We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, friendly B & B.”
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Small, friendly B & B.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent, friendly welcome to the lodge, very helpful in terms of local information.
Breakfast was great and the dinner menu looked good, but we didn't get a chance to eat there.
Rooms were a high standard decor and comfortable.
Made a lovely weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwispeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    59
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
100
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shoeburyness
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had an absolutely lovely two night stay at the Hilden Lodge over the bank holiday weekend, for a tremendous weekend in Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. The rooms were comfortable, smart and designerly and the welcome from the two owners welcoming, warm and hospitable.

The crowning glory was food . We dined in both evenings (a special roast was provided on Sunday evening as it was bank holiday) and were served with an exquisite steak on the Saturday which was the equal of anything, washed down by a superb Spanish Jumilla. Followed by tasty breakfasts full of local produce each morning.

Apparently there is a pub nearby that serves decent food (The Royal) but we never found the need to find it!

I've been visiting Cheltenham since my teens (I am 50); it is one my favourite places in England, I have been here many times but to be welcomed into such a lovely B and B in such a way just enhanced the experience just so much..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Hilden lodge and the restaurant meal. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sorry to say our experience was different.

We had family room at £120 per night (stayed 2 nights), but thought this was a treat. Room was cold, no wifi (too far away from router). First night no room in car park. Arrived early and got the key but could not get in the room - understandable. However, when we got back the place was deserted, after we had been told the bar would be open as they were full - 10.00 pm. Could not get the wifi from our room, no times for breakfast on bank holiday in the book - tried to phone main no in the morning but could not get an answer (did find the answer on the door to the bar in the morning and a mobile no buried in the book). It would be helpful for it to be on the outside of the book, if no reception staff. In the book said there was a thermostat in the room, but we could not find it, turned the radiator on in the bathroom but did not get warm, so presume the heating was off. Got extra blankets next night - only one in wardrobe which we gave to our child. Breakfast was good and waiter very helpful.

We did not feel this warranted a 4*. We do not usually complain, but felt we needed to. We had no redress and the money had been taken two days prior to visit. My husband helped an elderly chap down the stairs after the first night (with two walking sticks!) said there was no room on the ground floor for him and no way for him to get help. Decor ok but quite old fashioned, in my opinion.

Really think there should be some way of people to contact reception or owners in the room. Maybe it is the area but feel it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have addressed the points you have made as follows: the radiator in the room you stayed had been turned down by a previous guest, it is usually set mid-way and can then be adjusted to personal preference; we have put an extra stock of fleecey throws in the wardrobe for future guests.
In the room information folders we do point out that the bar in the lounge closes at 10pm due to fire regulations. Both landline and mobile contact numbers for the managers are also in this folder, and breakfast times are also posted on the lounge restaurant door. Additionally there is a bell to ring on the stairway for any guest who needs assistance outside of reception hours.
Free wifi is provided throughout the hotel. We have booster routers on the upper and lower ground floor and full BT infinity. Unfortunately, at the time of your stay, we were experiencing a drop in performance of the wifi which BT have since dealt with. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused to you.
We do have limited car parking which can get quite tight on a busy weekend, but luckily, there is free parking in the quiet, residential road beside the hotel. This has never proven to be a problem thus far, however we have applied for planning to make some improvements to the amount of car parking available for guests.
Your payment was taken as per our terms and conditions which are advised to you at the time of booking and is normal practice.
If a guest makes known to us any concerns during their stay with us, we will do our best to resolve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Had a very nice stay at the Hilden Lodge. Sally and David, the managers, were very welcoming and were very flexible. Nothing was too much trouble. Great breakfast and nice food in the evenings. Excellent place to stay in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Hilden Lodge in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I had a delightful stay at Hilden Lodge over what was a very busy weekend due to the Cheltenham Jazz Festival. It is perfectly located for easy access and for getting into town but is in a very peaceful location. The hotel is tastefully decorated with good attention to detail which is testament to the efforts of the owners who told me that they have only been there for one month. Each room is individually named and ours was very comfortable; a king size bed, ensuite with bath and shower, beverages and flatscreen tv.
There is a restaurant for evening meals and small bar which we didn't use on the night of our stay but looked nice. We had our breakfast in the restaurant the following morning, which was wonderful. There is a good selection of cereal, fruit and yoghurt, etc whilst your order is taken for a variety of cooked breakfasts, which are freshly cooked to order.
I cannot fault any aspect of our stay and would certainly stay there again when next in Cheltenham. It is worth noting that you can get a better rate if you book directly with the hotel.
Fully recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Hilden lodge and hope to see you again soon! Thank you also, for pointing out that we do give the best room rates when contacted directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We escaped the first night in our new home and left the boxes unpacked in favour of some R & R. We were not disappointed. Sally made us feel so welcome and our room did not disappoint. As we were very new to Cheltenham she gave us valuable information on local amenities which was very helpful. Breakfast next morning was delicious, plenty of choice and a beautifully cooked English breakfast. I would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family when they come to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back where we stayed were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review and we hope the house move has gone well for you both. We look forward to welcoming you and your visiting relatives to Hilden Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As a lone traveller (using Hilden Lodge as a base to visit friends and relatives nearby ), I was very warmly welcomed by the new managers. Cosy room with all mod. cons. that I expected. Superb breakfast menu which definitely came up to standard (even a delicious sausage in a doggy bag for my dog waiting outside in the car!) Excellent dinner,too - fish pie to die for !
I doubt that you could do better for B.&B.near Cheltenham - full marks to Hilden Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aileen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you - and Daisy Dog again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
616 reviews
1.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charlton Kings Hotel
Charlton Kings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Charlton Kings
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Property: Hilden Lodge
Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing