We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back”
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Lovely b+b which felt more like small hotel - best of both. Didn't feel like you were in someone's home, but still attentive service.
Room a little on the small side, but clean and with comfortable bed . Ensuite shower room compact, but again clean and tidy.
Were provided promptly with iron and board when requested.
Lovely breakfast, plenty of fruit, juice, cereals etc. Good cooked, with choice of eggs and option to drop items.
Would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twyfordfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

We needed somewhere to stay for two nights in order to attend a family funeral and having now returned home, I felt it important to leave a review. Wayne and Melissa were incredibly attentive hosts ensuring that our needs were met at all times. With an initial problem with the room, which was solved very quickly we settled into Hilden Lodge and felt very welcomed. Wayne and Melissa create a lovely atmostphere, with Melissa's fantastic homecooking being the particular highlight. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Denman Suite is perfect for a family of two adults, two children. Lovely little patio area outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheekyBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed for a post Christmas break with my partner and enjoyed it. To begin with, I was feeling a little apprehensive as I had booked over the phone and made the specific request that my partner should not know the cost of the room, as it was a surprise and was told I could pay them during my stay, I also had email confirmation. Anyway, when I got there I was met by the owner who said that wasn't the case and then blurted out how much it was. Off course this wasn't his fault as they've seem to be some miscommunication.
After that episode we were taken to our room and the room was clean and tidy but somewhat small. The cooked brekfast was excellent and the host couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. This is a very good base for exploring the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I have spent over 4 months in a number of rooms at Hilden Lodge. I would like to thank Garry and Dominique for always been friendly, helpful and willing to assist. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay for either a short or long perid of time. I particularly enjoyed the cooked breakfast each morning - although I'm suffering on the waist line! Thank you all very much.

Room Tip: I stayed in various rooms and found them all comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Hilden Lodge whilst exploring Cheltenham.

What a perfect B & B. The breakfasts were delicious, the rooms perfect and Garry & Dominique were extremely friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile.

Thank you for everything. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkSunshine20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

A Great little find !!!....Stunning.......Spotless.....
We stayed in room 12 (ground floor front) we did panic due to the road but with no need,it was ok.lve seen people comment about the parking but if you can drive it's fine !!
We met Garry & Dominique in the morning and found them very helpful and a lovely couple(even remembered my call when l booked),and served up a Fab breakfast.
NB...Sorry Garry...Aberdeen is the Heliport......Inverness is the Bridge .
Many Thanks
Dave & Annie.

Room Tip: Great pub that does food down the road The Langton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavyJonesDevonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The Hilden Lodge was possibly the best B & B we stayed in while we were touring England. We stayed there late September and found the triple room upstairs spacious, very clean and tastefully appointed. The ensuite bathroom was also spacious and clean with toiletries provided. I would recommend to anyone with husband and 17 year old son in tow to book the triple room. My sister who was travelling with us was very pleased with her room located on the ground floor which had a double bed and ensuite. I can only confirm what others have said about Garry and Monique our hosts were so obliging, friendly and nothing was to much trouble-they recommended a lovely local pub to eat -and their brekkys were delicious. A big thumbs up from 4 Aussies!

Room Tip: Our upstairs triple room faced the road but the noise level was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katrontompam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
354 reviews
1.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
567 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality
1.7 mi away
The Cheltenham Townhouse
The Cheltenham Townhouse
#6 of 69 in Cheltenham
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range: £75 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing