We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!”
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stayed at the Hilden Lodge for one week while on business in Cheltenham - it was a really pleasant stay. The hotel was really good value. The staff were very attentive, the food was good and the hotel clean and very comfortable. All in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jontydun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Hilden Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I booked a twin room, looking at the double room shown on the website assumed it would be similar, at least in size. It seems a twin room is not expected to be a similar size to a double,in fact our room was so small that the one chair was behind the door, the dressing table come tea area was stuck in a corner so no seat and no room for a seat, if there was you wouldn't have been able to get to the second bed. To turn the radiator on or off you had to move the dressing table out as the control was behind it. The bath was a triumph in fitting toilet basin and shower in the smallest space possible! No shelf to put anything over the small sink, you had to lay toiletries on the basin! So, to dry yourself you had to step into the bedroom as there wasn't enough space to achieved that task in space in front of the basin. When you sat on the loo you had a basin in your face!

The beds were very uncomfortable, every movement made the internal bed frames creak and as a consequence spent half the night sitting up reading.

Then came breakfast, hoping at least this was ok. Pink sausage, mushrooms not cooked through, still raw in the middle, asked for it to be cooked through, came back with cooked mushrooms and sausage but now the scrambled egg had been re heated in a frying pan with butter, so that was in edible, asked for a fried egg and that was fine. Ok things go wrong, so I put these concerns in a letter to the management and they couldn't see that anything about their service was anything other than perfect. So, beware.

Room Tip: Ask what size the room and the bathroom is.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Hilden House.
As you can see from our other reviews we pride ourselves on customer satisfaction

We were particularly disappointed that you did not enjoy our breakfast.
Gloucester Old Spot Sausages can have a pink tinge when cooked. We test all of our food with a temperature probe prior to serving. All breakfasts are cooked to order, we kept your scrambled egg warm in the oven as requested when you sent back the sausages and the mushrooms.

The bathrooms in our standard rooms are compact. You booked via our website and the photos and details clearly state that twin rooms are smaller and the price reflects the size of the room. We do have other rooms with larger bathrooms and larger shower rooms, but they are priced accordingly.

We are continually improving our service by responding to comments from guests. All of our windows have recently been double glazed to eliminate road noise. We removed the shelves in the bathrooms and replaced them with dispensers but will now try to find a different solution. We have a programme to replace regularly beds and mattresses. We were not aware that yours was an issue, but will now review immediately.

Our management assistant responded to all of the comments that you made in your original email. He is very proud of the guest house, and takes things very personally so I'm sorry if he did not respond too well to criticism.

We are not perfect but we try very hard to offer a good service. I can only apologise if you feel that you were let down on this occasion.

Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay recently , Wayne could not have been more helpful and friendly , his wife Melissa was an excellent cook and nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend .

Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

We would like to say thank you so much for your lovely words, Regards Wayne & Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

A very friendly hotel. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast makes this good value for money.

The room I stayed in apparently uses a 'Saniflo' plumbing system (that was the name mentioned by the person on reception) and it blocked the morning I was departing. There is a warning sticker by the toilet about what not to flush down it, so I am guessing this happens from time to time. I was given use of the bathroom in an adjacent empty guest room that was fortunately available, so no great inconvenience overall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredd111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We apologise about our saniflo on that particular day (was fixed immediately), we glad we were able to help, but it was not our intention to inconvenience you, glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise.

Regards
Wayne & Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Myself and my husband really enjoyed our stay at Hilden Lodge. We arrived on a bitterly cold afternoon the hotel and our room was like toast....very welcoming indeed. Wayne greeted us at the front door on arrival and was most helpful at all times during our stay.The room was very clean
and lovely fresh and fluffy towels daily and the breakfast was very satisfying and plentiful,the town
was a 5min walk from the hotel and had a few places to eat a must visit is Kings the Indian.... FABULOUS!!!! In general we had a lovely stay thank you Wayne and Melissa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

We would like to thank you for your lovely comments and glad we could help with your curry experience. Regards Wayne & Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spent a weekend break here in February with my girlfriend. I contacted the hotel the week before we arrived to see if they could arrange for a bottle of champagne and flowers could be ready on arrival. The staff could not of been more helpful, they even had a vase ready for my girlfriend to put the flowers in. In terms of breakfast, the food was v.good (recommend the homemade jam). The hotel itself is in an excellant location for going into Cheltenham, or venturing futher afield into the Cotswolds.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay, which was made even more so by the staff

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHoward-iom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to make a review of our Boutique Hotel and we are glad we could be of service to yourselves, a lovely couple and we hope that we can see you again soon.

Best Regards

Wayne & Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I spent last Saturday night at Hilden Lodge with a group of friends for my Hen night. On arrival (and we were 30 mins early and this was no problem) Wayne was very helpful and friendly, showing everyone to their rooms. I was totally surprised to arrive in my room to find a complimentary bottle of Champagne and Flowers - what a lovely gesture!
The room was clean, tidy, spacious and wonderfully decorated - all my hens had the same comments of their rooms.
We ordered an Afternoon Tea which was plentiful, delicious, fresh food. For only £8.95 per head it was amazing value for money. Wayne was always on hand topping up our Champagne glasses whilst we spent the afternoon painting pottery (I used an external company).

We ate out in the evening but I have no doubt that if we have eaten at the Lodge it would have been just as fabulous as all the other food during our stay.

Breakfast was lovely, a great selection and all cooked freshly, credit to Melissa in the kitchen :)

If you are thinking of planning such an event I can't recommend Hilden Lodge enough. We had the Lodge exclusively which was perfect and so reasonably priced. Any questions I had before the event were promptly answered by email. Superb customer service, as you will see I rarely write reviews on here but I really felt this was thoroughly deserved.

All in all a fabulous experience, I was disappointed when it was over!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget0199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your lovely review we were both so happy that your weekend gave you a good send off before your wedding.

You were all perfect ladies and a pleasure to have you through our door.

We wish you good luck on your happy day and hope to see some of you again soon.

Best Wishes

Wayne & Melissa xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
3.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
636 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range: £73 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing