We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartpury
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Country B&B”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Friendly welcome, shown to room.
Arrived a bit late after delays on the motorway but they managed to get me a meal, which was tasty and well presented. Comfy bed, in Forest View room on 1st floor. Surreal mist over pools at 6am! Huge breakfast! Paid £45 for one night stay B&B and if travelling that way again would be happy to stay there again. Not a lot of other B&B accommodation in the area as far as I could see.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFACornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    33
    13
    16
    50
See reviews for
31
31
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We have been staying on a annual fishing trip for three years and it is fast becoming a joke within our family and friends. The food is excellent and everyone is friendly there but that is were it ends. The rooms are a disgrace and we are sure that they don't bother to change the sheets, clean the bathroom or even mop the floor. One of us didn't have a shower the entire trip as only a small dribble came through the shower.The fishing there is pretty bad and we are now going elsewhere to fish. We can now see why so many people slept in there tents by the banks than in the hotel!

Room Tip: Sleep in your tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hartpury hotels

Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my son for three nights. Food was good and the staff very helpful. Fishing was excellent. Accomodation ok. Real value for money.
My son is 40 this year and i asked him what he wanted to do. Guess what...we have booked to go back in May this year. We have asked for an upgraded room. Looking forward to our trip and will be reporting back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoda9133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east riding
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

cant weigh up half these reviews,we go from Hull almost every year, yeah its not 5 star accom, but hey come on, everyones friendly ,cant do enough for you, the breakfast is A+++ we love it the fishings good to ,all looking forward to june this year

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulirvin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

After reading the mixed reviews, was pleasantly surprised.
A very warm welcome from staff.
Its a Ye Olde pub with a very nice dining room.
The menu had something for all our tastes.
Sunday lunch was plentyful and well presented.
Just one thing, gravy would be better served in a gravy boat.
My partner had Fish and Chips, the batter on the fish was very light and tasty,
and the chips were homemade.
Service was very prompt and the waitress friendly.
Will definateley go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186220Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

After a busy morning moving my daughter back up to hartpury college after christmas break we decided to treat ourselves to a well deserved lunch and instead of taking a right turn out of the college we decided to go left where further down the road we discovered the Watersmeet we decided to go into the restaurant for lunch we walked in and felt a bit un comfortable at first as everyone stares at you when they know you are a stranger but it didn't put us off when the manager approached and showed us to our table. We ordered two roast lamb dinners one roast beef and a steak and kidney pie from the lovely waitress that served us. The meals arrived we were amazed to see so much food on our plates there was 11 veg, meat and Yorkshire pudds, and the gravy was so tasty, we all enjoyed our meals so much that we ordered desert two lemon meringue pies, one banofee pie and 1 perfiterole all served with cream and ice cream this again was delicious can't fault the food or the service it was excellent and very reasonably priced it was £7.95 for sunday lunch and £3.95 for desert and we will certainly be calling again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

This review is based on two visits to the pub for food/drinks. We did not stay overnight.
One meal was Sunday lunch which was superb value; the pub was busy so it is obviously a place known to locals. The food was great with friendly service. Restaurant area was a bit cold.

The second meal was lunch yesterday which based on two starters of prawns and garlic mushrooms followed by massive burgers and mussels was excellent! Huge portions and friendly service again, sitting by a roaring log burner drinking great beer (Doombar) and white wine spritzers made this an experience we would want to repeat. We were the only three people in there, though. Would definitely eat here again.

Can't comment on the room reviews except to say we saw bathroom furniture being delivered so perhaps they're upgrading!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartpury
7.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,102 reviews
2.6 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
721 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#6 of 21 in Gloucester
588 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre

Property: Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Address: Gloucester Road, Hartpury, Gloucester GL19 3BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Hartpury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartpury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre Hartpury, Gloucestershire
Watersmeet Hotel Hartpury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing