We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartpury
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total Disappointment”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

From the road building looked pretty and inviting. Closer inspection revealed that this was a facade. Meal started well but very slow to arrive. Cutlery not very clean. Meat of low quality. Food generally unremarkable but we all suffered the consequences.

Grounds seem rundown and tired, No attention to detail.

Avoid unless you are fishing fanatic with cast iron constitution.- Eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemhunterCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    32
    13
    16
    50
See reviews for
30
31
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

I stayed here for 1 night on the way down to Cornwall in a 'newly refurbished' room - what a dissapointment. The room was dirty, curtains were hanging off, the wardrobe nearly fell on us when we opened the door because the top of it wasn't fixed on, the toilet had blood on the seat, the water ran out when I had run the bath (and I mean ran out - it just stopped and you couldn't get any more out) There was a metal pipe sticking out of the floor about 2 inches that had just been left from the refurb. The only saving grace was the stunning views - I think we had the best room because we were overlooking the lakes and that could not be faulted.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillianth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hartpury hotels

darlaston
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Last stay here july 2007 and we are back in sep 2008 this will be the 4th time my husband and i have been here for a short break ,,, i know that the fishing can be on the slow side but this is the joy of fishing being able to chill out a relax and you can certainly do this here... Pub right by your peg what more cld u want on a sunny day.. food great brekfast great and the new rooms are a1.... staff friendly... i agree that the fishing can be slow at times, but this all adds to the relaxed charm of the place (my husband and i both match fish so we enjoy this more relaxed fishing and at the end of a day it is a hoilday) if you want to bag up 100ILb + in a day i wld say that this is not the place for you.. but if you want good food nice room and friendly folk with some quality carp chucked in all at a resonable price this is the place for you ( by the way this is the 1st place i caught a 20lld carp can you imagain how happy my hubbie was for me!!!!!)
can't wait to b chilling out there again.


su cooper

  • Liked — the new room are great
  • Disliked — an optinal lock up for tackle so it s not always in your room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koopiesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2007

I stayed here for 5 nights whilst on a course nearby. I found my room to be pleasant and comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and made my stay enjoyable. The food was excellent and they were happy to prepare vegetarian meals other than those on the menu, as I am a vegetarian. They are obviously in the process of improving the hotel and once complete I am sure it will be an even nicer place to stay.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nms1Northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Food was awful, fishing was as bad, nothing more to say.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — poor food and facilities
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank carphead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

Been going for the last 10 years.Very good place to stay if you like all types of fishing.We are going again on july 9th 2007 and cant wait to go.Yes the cabins are basic but thats all you need because you are out on the bank all day.Best time ive found to fish is first light 4am till breakfast 9.30am.you can get a good net of bream on the pole.I agree it is quiet fishing during the day if its sunny but thats the same as any other fishery.We tend to have a kip in the afternoon ready for the night time fishing till it gets dark also another great time on the main lake.The middle pool..(tench pool) i think is the best looking pool has some nice tench in there loose feed pellet and watch the feeding tench create a mass of bubbles..Great sight.So if you like sitting in peaceful suroundings i would say this place would suit you..Roll on july 9th

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yarm_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2007

Just got back from a three night stay, i can't understand the negative reviews that this venue has received, it is what it is an anglers hotel. that has everything that anglers could want, clean basic accomidation, a good bar, fantastic well priced food and fantastic fishing on three pools.

Tom and Gail, the owners were the perfect hosts, Tom giving invaluable advice on how each pool was fishing and advice on how to fish each pool.

There were four of us in total and we all caught some great fish all in were in good condition, on all days that we fished, roach and rudd ,to 1.5 lb, tench to 5 lb, bream to 4 lb, carp to 9 lb.

We were not targeting the carp but the people that were, had fish to 20 lb and we did not meet anyone who had a blank day.

Watersmeet is what it is, if you want to stay in a 5 star hotel dont go, but if you want all of the following,clean basic accomadation,good fishing, good food and a clean bed, book with confidence.

As an addition the two story accomadation block that is not fully completed yet did have some large well furnished double rooms, that I must say were far better than some rooms that I have stayed in some of the major hotel chains.

  • Liked — clean and comfy
  • Disliked — on the small size
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishingmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartpury
2.6 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
5.8 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre

Property: Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Address: Gloucester Road, Hartpury, Gloucester GL19 3BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Hartpury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartpury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre Hartpury, Gloucestershire
Watersmeet Hotel Hartpury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing