We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accomodation, amazing food, very friendly and helpful landlord/lady”
Review of The King's Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The King's Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Didmarton B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodation, amazing food, very friendly and helpful landlord/lady”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed in the newly refurbished stable the night before my wedding with my mum and 3 bridesmaids. It was beautifully decorated and well equipped inside. It was a comfortable and an enjoyable stay. We ate in the restaurant on the evening and the food along with the service was brilliant. In the morning we went for breakfast which was to a very high standard...even though I couldn't eat much due to the nerves of my wedding day! The landlord/lady were extremely accommodating and saw to our every need.

I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJaney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Many many thanks for your wonderful review,we were very honoured to be a small part of your big day and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
May we wish you and your husband all the very best for your future life together,and do hope you will come back and visit.
Kind regards,
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    49
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
22
69
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Badminton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I would second the really nice, friendly, informed and efficient service that the two waitresses gave us from the start. This counts for a lot. Unfortunately there was an extremely loud and obnoxious table really near us in the restaurant - they were so loud we couldn't hear each other talk over even the short distance of our own table. We knew that to ask them to be quieter would cause more trouble than it's worth and it was obviously difficult for the staff too. The lack of soft furnishings and hard floor in the new decor probably does little to help damp the sound.

An honest appraisable of our meal would be that overall it was great but spoilt a little bit by lack of attention to detail. The bread we were offered at the start, rosemary focaccia, was stale - always a worrying start that seemed to sign a lack of awareness of food quality. But starters were good - smoked salmon, my wife's and my main course were outstanding and the chef accommodated a wish for mashed instead of the richer lyonnaise potatoes. The desert of chocolate brownies and ice cream was fantastic.

To escape the noise of the small main dinning area we sat near the great fire place in the main bar. There's a really nice ambience here in this room. Unfortunately they have a problem with the chimney draft and the whole room was covered in a thick smog of wood smoke, almost enough to make you cough.

I think the new paint is elegant in places, and there is a nice new meeting room upstairs which seems to be well light with a chandelier. I like the blackboard paint on the walls where the menus are written in chalk. But it is dark and there's no let-up from the pigeon grey throughout the whole building - all shade and no light.

So over-all everyone is trying hard and deserves more custom.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hersedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My wife and i stopped at the Kings Arms tonight and the best part of the evening was the young girl from Monmouth behind the bar who was on her second day of employment,and worked really hard to make you feel welcome.
The pub has just been refurbished and they have got it horribly wrong whilst very clean far to dark could not even read the very limited menu, the food was very over priced, and the quality not that good fish and chips £11 plus and a small steak and chips £17.00 plus two drinks over £40.00. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Our lovely new member of the team was very touched with your very kind comments,a huge boost in her first week!
We are dismayed that your experience at the Kings Arms did not meet your expectations,we strive to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable visit and are sorry this was not the case in this instance.
We are thrilled with our beautifully refurbished pub and have been thrilled with the positive responses since opening which has also been the response to our food offering.
Warmest wishes,
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We had a very comfortable stay (2 x adults and 3 children). Dinner was good and breakfast was excellent. The Kings Arms is in a great location for exploring the rest of the Cotswolds. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: The cottage is great for a large group
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveHolidays71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Didmarton
3.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
770 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
496 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
7.1 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Arms

Property: The King's Arms
Address: The Street, Didmarton GL9 1DT, England (Formerly Kings Arms Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Didmarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Didmarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Arms is a cosy country inn nestled deep within the stunning Cotswold countryside. Combining modern comfort with rustic elegance, each of our cottage-style bed and breakfast rooms have their own individual character. Named after the prize-winning hounds from the nearby Beaufort Hunt, each room includes sumptuous features such as king-size four poster beds, ivory sheepskin rugs and luxurious Feather and Black mattresses and duvets which altogether ensure a relaxing and comfortable night's slumber. Two spacious self-catering cottages are ideal for families and larger parties looking for their own private Cotswolds hideaway. Our restaurant is renowned for using the freshest locally sourced produce. Fresh daily specials are handwritten on the restaurant blackboard and are cleverly complimented with an imaginative selection of lighter snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The King's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Inn - Didmarton Hotel Didmarton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing