We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hatherley Manor(Down Hatherley)
US$130
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
The Station Hotel(Gloucester)
US$81
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$72
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Edward Hotel(Gloucester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Hotel(Gloucester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
29
34
13
17
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
34
13
17
53
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Stayed for 2 nights to go to a friends wedding. We were in the new block, the family room was not great and the main bed was not at all comfortable. There was a light right outside the door which blazed all night and inside the room all the lighting was very bright so it was either on or off depending on if you wanted to wake the children up. The restaurant was dirty and the dogs although friendly would have been preferable if they had stayed outside! There was also dog mess around in the mornings which is not pleasant. Location is great and does have the potential to be better but we won't be going back. Would look for a Room in a generic chain if we were stating in the area again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toastiepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We stayed here on a long fishing weekend friday to monday had a lovely weekend. We had a lovely room right over looking the lake on the balcony . Really busy when we arrived nearly every peg around the lakes were taken . The food was really nice , plenty of it especially the breakfasts they were huge . Everyone was really friendly and the 2 dogs were lovely. Will most certain be going back there . For a place with so many rooms for fishermen its brill , so relaxing .

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank coz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed with our kids for a friends' wedding. I was really disappointed with the standard of room we got for £150 for 2 nights. The room was in the old block, which was cramped and smelt musty (which transferred to all our clothes) with a double and 2 singles squeezed in, It was freezing cold all night, had a tv with dodgy reception, a tiny shower room and unbearably noisy pipes all night and a lumpy bed which made for a very poor night's sleep. For all the noise the pipes made, at least I was looking forward to a decent shower in the morning but alas the piddly water pressure and luke warm water (along with the various insect life that lived in the shower tray) made for the briefest of showers before I came shivering out (unheated bathroom). If it had been budget price then I wouldn't have felt so aggrieved, but I couldn't see the fairness in having to pay the same price for our room as our friends did for their family room in the new block which had loads more space, was warm and had a spacious bathroom with bath and shower. When we questioned this when paying, there was no concern or flexibility, just the response "it's a flat rate". If you're booking here my strong advice would be to check out beforehand whether your room is in the old or new block, and don't go ahead with staying in the old block unless you don't mind very basic accommodation.
On the plus side, the breakfast wasn't bad. But that was it. Don't ever want to go again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsapelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

From the road building looked pretty and inviting. Closer inspection revealed that this was a facade. Meal started well but very slow to arrive. Cutlery not very clean. Meat of low quality. Food generally unremarkable but we all suffered the consequences.

Grounds seem rundown and tired, No attention to detail.

Avoid unless you are fishing fanatic with cast iron constitution.- Eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemhunterCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

I stayed here for 1 night on the way down to Cornwall in a 'newly refurbished' room - what a dissapointment. The room was dirty, curtains were hanging off, the wardrobe nearly fell on us when we opened the door because the top of it wasn't fixed on, the toilet had blood on the seat, the water ran out when I had run the bath (and I mean ran out - it just stopped and you couldn't get any more out) There was a metal pipe sticking out of the floor about 2 inches that had just been left from the refurb. The only saving grace was the stunning views - I think we had the best room because we were overlooking the lakes and that could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillianth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews