We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
N wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Would stay here again. Arrived a little late. A great welcome. We were shown our room it was spotless, to a high standard. We asked if the restaurant was open and the proprietors assured us it was no trouble to make us a meal. This was of a high standard. The bed was comfortable and the lodge was quiet which enhanced a good night's rest before continuing our journey. Would stay again if in the area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrezeNwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad we were able to help you with food when you arrived, Melissa is always pleased to help as we both are. We look forward to your stay again in the near future.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    58
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
99
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I spent the last two nights at Hilden Lodge and departed with memories of a well-run hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, spotlessly clean and comfortable room and ensuite, and the most delicious food at both dinner and breakfast. We would be delighted to return should we ever wish to visit Cheltenham again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basso333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased with your recent review, which we have passed to our housekeeper, and Melissa is also pleased with your comment about meals and breakfast, we do hope you an stay again, and thank you again so much.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I've just returned home from my first trip to the Cotswolds having stayed at Hilden Lodge. It was a lovely hotel, warm attentive service from the staff. The location was a great one for exploring the area which was key as we were only there for one night. Loved it and would go there again:-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IS_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night recently. on arrival we were met by the owner Wayne who gave us a really nice welcome. This hotel is well run and clearly looked after, the room and ensuite shower were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and there was an excellent and varied selection to choose from including full English with really meaty sausages. Melissa (owner) makes her own homemade jam and marmalade. Highly recommended hotel where we will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffM1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed our service and the breakfast, I too like Melissa jam also, thank you again and we hope to see you another time.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked 3 double rooms to enjoy a weekend away to celebrate my parent's golden wedding anniversary in the Cheltenham area. The hotel was very clean, beds comfortable, superb breakfasts and Wayne very helpful & friendly. We will definitely use the hotel again as it is also in a good location for the town's amenities without being right in the centre - which could potentially be noisy. All in all a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzybee611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments and we enjoyed your visit to us also, hope they enjoyed there anniversary and see you all again soon
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here whilst walking the Cotswold Way. It's a bit off the trail but well worth the extra walking distance. The accommodation was first class and the food prepared by Melissa of extremely good quality. I had the special for £8.95, chilli and rice with salad and nachos and it was absolutely delicious. Wayne has a great sense of humour and the two of them run a great B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, you were pleasure and I do enjoy making my guests laugh as you had a gsoh yourselves, Melissa so chuffed with your comments, as I love her Chilli also. We do hope to see you again soon and thank you again.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Great place to stay and easy to find. Management extremely helpful and welcoming. Dinner and breakfast very good. The wine selection prices varied and didn't break the bank cost wise! D,B & B price reasonable and of good value. Double glazing made the room quiet. Would recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: I doubt if any room would be better than any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice words in your review, we are small Guest House with smaller rooms than most, but we do our best to treat every guest as well as we can, thank you for your lovely comments and hope to see you again.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
London Inn
London Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Property: Hilden Lodge
Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing