We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cheltenham Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlton Kings
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the easter bank holiday weekend after seeing the hotel advertised on Groupon. We ended up getting a much better deal by contacting the hotel direct. The hotel is nice, and a big positive is it's surroundings. Not too far out of Cheltenham city centre which can be reachable in about a 10 minute drive, and accessible to many of the National Trust properties nearby. We booked the hotel mainly as we wanted to refresh ourselves and take advantage of the spa facilities. Unfortunatelty, this was the biggest let down for us. The spa consisted of a small (but nice enough well lit gym with some great equipment), a couple of beauty rooms, a smallish pool, Jacuzzi and Sauna. The pool area was quite busy and looked a little worn out. Not quite as relaxing as we would expect a spa in a 4 star, we didn't use the spa, apart from a couple of times spent in the gym. If you are looking for a spa break then you might be disappointed. On the plus side, the service was fantastic. The resturant staff were very polite, the food was very nice and very well presented, and the resturant manager (can't remember his name) greeted us with a smile each morning/evening. The lunch menu, however, is limited and we found quite expensive - £7 for a sandwich. We stayed in a premium double room which was quite a walk from the main reception area and might be an issue for someone hard of walking. Saying that, our room was very nice, a good size and we had a nice view out to the hotel grounds. Bed was comfy too! In our opinion, it was a nice stay, although it is a shame that the spa really wasn't what we expected for a 4 star hotel, it is more an acceptable 3 star. Would we recommend? Yes, but not if you are looking for a 'luxury' spa break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank danpbingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear danpbingham
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to note how much you enjoyed your stay in particular the service, dinner and hotel setting. I’m sorry that spa didn’t quite meet with your expectations in terms of its size however we do have a great team who offer an excellent range of treatments which I’m sure wouldn’t disappoint. They do get booked up very quickly so anyone visiting should book in advance. We hope to welcome you back to the Cheltenham Park Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    583
    375
    131
    78
See reviews for
205
757
36
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel over the Easter break and celebrating a birthday as well. Rooms were good size, Breakfast was limited but good. Leisure facilities were small but good. Staff welcoming and very helpful

BUT do not book Afternoon Tea

On 20 April 2014, we had booked for the special Afternoon Tea which has been publicised in the hotel directory. To our disappointment, this was the worst experience we have had. We had some friends who joined us from London and the impression it gave was appalling.

1) We had to wait about 30 minutes before the staff could think about putting the tables together to sit us down. In the end, we ended up moving the tables ourselves which I don’t consider to be professional in any manner.

2) It took someone over 36 minutes to come and ask us what tea/coffee we would like to have and then took almost 20 minutes to serve the refreshments. Again a further disappointment. Once the first round of tea/ coffee was served, there was no further offer for refreshments. When asked if they could serve Capuccino – the waiter had to go and ask someone inside to confirm if they do or not. Very unprofessional.

3) There were other guests who brought pets in the room where food was served. For hygienic reasons, I am sure pets are not allowed in the room where food is served as the food can have hair in the food.

4) When the cake and sandwiches trays were eventually brought in, (about 25 minutes later), I asked for some crisps/nacho chips to be served with it. This came but about 15 minutes later once all the sandwiches had been eaten and once we had almost finished the food. It is a disgrace that you can even advertise this afternoon tea experience for the price when you cannot even deliver any of the food in time.

5) We had two kids with us. We ordered French fries for them which I was shocked at the time it took to cook it. We almost thought that they had gone out to buy them. The French fries buckets arrived almost 42 minutes after it was ordered. The kids were starving and we felt bad as we were having our afternoon tea when the kids could not even have anything,. We eventually shared the tray of sandwiches which meant that we did not have enough.

By this time we were exhausted with the lack of professionalism and the service we were given. It was a disappointment for myself who was celebrating a birthday on this day, had friends over and then to be treated worse than if I had taken them to a local Cafe.

The price for the afternoon tea did not justify the amount being charged.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vish m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear vish m
Thank you for your review and I was delighted that you thought the staff were welcoming and very helpful. I was very sorry that you had such a poor experience with the afternoon tea and can assure you that this isn’t the norm. Due to staff illness and being unable to cover them at such short notice we were not able to offer you the service expected. Please accept my sincere apologies and do contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked an Easter break through a email sent by puma. The hotel facade and reception are very impressive, as we arrived before check in time we enjoyed a very good lunch in the clock tower public house which is in the grounds of the hotel.

Our room was large, spacious, light and clean it did over look the car park which was not a problem odd numbered rooms overlook the golf course and lake, even numbers the car park.

Our package was bed breakfast both days dinner the first evening with a bottle of wine but it also came with an afternoon tea on the second day which was absolutely great, large selection of sandwiches, scones, cream, jam, cakes and trifles.

Re the evening meal there is a choice, but you can upgrade to the a la carte menu, also for extra payment change the wine.
The hotel does have spa facilities, unfortunately as I did not book before arriving the hotel spa and beauty were fully booked when I enquired.
The hotel has a large free car park, there is a bus every half hour into cheltenham 3.50 for the day or 5.00 if you want to go to Gloucester, if you do not want to drive.
From the hotel it is very easy to access Bath, Cirencester, and the Cotswolds.
The staff were very helpful re queries and access to taxis. We wished we had gone for longer.
Would we go again, probably, but would also like to try other hotels in the chain

Room Tip: For a lake view ask for an odd numbered room, also if you require beauty or spa treatments book befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear kateshill
Thank you for this great review. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Cheltenham Park Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

What a lovely hotel. Staff were very pleasant, especially in the Restaurant. Nothing too much trouble. It is situated near to the Cotswolds and we will certainly return. The hotel was clean and the bedroom adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PicklesGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear PicklesGwent
Thank you for this excellent feedback and rating us 5 out of 5. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Cheltenham Park Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I had a short break at this hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The hotel is warm and welcoming. The setting is pleasant and it was good to watch the deer and pheasants wandering past when we were having dinner. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to explore the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Jim R
Thank you for this excellent feedback and rating us 5 out of 5. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Cheltenham Park Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a three night stay and thought it was very good value. We had a room over looking the golf course which very nice. Décor of the rooms and bathrooms needs some up-dating but overall we would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Des S
Thank you for this great review and recommending the hotel to others. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Cheltenham Park Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindenberg i.A.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay for 2 Nights as an easter break was overall nice and relaxing. Its a Short drive from the lovely town center surroundings quiet and peaceful.
Welcome at the reception relatively friendly, Management might want to have a word with Nicola B to loose the attitude she isnt making the guests feel welcome at all! all others were nice.

As recommendation: request a room that is NOT next to a couple with a Kid especially if you are trying to relax during the Day and Lie in past 7.30am, not the Hotels fault however annoyed at the very thin Walls/connecting door (as i think it is intended to be a connected room). Also book spa Treatments in advance.

Most diapointing was the Restaurant especially because I had quite high expectations. Entering it looks very canteen like no tablecloths and for the portion size quite overpriced. Tomato and basil soup had no basil, pork was dry, side of mash had a "hard" Edge indikating it probably sat on the pass for 15min - when ordering i had asked to have a change in sides (gratain instead of veg and fondant) that didnt happen although apparently she wrote it down and said no problem. Trepanade was really nice though definatly try that fisch good as well!
Coffee was Serverd without saucer (!!!why would you even allow this?) and waiters touched not only the top of the Cup but put their finger inside the Cup! I understand it is easter and you might not have enough trained Staff but please teach them the Basics. I was apaled but could see they werent trained.
We had prosecco as aperitif before ordering food, the empty glasses were still on the table when we paid- waiters constantly walked empty handed did really not understand this. I don't blame the staff but rather think it's just lazy management or total lack of.
Personal was friendly and i believe trying very hard but just very inexperienced, shame really.
Going to the bar in the evening the tables could have done with a quick wipe, also there was absolutely no ambiance due to a really quiet elevator music, wine and drinks very nice though!

Afternoon tea in the Bar was great and athmosphere Pleasant! Bar staff friendly.

On Arrival Friday we were informed there are no more spa treatments available until monday this was really upsetting as it was supposed to be a spa break and we had to search the town for another place to have treatments would have been nice to at least at time of booking be informed that there are limited treatments available - we could have booked in advance or looked for another place as there is an abundance of spa hotels in the uk.

Spa and pool ok but for my liking a bit to dirty/cloudy especially as there was a ton of chlorine in it. Sauna and steam room nice (door could be fixed).
Please also tell people beforehand they need a 1£ coin for the lockers.

Breakfast was good nice selection of food. We went relatively late but about 70% of the tables were full of dirty dishes. Second Day was better more staff and cleaner dining room. I would have expected something eastery due to it beeing eastersunday, but really cant Complain about breakfast, was allright.

Premium rooms are nice relatively clean, bed really comfortable! Duvet cover was ripped could easily be fixed. Spiderwebs on the inside on the window could be cleaned painting on the wall has moved inside the frame could be quickly straightened. TV ok some sound issues (goes loud and quiet randomly) hair dryer in room not powerful so if you have long hair take your own, iron and kettle in room great idea!

At checkout we saw the Bill that was higher then expected. I had Booked 2nights with groupon for 119&139£ Each night icluding 50£ Per night towards spa or food, reception was 100% sure this is just for the First Night. After paying we checked again found the fineprint and had to go back. We were reimbursed the Money but it just seemed sneekey, especially as the do offer rooms for 75£ and we have Overall still Paid more then that.

Overall an ok stay but some things need sorting out to make guests come back. We are very relaxed though! thank you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbird11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear travelbird11
Thank you for your comprehensive feedback. I was pleased that you left the hotel very relaxed and enjoyed many aspects of your stay. I have noted your comments on ways we can improve the service and will be discussing them with the team to implement any changes that we can. I was sorry that we were unable to accommodate your spa treatments until Monday morning, we do get very busy and request that all treatments are booked in advance of your stay. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
3.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
15.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
16.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Park Hotel

Property: The Cheltenham Park Hotel
Address: Cirencester Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL53 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely four-star Georgian manor house, Cheltenham Park Hotel has 148 bedrooms, including 70 premium rooms, and parking for 170 cars. Set in spacious landscaped grounds, complete with lake, overlooking Lilleybrook Golf Course, it’s just two miles from the centre of Cheltenham, with its historic promenade and impressive Regency architecture. On the edge of the beautiful Cotswolds, it’s an ideal base for walking and Cheltenham Racecourse and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt are also close by. Relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room before dining on lovingly-prepared local ingredients in the 2 AA Rosette Lakeside Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp and Hotelopia so you can book your The Cheltenham Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Charlton Kings
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Charlton Kings Barcelo
The Cheltenham Park Hotel Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing