We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely good value for money weekend break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cheltenham Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlton Kings
Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Extremely good value for money weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just come back from a thoroughly relaxing and extremely good value weekend break with some girlfriends. Was fearing the worst, from some other reviews, that the hotel might be jaded. I certainly didn't find that to be the case. Ok, its not tip top 5 star, but for the prize we paid you wouldn't expect it to be. Breakfast was extremely tasty and buffet style. Evening meal included in the deal was very good and the rooms were comfortable and had everything you needed. The weather this weekend has been very warm and as a result our rooms, when we arrived were unbearably warm (like a Sauna, in fact) but this was remedied by a desk top fan and the window open to full capacity. Friends said that the pool at the hotel was lovely. Service was good and the bartender deserves a special mention as he was particularly helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble - thank you. Would return at the drop of a hat at the price we paid for the weekend which was just over £113 for two nights and included breakfast both mornings and three course evening meal on the first night! Hotel very well situated for Cotswold touring and Cheltenham.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumsnetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Mumsnetter
Thank you for this excellent review. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay in particular the service, breakfast and evening meal. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Cheltenham Park very soon.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    583
    375
    131
    78
See reviews for
205
757
36
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Really good value for nights stay plus 3 course meal & cooked buffet breakfast. Spa a let down- one hour treatment but staff giggling to each other, yawning throughout seemed quite unprofessional & no explanation when challenged on it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear AnnaJT
Thank you for your review and I was really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I was concerned with your comments regarding the team in the spa and this has been addressed with them. It is most unusual as we do get some great feedback about them however I do agree this was unprofessional and not the standard we accept. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Cheltenham Park very soon.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place is a very good place to stay as a base for touring Cotswolds.

The hotel has a really nice restaurant/breakfast room with views of the lovely grounds. The bar is a really nice big room full of character.

Staffing is superb- there are lots of staff- only area a bit light on staff is the bar (but not an issue). staff are very friendly.

Room a tiny bit dated, but good, clean, comfy bed and lovely views over the grounds/lake at the back.

attached to the hotel there is a cheap decent pub, its worth going there too.

The pool is nice.
We really like this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danbertNobacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear saurusWigan
Thank you for this excellent feedback. I was really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here over the Bank Holiday with an organised group of approx. 60 people all arriving at different times on the Friday and Saturday. On our arrival we were checked in very quickly by friendly staff. The check in time of 3pm is rather late we think and is obviously a reflection on the understaffing which became apparent later in the lounge bar. It is a large hotel but check in at 3 and out at 11means that more staff should be employed to reduce the 4 hour need to go through all of the rooms. A check in of say,1pm is much more usual and civilised. The Premier room we booked was good.It was spacious, clean and included a trouser press and full size iron and board. Unlike some other reviews we found the décor pleasant. A little low on toiletries and one problem in the bathroom for someone you washes hair every morning - no shower hose, only a fixed head. A small complaint but important to some! We slept well with some noise from corridor outside and above but nothing too bad. The Premier room additions were not supplied until requested - water, robes and slippers. Our room was on the ground floor and the floor to ceiling windows looking out onto a sunny lawn were delightful; however (this title is Ups and Downs!) wedding photographs were being taken on said lawn near to our window which made us feel like staying away from the window for fear of intruding! All of the staff we found to be very helpful and friendly. We were impressed by the Irish chap Brendan, single handedly running the lounge bar on a busy Saturday afternoon. At one point the queue was 6 deep. Another case of under staffing. We ate in The Royal Suite with our group and were catered for separately to the main restaurant so can not comment on that. We do understand that they were serving a large group but the food coming out was inconsistent. My cauliflower was inedible as so undercooked, plate next to me was perfect, mash was lovely, Pork very fatty. Everyone agreed on that. The cheese board would not feed 2 mice let alone a table of 8. We kept expecting more to appear. I am being fair so want to add that the Carrot and Coriander soup was exceptional! We had breakfast in our room on Sunday morning which was basic but nice although £5 per person addition for the pleasure seems a little steep. The experience overall was enjoyable and the location is stunning but too many Ups and Downs dear Cheltenham Park Hotel. Ate in the nearby 'Clock Tower' the following evening - highly recommended.

Room Tip: This is a sprawling hotel. Beware the long corridors, numerous sets of stairs and general long trek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Lynne C
Thank you for this feedback. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and in particular the room, the friendly and helpful staff and the service you received from Brendan. I note your comments regarding the check-in times and we do endeavour to check in as soon as rooms become available. We’re not however short staffed as you suggest and it is quite normal in hotels to have a check-in time from between 2pm and 4pm. This allows the staff to not only clean the rooms but also to be check them by a supervisor before they are occupied.
I have noted your comments regarding the evening meal and I’m sorry it wasn’t to your satisfaction. Its surprising that the cauliflower wasn’t cooked but was on the plate next to you as they are all cooked together for the same length of time. The pork was a steak which we serve with the fat on as we feel this adds to the flavour. I’m sorry that we didn’t serve enough cheese and we will certainly look to change this for the future however the team would have gladly served more if requested. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a really enjoyable stay here for our anniversary everything we needed and credit to the staff as they really were great. Great location and would def come back again and recommend. The weather wasn't great but still really enjoyed our day/night
A+++++++++

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear clare a
Many thanks for this great feedback and recommending the hotel to others. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Cheltenham Park Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I have just enjoyed an amazing weekend here and reading some of the negative reviews surprised me as this was my fourth stay here and its always lovely. where to start.....from the friendly helpful reception staff to our beautiful room 216. i am vegetarian and both my evening meals were so tasty, pea and bajee soup and the paneer dish were so delicious. compliments to the chef. all staff there were so friendly and happy to help ,it was busy yet we didnt have to wait. the lovely man who seemed to be running the whole show in the restaurant works so hard.Thank you to samantha for my treatments and an excellent massage. I will been staying here again soon. I could not fault it so thank you everyone at the hotel for making it so special.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear shirty58
Thank you for this excellent feedback and rating us 5 out of 5. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay for the fourth time and were pleased with the vegetarian dishes. We recently changed our menu to incorporate more choisce for vegetairans and we have received some great feedback so far. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Cheltenham Park Hotel for a fifth time.
Kind regards
Stephen Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My Husband and I went here to have a drink mid afternoon on 11th May. We ordered a cappuccino and a soft drink and later asked for some nuts from the bar in the lounge.

Firstly the decor is dire, the place needs a massive makeover. The shabby state that the hotel and windows, doors etc are in just says everything about the place. When asking if they had any nuts, I was strangely looked at, and therefor assumed they were free. We later went to pay our bill only to be charged for the nuts, that were presented loosely in a dish, but the total amount due was an amazing £9.95 the cost of these items were astounding for such a poor hotel. We would not visit there again unless it was closed down and re opened after a major refurbishment! No atmosphere at all, background music dire as were the look of the cakes for the afternoon tea that was being served. Really shoking that it has managed to hold on to 4 start, 2 at best should be advertised.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flooshant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at The Cheltenham Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Flooshant
Thank you for your feedback and I was sorry that you didn’t like the décor or atmosphere in the hotel. We do get a lot of positive feedback regarding the bar and it goes to show how subjective this is. I am also sorry you won’t be returning in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlton Kings hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
3.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
15.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
16.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Park Hotel

Property: The Cheltenham Park Hotel
Address: Cirencester Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL53 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely four-star Georgian manor house, Cheltenham Park Hotel has 148 bedrooms, including 70 premium rooms, and parking for 170 cars. Set in spacious landscaped grounds, complete with lake, overlooking Lilleybrook Golf Course, it’s just two miles from the centre of Cheltenham, with its historic promenade and impressive Regency architecture. On the edge of the beautiful Cotswolds, it’s an ideal base for walking and Cheltenham Racecourse and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt are also close by. Relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room before dining on lovingly-prepared local ingredients in the 2 AA Rosette Lakeside Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and TravelUp so you can book your The Cheltenham Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Charlton Kings
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Charlton Kings Barcelo
The Cheltenham Park Hotel Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing