We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oz”
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oz”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Great place to stay and easy to find. Management extremely helpful and welcoming. Dinner and breakfast very good. The wine selection prices varied and didn't break the bank cost wise! D,B & B price reasonable and of good value. Double glazing made the room quiet. Would recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: I doubt if any room would be better than any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice words in your review, we are small Guest House with smaller rooms than most, but we do our best to treat every guest as well as we can, thank you for your lovely comments and hope to see you again.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    58
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
99
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2013

New Years Bash which was on 31st December 2012 I organised for a Social Group which Wayne used to a member of ., There was 18 people who attended and I would like to say how brilliant the organisation of the staff were including Melissa who kindly put on a super buffet which was absolulately wonderful. The rooms were brill including names of every horse that won Cheltenham. Everybody enjoyed themselves and weather was reasonable and Wayne even showed us the local pub near by. 100% to all staff and management there, and am organising the same event again for 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 114Joanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear New Year Eve Gang,
Thank you for your excellent review, I know we were once part of the organisation, but we were so glad you enjoyed yourselves, our asst manager also enjoyed the festivities and hope you guys come back again to see us in the future.
regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We spent 2 days over the early May Bank Holiday weekend and had a great time - Wayne is a great host and nothing was too much trouble - the double room although not massive was certainly adequate for our stay and the sun never stopped streaming in through the window. A taxi was organised no problem for a trip into Cheltenham and we borrowed a guide book to do a fab walk on the Sunday - we couldn't blame Wayne or the book for getting lost. Would definitely stay again as perfect location for touring the Cotswolds and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the kind words, you both were a pleasure to serve and I am sure we shall see you again in the near future.
regards
wayne & melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stayed at the Hilden Lodge for one week while on business in Cheltenham - it was a really pleasant stay. The hotel was really good value. The staff were very attentive, the food was good and the hotel clean and very comfortable. All in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jontydun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I booked a twin room, looking at the double room shown on the website assumed it would be similar, at least in size. It seems a twin room is not expected to be a similar size to a double,in fact our room was so small that the one chair was behind the door, the dressing table come tea area was stuck in a corner so no seat and no room for a seat, if there was you wouldn't have been able to get to the second bed. To turn the radiator on or off you had to move the dressing table out as the control was behind it. The bath was a triumph in fitting toilet basin and shower in the smallest space possible! No shelf to put anything over the small sink, you had to lay toiletries on the basin! So, to dry yourself you had to step into the bedroom as there wasn't enough space to achieved that task in space in front of the basin. When you sat on the loo you had a basin in your face!

The beds were very uncomfortable, every movement made the internal bed frames creak and as a consequence spent half the night sitting up reading.

Then came breakfast, hoping at least this was ok. Pink sausage, mushrooms not cooked through, still raw in the middle, asked for it to be cooked through, came back with cooked mushrooms and sausage but now the scrambled egg had been re heated in a frying pan with butter, so that was in edible, asked for a fried egg and that was fine. Ok things go wrong, so I put these concerns in a letter to the management and they couldn't see that anything about their service was anything other than perfect. So, beware.

Room Tip: Ask what size the room and the bathroom is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Hilden House.
As you can see from our other reviews we pride ourselves on customer satisfaction

We were particularly disappointed that you did not enjoy our breakfast.
Gloucester Old Spot Sausages can have a pink tinge when cooked. We test all of our food with a temperature probe prior to serving. All breakfasts are cooked to order, we kept your scrambled egg warm in the oven as requested when you sent back the sausages and the mushrooms.

The bathrooms in our standard rooms are compact. You booked via our website and the photos and details clearly state that twin rooms are smaller and the price reflects the size of the room. We do have other rooms with larger bathrooms and larger shower rooms, but they are priced accordingly.

We are continually improving our service by responding to comments from guests. All of our windows have recently been double glazed to eliminate road noise. We removed the shelves in the bathrooms and replaced them with dispensers but will now try to find a different solution. We have a programme to replace regularly beds and mattresses. We were not aware that yours was an issue, but will now review immediately.

Our management assistant responded to all of the comments that you made in your original email. He is very proud of the guest house, and takes things very personally so I'm sorry if he did not respond too well to criticism.

We are not perfect but we try very hard to offer a good service. I can only apologise if you feel that you were let down on this occasion.

Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay recently , Wayne could not have been more helpful and friendly , his wife Melissa was an excellent cook and nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend .

Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
We would like to say thank you so much for your lovely words, Regards Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

A very friendly hotel. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast makes this good value for money.

The room I stayed in apparently uses a 'Saniflo' plumbing system (that was the name mentioned by the person on reception) and it blocked the morning I was departing. There is a warning sticker by the toilet about what not to flush down it, so I am guessing this happens from time to time. I was given use of the bathroom in an adjacent empty guest room that was fortunately available, so no great inconvenience overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredd111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologise about our saniflo on that particular day (was fixed immediately), we glad we were able to help, but it was not our intention to inconvenience you, glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise.

Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
London Inn
London Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Property: Hilden Lodge
Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing