We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations not met”
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expectations not met”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Had stayed at this hotel before and had an okay time, so I was looking forward to a second visit and checking in, especially after a 4 hour drive in grim weather.

However, the front door was locked on arrival at 8pm and the bell didn't work because the batteries had been put in the wrong way round - when I did get let in I filled in the arrival document and immediately asked if I was going to be eating. Just tell me the restaurant is serving until 9:30 should I like to dine would be so much nicer. I did have dinner at the hotel, but I could tell I was an inconvenience, as the only one in the restaurant. It was horribly rushed and I felt guilty for keeping the chef working. Having the breakfast buffet set up and on show the previous evening is just weird.

The room was cramped and the bathroom tiny - I will give the hotel another go just to see if it gets better. The room rate at £50 is just about acceptable for this level of hotel

I do prefer to write positive reviews, so a real shame I can't do this for the Hilden Lodge

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadarReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us.

As you can appreciate things do go wrong and the problem with the bell has been fixed, however you were apologised to when you came in.

As you may recall from your previous stay our restaurant is open till 9pm and we apologise if you felt inconvenienced I have never rushed anyone, plus I always ask whether guest would like to dine, maybe I am being too efficient to clear your table so you can work, however whether 1 or many eat, all are welcome, that same evening we had a meal prepared for someone arriving at 10pm, so we do go out of our way at times.
With regards to your meal we did go out of our way which you did not mention as we served you a free desert as you did not realise our Ham served was Gammon.
Our breakfast buffet is always laid out this was the case in your last trip, our tables were set for evening service and then reset after 9pm for breakfast.

Our rooms come in all shapes and sizes and some are smaller or larger, in your last stay you had a standard double and on your recent stay a large king size, we will gladly choose a larger room (if available) for your next stay, should you wish to visit us again. Our prices are reflective of the time of year and a corporate rate was given to you as a regular stayer.

We do hope you stay with us again and appreciate having the opportunity to reply to your comments.

Regards

Wayne Fenton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    59
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
99
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England
Level Contributor
209 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I had to visit Cheltenham at short notice, and a quick look on the L***Rooms site showed Hilden Lodge as a pleasant looking hostelry,and with good reviews, so I made a last minute booking direct with Hilden Lodge.

On the ( slightly ) negative side... a couple of hiccups over my bill, which did get sorted by the time I was leaving, and unless you get here EARLY!!.. you could end up, as I did, having to walk 400 yards or so from the nearest parking, not fun in snowy, slushy conditions.

I had a double room for single occupancy at a very fair £50 including breakfast. I asked for a quiet room, and the gentleman made sure that's what I got, so Thank You! While the room wasn't particularly spacious, it sufficed, the decor was very pleasant and it was immaculately clean, absolutely spotless to be honest.

I ate dinner here.. not a wide menu, but very tasty. Breakfast was EXCEPTIONAL! Wide range of cereals etc, a HUGE full English which kept me going until late afternoon, and delicious brown toast. A nice touch was that they serve tea to you in a teapot, rather than the ubiquitous urn or coffee / tea machine. A definite 10/10 then.

I understand Hilden is a family run enterprise, if so all credit to them. Their guest house offered exceptional friendliness and old world courtesy and customer service.

I'd certainly stay here again without hesitation...I'll just make sure it's either not snowing or I get there early for on site parking :-).

Room Tip: Simple... just ask for a quiet room, and they oblige. I had the " Golden Miller " double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeC-R23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and positive comments and your constructive ones also, which we take all comments very seriously.

We apologise about the mix up with your bill glad we got it sorted. With regards to the parking again we apologise however we do have a small car park able to take about 6/7 cars (if parked ok) and on street parking here is safe and free next to the hotel. unfortunately the snow does not help at all.

Since your stay ALL our rooms have now been fitted with Double Glazed units, so the road noise is near no longer an issue we hope, but even quieter rooms are available Rooms 9 & 10 are best if prefered.

Again thank you for the time taken to review our property and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Wayne Fenton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I am a single female who stayed in this B&B for an autumn weekend. My room was nice and clean with rather modern furnishings, two single beds and a small bathroom with a shower. My rate included breakfast, which was the best part of this B&B-- a good variety of warm breakfast offerings with fresh fruit, yogurt and juices. The man at the desk was very helpful and friendly as well. One warning: the address number seems like it should be right in Charlton Kings, but it is quite a bit further out of town. The numbers are vastly different on each side of the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

didnt have dinner or breakfast but all seemed nice and relaxed , room a bit small but ok, needs decent soundproof double glazing as road noise very loud plus be better if bed was an actual double not two single mattresses. so ok all in all but nothing amazing

Room Tip: probably avoid road side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhidian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Guest,

All our rooms are now double glazed, so the traffic noise is near zero, we would like to thank you for your constructive comment that has helped us focus where to improve our rooms.

We hope to see you again, then you can see and hear the difference yourself.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Wayne Fenton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

I booked a room at the Hilden Lodge for me and my girlfriend as it was her 30th birthday the week before. I had always wanted to visit the Cotswolds so I saw this as a great opportunity to go there.

We were both looking forward to it for a while and I have to say that we both really enjoyed it.

The hotel is very nice and clean and was 20 mins walk to the busy town centre. Also we had a great breakfast on both mornings.

The manager Wayne was a really nice guy who took time out to talk to us.

I would go there again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGuy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My wife & I stayed here for a night on a special offer dinner, bed & breakfast rate. They don't particularly advertise their dinners here, but I'd highly recommend them - we were the only ones eating there, which seemed a shame, but we had wonderful service and great food at a bargain rate. The curry was a little hotter than I'd have liked (I asked for it to be 'medium'), so I'd recommend being on the cautious side when choosing how hot to have that.

The breakfast was equally great, and our room was clean, well-maintained and spacious. We've been merrily recommending Hilden Lodge to all our friends since, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Decent sized room with good furnishings. The level of cleanliness was good. Despite the location on a busy road the room was quiet. The breakfast was good; nice variety of cooked and fresh fruit and cereals. The free wifi was very fast; it seemed like the fastest I have ever experienced while traveling. Staff are very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Upper floor and away from London Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlpinePro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Guest,

All our rooms are now double glazed, so the traffic noise is near zero, we would like to thank you for your constructive comment that has helped us focus where to improve our rooms.

We always fill our upper floor first, as we try to keep the ground floor for anyone with any walking difficulties.

We hope to see you again, then you can see and hear the difference yourself.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Wayne Fenton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.6 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#4 of 70 in Cheltenham
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Property: Hilden Lodge
Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing