Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Connemara Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Connemara Coast
Connemara Coast Galway
Connemara Coast Hotel County Galway/Furbo, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing