We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!”
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay Here!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

If you are going to stay in Cheltenham, stay here. At the time of our stay at at the end of March, the new owners had only taken over for a week and they could not have been more welcoming. We were an all female, mixed age, group and this hotel was a perfect base for all the activities that we undertook in Cheltenham. I am particular about matters such as cleanliness, service and food standards. I could not fault anything at Hilden Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vindo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    58
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
99
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was away with colleagues for a work trip and wanted somewhere less sterile and robotic than your usual Holiday inns etc etc and was very satisfied with what we experienced at the Hilden.
The staff were very friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble, I would recommend this place to anyone I knew was staying in the vicinity.
The breakfast was one I really enjoyed and one obviously cooked by an accomplished chef!
Well done!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hilden Lodge and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Wayne and Melissa made our stay excellent and was accommodating for all of our requirements.
We would not stay anywhere else, the next time we are in the Cheltenham area.
The room was great, warm and spacious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have now stayed twice, but have had dealings with the Hilden Lodge before , found Wayne and Melissa very welcoming.

The breakfast and evening meals are superb, are really helpful, genuinely so.

We are booked in for a night in April and have booked for a family eve4nt in October where 10 of us will be there.

Beds and fixtures brilliant, great atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It was lovely to see the three of you again we always love your company and glad that again you had a good stay, we are so looking forward to seeing all of you again in October for your Family get together.. Thank you again for a lovely review.

Regards

Wayne Fenton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

From the moment we checked in, the service was warm, friendly and welcoming. Felt very relaxed here and had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. And I have to say that the breakfast was the best I have had in a long time. Freshly cooked and very tasty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit the beautiful cotswolds.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It was lovely to see you all again, loved every time you stay with us, glad you enjoyed the New Year as we all did too. Hope to see you soon and thank you for a lovely review.

Regards

Wayne Fenton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our room was very small for two people. The bathroom was miniscule, and the glass shelf above the tiny basin sloped downward, so anything set upon the shelf fell into the basin. The parking is inadequate. There is no lift, so we had to carry our suitcases up two flights of stairs. We greatly regretted booking for two nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquarius1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guests,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we appreciate our rooms are not large and we do everything we can to minimise clutter. I was surprised by your comments with regards to your cases as I personally brought them up myself as I know how heavy they were, and I did say when you depart I would be glad to bring them down again, only to see that you did this yourself, and our disappointment is that nothing was said to myself on your departure about the space. if we would have known we could have put you on the ground floor but unfortunately these room were occupied. The glass shelf has now been fixed and again I am sorry that our Guest House room was not to your satisfaction. Should you book again with us, let me know I will ensure a better room for you as an upgrade.

Regards

Wayne Fenton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were in Cheltenham for a birthday party and chose Hilden Lodge because it was close to our friend house in Charlton Kings. It was a spotlessly clean,comfortable and welcoming b and b. Our bed was lovely and we slept really well. The good quality breakfast was very well cooked and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggieal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne F, General Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying with us, glad you enjoyed our breakfast which is always made freshly to order with our selection of fresh fruits platter and cereals. We hope that you will stay with us again, even If not for a party.

Regards

Wayne Fenton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
London Inn
London Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Property: Hilden Lodge
Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing