We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartpury
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at the watersmeet for a week and i found the room to be clean and tidy the staff could not have been more helpful the food was to die for big helpings and the service was excellent,
I read the reviews on here before i arrived and I can only think that they are put on here by local competitor's and businesses trip adviser should check if they are genuine reviews
my advice is try a meal first and have a look a round

Room Tip: Phone first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 765ossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We found this pub on the way back from Malvern, we had to stop as we were very hungry and tired! We ordered two roast dinners and a lasange and it was beautiful! Fantastic portions and good value. The pub itself was comfy and welcoming! The only problem was both the ladies toilets were blocked (one flush was broken) other than that all good!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty Worsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

just got back from 2 night stay and would like to say DO NOT take any notice of recent reviews. gail, tony and dick made us very welcome. stayed in room 10 and it was lovely. breakfast was very filling, could not eat anything else all day but did manage a great steak in the evening. we initially went for the fishing. but to have a pub and great food it was heaven. we will certainly be going back very soon.

Room Tip: rooms 9 and 10 if you want to be right by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Brilliant 2 days or day and a half..25 Yes 25 carp in 36 hrs , great breakfast , for the guys .Crazy how some give a bad review ,Does as you say .does as it says on the tin nice to know your dog , never ate our bait this time lolcost of two , ducks fed left most of the bait alone Top time been before caught 2 carp but friendly owners

Room Tip: Who needs great rooms when your fishing they d what it says on the tin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having visited Watersmeet with friends for previous fishing breaks, I have always previously found it fantastic. It had everything we anglers could want and more - however, this is all about to change as Watersmeet have decided to allow access to non-residents ie day ticket anglers !!

Now, for those of you that know the place, it's difficult to get a peg at the best of times - especially when you have anglers leaving their tackle on their peg 24/7 - whether they fish it or not. That leaves you very little choice other than to do the same ! Additionally, with the far bank on the main pool getting increasingly overgrown and inaccessible (and with management unwilling to do anything about it) you essentially only have 3 sides access - take away the small, short piece of bank in the beer garden and you only have 2 sides to fish !!

Therefore, with the expected influx of day ticket anglers, things are going to get increasingly worse ! If I had paid my money for B&B and angling, and I couldn't get a peg where I had paid to fish, I would be EXTREMELY hacked off !! On that basis, I think it's time to look for alternative venues, especially when the management seem to have so little consideration for the fishing and the increasingly downward trends in standards (when did they last check the stock - cough, cough - the water quality, anglers with no unhooking mats etc...)

Don't say you haven't been warned !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Two adults and one child looking for a tasty Sunday roast after a busy day on the river. We arrived around 7.40pm and were the only people eating at that time. We ordered 3 roast dinners, roast pork for adults and beef for our son. I wish I had taken a photo when they arrived. The Yorkshire puds were black. Not slightly over cooked brown, but cremated black. I asked if they could change them but was told that was all that was left. My son ate some veg then popped some roast beef in his mouth - the face he pulled said it all (yuk). I tried some and it tasted the same as gone off meat smells. I called the bar man over to complain about the beef and again about the Yorkshires. There was no apology, he simply said he was eating the same in the kitchen and it was fine. The landlord was equally unapologetic. I wonder what the Labrador that was wandering in and out of the kitchen thought of the food? I complained for good reason and would have expected an apology, not a public dispute in front of the locals. They did credit the small meal but the damage was done !!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a great break at watersmeet after a five day fishing holiday with a friend. On arrival were greeted by friendly helpfully staff who soon had us checked in. Room was adequate but not luxurious, but all you could expect for the price. Very comfy clean bed, bathroom small but again fully functioning. True to say room could benefit from a little tlc and a slightly deeper clean but hey we're not paying for the Ritz! Gear unloaded and stashed back to the bar for lunch. Bar prices very reasonable and a sandwich to die for. The evening meals are out of this world,all freshly prepared from local ingredients where possible and huge potions too. Breakfast has to be seen to be believed, nicely cooked and the full English absolutely enormous. Nothing too much trouble if you wish to vary the menu. again nothing but praise for helpfully courteous staff. The fishing again was very good with the lakes containing a large head of carp and bream to specimen size with large bags to be had on most methods. The ponds are very mature tree lined and natural unlike the majority of sterile barren looking commercial fisheries these days and are only a very short step from the accommodation. All in all a very enjoyable stay at a pleasantly laid back venue. Would I come again? Definitely!!! Most of the other guests spoke with have been coming back for years. If you expect silver service a sauna and room service go elsewhere and pay for it- but if you want value for money and a friendly relaxing holiday with some good fishing thrown in then go to watersmeet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartpury
9.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
1,686 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
866 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Little Thatch  Hotel Gloucester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,184 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,354 reviews
7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre

Address: Gloucester Road, Hartpury, Gloucester GL19 3BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Hartpury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartpury
Price Range: £72 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre Hartpury, Gloucestershire
Watersmeet Hotel Hartpury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing