We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel! We stayed here for 2 nights when we were in the area for a friend's wedding. The room and location were spot on for what we were looking for and the breakfast was fab! Particularly enjoyed the locally made marmalade. Wayne was really helpful- advising us on the local pubs, taxis etc. when I stupidly left my favourite boots in the hotel, he packaged them up and sent them back- amazing service! Thank you!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    57
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
92
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Five star hotel ,Wayne was very helpful made the one night break excellent and could not do enough to help us , the room was very clean with excellent decor with flat screen television, The on ensuite was compact and i am large lad but it was okay for me ,and the food was very good with local produce and cook to order.we would use again if up that way.

Room Tip: ground floor large twin at the front very good but their is slight traffic noise at night if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank big0ne1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Guest,

All our rooms are now double glazed, so the traffic noise is near zero, we would like to thank you for your constructive comment that has helped us focus where to improve our rooms.

We hope to see you again, then you can see and hear the difference yourself.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Wayne Fenton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Hilden Lodge on a golfing break. I have to say that Wayne (manager) was really attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and there was ample supply of beverages and water in the room. The food that was served up was excellent. The breakfast was cooked to order and the Gloucestershire Old Spot sausages made the full English breakfast stand out. For those that wanted non cooked breakfast there was an extensive range of cereals but again there was a shining element in the platter of fresh fruit available.

What has to be the hidden gem is eating at Hilden Lodge in the evening.Melissa (joint manager) is an amazing cook/chef. We opted to eat in for two of the evenings and were not disappointed. Again, everything was cooked to order and so attractively presented. It all tasted good too. Added to this, it was a pleasant 25 minute walk into the town centre.We would most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelBelSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Lovely b+b which felt more like small hotel - best of both. Didn't feel like you were in someone's home, but still attentive service.
Room a little on the small side, but clean and with comfortable bed . Ensuite shower room compact, but again clean and tidy.
Were provided promptly with iron and board when requested.
Lovely breakfast, plenty of fruit, juice, cereals etc. Good cooked, with choice of eggs and option to drop items.
Would come back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twyfordfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We needed somewhere to stay for two nights in order to attend a family funeral and having now returned home, I felt it important to leave a review. Wayne and Melissa were incredibly attentive hosts ensuring that our needs were met at all times. With an initial problem with the room, which was solved very quickly we settled into Hilden Lodge and felt very welcomed. Wayne and Melissa create a lovely atmostphere, with Melissa's fantastic homecooking being the particular highlight. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Denman Suite is perfect for a family of two adults, two children. Lovely little patio area outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekyBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed for a post Christmas break with my partner and enjoyed it. To begin with, I was feeling a little apprehensive as I had booked over the phone and made the specific request that my partner should not know the cost of the room, as it was a surprise and was told I could pay them during my stay, I also had email confirmation. Anyway, when I got there I was met by the owner who said that wasn't the case and then blurted out how much it was. Off course this wasn't his fault as they've seem to be some miscommunication.
After that episode we were taken to our room and the room was clean and tidy but somewhat small. The cooked brekfast was excellent and the host couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. This is a very good base for exploring the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I have spent over 4 months in a number of rooms at Hilden Lodge. I would like to thank Garry and Dominique for always been friendly, helpful and willing to assist. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay for either a short or long perid of time. I particularly enjoyed the cooked breakfast each morning - although I'm suffering on the waist line! Thank you all very much.

Room Tip: I stayed in various rooms and found them all comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charlton Kings Hotel
Charlton Kings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cheltenham Townhouse
The Cheltenham Townhouse
#8 of 71 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Property: Hilden Lodge
Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing