We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, Great fishing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartpury
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, Great fishing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2007

Just got back from a three night stay, i can't understand the negative reviews that this venue has received, it is what it is an anglers hotel. that has everything that anglers could want, clean basic accomidation, a good bar, fantastic well priced food and fantastic fishing on three pools.

Tom and Gail, the owners were the perfect hosts, Tom giving invaluable advice on how each pool was fishing and advice on how to fish each pool.

There were four of us in total and we all caught some great fish all in were in good condition, on all days that we fished, roach and rudd ,to 1.5 lb, tench to 5 lb, bream to 4 lb, carp to 9 lb.

We were not targeting the carp but the people that were, had fish to 20 lb and we did not meet anyone who had a blank day.

Watersmeet is what it is, if you want to stay in a 5 star hotel dont go, but if you want all of the following,clean basic accomadation,good fishing, good food and a clean bed, book with confidence.

As an addition the two story accomadation block that is not fully completed yet did have some large well furnished double rooms, that I must say were far better than some rooms that I have stayed in some of the major hotel chains.

  • Liked — clean and comfy
  • Disliked — on the small size
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishingmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    32
    12
    16
    50
See reviews for
30
30
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2007

After reading the reviews i was in two minds weather or not to cancel. Happily i didint. I went with a workmate for three days solid fishing. We checked in at lunch time and were fishing half an hour later after talking to the manager regarding local knowledge. Straight away the fish were biting, carp to 12lb for the first two days. Although the weather was poor the fish were still coming in, 6 x 15lb+ on the last day, a good mix of bream(5lb), tench(6lb) and carp were had. For the people that say the fishing is poor, i can only say, keep practicing, you must need it if you cant catch here. Some of the swims do need attention but are all fishable. The pub itself is all you need after a full days fishing serving good quality food and real ales, HAPPY FISHING.

  • Liked — The variety of fishing pools.
  • Disliked — Fishermen leaving their gear out all night to keep the best swims.
  • Tips/Secrets — Take plenty of fresh worms.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank julescheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAYNES, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2006

My partner went here for a long fishing weekend with three friends for the last weekend of July 2006. The accomodation was very basic and very shabby. The shower tray was broken and held together with duct tape and the cleaning left a lot to be desired. The food was unimpressive. Sunday lunch came with no roast potatoes but these somehow appeared with the fried breakfast the next morning! The quality of the ingredients was very poor and very cheap.

The fishing (ie, the main reason for going there) was not good. There were too many people allowed onto the lakes and everybody was casting over everyone else's lines. There were rats on the river bank and there were very few bites, (ie, completely understocked for the number of people fishing).

Overall, a very, very unimpressive experience

Helpful?
2 Thank fdeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hartpury hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2006

Was really looking forward to staying here for 2 nights with some mates and getting some fishing in.
As soon as we got there we saw rats running by the side of the hotel and saw many many more that day. The fishing was very hard could have been better stocked. The swims were the worst i have ever seen. One carp between 3 of us.
The room in the hotel was very poor damp and cold.
The worst thing Was in one of the draws was a porn mag (when was it last cleaned?)
Do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2004

A warm and friendly welcome,a high standard of accomodation,excellent quality food from bar meals to restraunt fare.Fishing in the three well stocked pools,is superb,not the easiest but well worth the effort,with some specimen Carp to 20lb+ and Tench averageing about 4-5lb,Bream 4lb+,Pike are also present in the main lake,all together make this a fishery for anglers of all abilities and styles.Well situated for access to motorways,with Gloucster and Cheltenham only a short drive away.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartpury
2.6 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
7.0 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre

Property: Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Address: Gloucester Road, Hartpury, Gloucester GL19 3BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Hartpury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartpury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre Hartpury, Gloucestershire
Watersmeet Hotel Hartpury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing