We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value for money and a romantic break.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cheltenham Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlton Kings
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“excellent value for money and a romantic break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We booked a couple of days before we stayed here having found the hotel through Groupon. However we actually booked direct with the hotel and ended up with afternoon tea, dinner bed and breakfast,a premier room and a complimentary bottle of wine in the room for just £124.the room had great views and was pleasant. Nice comfy bed and pillows, slippers and dressing gown to venture to the pool/sauna etc. Only criticism would be that the plastic sink in the ensuite was unsightly because it had cracked and the finish was not wonderful throughout the bathroom,it was however clean and functional with nice toiletries.Afternoon tea was a treat with complimentary refills of tea/coffee or hot chocolate and a full cake stand of sandwiches,cakes and scones.(leave a good 4 hours between tea and your evening meal.)The three course evening meal went smoothly and the food was excellent, as was the buffet breakfast next day.The hotel was busy with a wedding but we didn't feel we were neglected at all.on the whole we had a fantastic break. we would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the back that have views over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RFamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear RFamilyof6

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. I was really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Cheltenham Park Hotel part of The Puma Hotels Collection in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    583
    375
    131
    78
See reviews for
205
757
36
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent couple of nights while visiting the Cotswolds and it is conveniently located just off A40 and within a couple of miles to the Cheltenham town centre and good 25 min drive to the Cotswolds. We were initially offered a corner room on the second floor but were promptly shifted when informed that it would be inconvenient with our 2 yr old son. The rooms were neat and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had a very pleasant stay during our two nights at the hotel. Would definitely recommend if you could get the room at a decent price.

Room Tip: No lifts and getting to some of the second floor rooms could be a bit tricky in the narrow staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear ArunG62

Many thanks for the great review and I agree the location is brilliant for visiting the Cotswolds. I was really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back at The Cheltenham Park Hotel part of The Puma Hotels Collection very soon.

Kindest Regards, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yate
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a 1 night stay in march 2013 the building looks nice and the reception was very clean and tidy. We got there early and our room wasn't ready so we had lunch in the bar. Reasonably priced only £8.95 for ham egg and chips (for a hotel anyway) the orange juice was very small for £1.50 but fair enough. Once eaten we had to wait 5 minutes to be served by reception only 1 person working and wasnt very efficicent we had 356 with was as far away as possible from anything else in the hotel. Room nice though view was rubbish.

We had a per booked massage so once in the room we went down to the spa. Staff were very nice and friendly once forms filled in it was time for the massage again very nice. My wife asked about a manicure which they squeezed in and only charged half price which was excellent. The swimming pool was large and sauna and steam room were also nice.

We opted for a evening meal rather than going out and too our delight it was superb food and staff quick and helpful. Although a couple a few tables away from us had just ate thir starters when we left and they were in before us and not happy. Hopefully that's a one off. Breakfast in the morning again very easy and very tasty. All in all a pleasant trip the reception staff poor but rest of the hotel good.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chrissy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear chrissy077

Many thanks for posting your review. I’m sorry you had a short wait at reception to check-in; however I was really pleased that you enjoyed the service, food, spa treatments and leisure facilities. Many of our rooms overlook the Lilley Brook golf course and Cotswold Hills, for future reference please ask for a premium room.

It’s great you thought the hotel was good, I do think the headline “Average Hotel” probably doesn’t quite reflect your overall review though and I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back at very soon.

Kindest Regards, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

It's always difficult to rate hotels when they are this quiet. However the fact that it was fully staffed is a good sign that the standard of service will be maintained. Food is excellent quality and good value with good service as well. Rooms are clean modern and comfortable, my room had a view over the "Lake" (I am not sure when a pond becomes a lake) but still a pleasant view.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Tim A

Great review, great rating, thank you for posting your comments!

We hope to see you back very soon at The Cheltenham Park Hotel part of The Puma Hotels Collection.

Kindest Regards, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We booked a room here last minute - excellent choice. We were stopping off en route to Cornwall, and arrived tired after a long drive. Hotel was great - Friendly staff, spacious bedroom, spotlessly clean everywhere, and lovely breakfast . Swimming pool is also very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We used a promotion - excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShonaD695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear ShonaD695

Super feedback, thank you for your review and recommending the hotel.

We hope to see you back at The Cheltenham Park Hotel part of The Puma Hotels Collection very soon.

Kindest Regards, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Firstly I am writing this review on Cheltenham Park Hotel. Not sure what previous reviewer is writing about St. Davids hotel 5 star? I am sure the Cheltenham is 4 star. I booked this hotel for a two night stay for two people on a daily mail offer which included two breakfasts and two dinners with bottle of house wine on both nights. Our room was ready even though we had arrived slightly early. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet down quite a long corridor, but we did not mind this at all. We had the full cream tea in the bar when we arrived, perhaps in hindsight we should have pre-booked this as the service was quite slow with only one member of staff behind the bar but it was a lovely ambience and we were not in a hurry. Breakfast was self service but very good and set you up for the day ahead. Three course dinner was absolutely delicious. I do agree the ladies changing room for the pool was in need of a mop up of the water but someone did come in to do this as I was getting dressed. The pool was fine and in fact we were the only two in it. We also made use of the gym. We personally had a lovely two night stay, the hotel was central for visiting Cheltenham, Cotswolds etc. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and attentive and so long as management or should I say "Puma" do not let these slip and keep up decorative order then this will continue to be a lovely hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: The front of the building faced the hotel car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayrepEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear holidayrepEngland

Many thanks for this excellent review, such positive feedback is a great source of encouragement to all the team here and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you back very soon at The Cheltenham Park Hotel part of The Puma Hotels Collection.

Kindest Regards, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here mid week last week as a family group of 6.
The bedrooms are large, clean and well furnished although a little dated. Bathroom a bit tired, cracks and chips on bath and basin. Beds comfortable, good pillows.
All staff we encountered were very polite and helpful, one or two even remembered our name and addressed us accordingly throughout our stay - very impressive.
Standard of food at lunch, dinner and breakfast very high.
One and only big downside sadly is the fitness centre, pool has tiles missing and is generally neglected, dreadful smell in ladies changing rooms which are dark, dank and dingy, mouldy showers. Such a shame for this lovely hotel. On the whole a good value, relaxing break.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank peterl6004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear peterl6004

Thank you for posting your review for the Cheltenham Park Hotel, part of the Puma Hotels Collection. I was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be polite and helpful.

We had the lighting changed in the ladies changing rooms to adhere to our Green Policy, however I was assured that the level of lighting would not be affected, this was not the case and this issue has now been rectified. The cleaning schedule has also been addressed and the Head Housekeeper and her team are now responsible for this area, I am confident there will be an immediate improvement in the cleanliness levels. please accept my due apologies.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Cheltenham Park Hotel.

Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
3.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
15.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
16.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Park Hotel

Property: The Cheltenham Park Hotel
Address: Cirencester Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL53 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely four-star Georgian manor house, Cheltenham Park Hotel has 148 bedrooms, including 70 premium rooms, and parking for 170 cars. Set in spacious landscaped grounds, complete with lake, overlooking Lilleybrook Golf Course, it’s just two miles from the centre of Cheltenham, with its historic promenade and impressive Regency architecture. On the edge of the beautiful Cotswolds, it’s an ideal base for walking and Cheltenham Racecourse and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt are also close by. Relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room before dining on lovingly-prepared local ingredients in the 2 AA Rosette Lakeside Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Cheltenham Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Charlton Kings
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Charlton Kings Barcelo
The Cheltenham Park Hotel Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing