We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always check to see if they have family staying!”
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always check to see if they have family staying!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were booked in with my parents to visit the Prescott Hill climb VSCC 80th anniversary on the 1st of August 2014 for 2 nights. I had not anticipated being quite so disappointed with our accommodation. From the moment we entered, it was clear that as guests we were an inconvenience and our welcome was less the warm and inviting. Things turned for the worse when we were shown to our rooms, and my parents were introduced to "Little Owl" room number 6. The name is very apt, a room that used to be a single, now has 2 single beds in it and only 1 set of towels, cups etc.To say I was embarrassed to have my parents stay there is an understatement. The second room was slightly better, but nothing like the image on the website. We entered the bar for a drink, 1st drink was off and had to be replaced, we left and walked to the local pub for Dinner.
Keen to get on the move Saturday morning, we were all up early, my parents needing to get out of their shoe box, and we all congregated in the bar area, only to be told that we were early for breakfast, which was not served until 8.30am. We were simply sitting there having a conversation waiting until 8.30.
Saturday evening, we returned and discovered that the owners had family staying. Now things became clearer, the best rooms were allocated to family and friends. In addition we had a typed note on our bed, stating that the menu had been changed for this evening, Roast Lamb Special due to family visitors, "This saves us being locked in the Kitchen all evening". Good job we had a reservation at the Royal Pub in the village. We had to listen to the noise and activity underneath our room until 10.30 / 10.45pm, still I suppose it make a change for the owners to disturb the guests for a change?
Sunday morning, our shower fails. You already had to turn the shower on and off with the isolator switch outside the bathroom, but only one of us managed to have a shower, very 4 Star. Lots of activity in the Kitchen, it would appear that breakfast was going to be slightly early, well they had friends staying and wanted to get out to Prescott themselves. No reference to being early this morning. After we had eaten I attempted to check out, pay our bar bill, again it became clear I was an inconvenience during breakfast, what was I supposed to do, leave without paying?. I mentioned the shower issue and was thanked for letting them know, by now I was just looking to get out of there.
None of our party were looking for 5 star service at 2 star prices, but the level of customer service, quality and size of the rooms was not as detailed on their website. Clearly visiting whilst they are entertaining family and friends in not a good idea and we were supposed to just get on with broken equipment and zero eye contact during any conversation with Sally.
I feel sure that Sally will comment on our reviews if and when it is listed, a shame dialogue was not so forthcoming whilst we were in the property.
Having stayed as a family group in numerous hotels and B&B's throughout the UK we appreciate that not all of the details on the website feature in every room, we are however wondering how a 4 star rating was obtained for this establishment.
If you are looking for accommodation in this area, there are loads of hotels and B&B's, may I suggest you look at all of them before booking?

Room Tip: Any Room except Little Owl, all upstairs rooms that back on to the road will be noisy due to traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Naturally, we are both disappointed to receive this review - feedback from all our guests is something we take very seriously. Hilden Lodge - besides being a lovely guesthouse, is also our home and we do work very hard at ensuring guests feel welcome and comfortable. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay - we wish you had told us your grievances while you were here so we could have done our best to put them right for you.

In your review you have made some inaccurate assumptions which I would like to amend.
Firstly, it is true that David's parents came to visit - but the large group of people enjoying the bar and restaurant on both Friday and Saturday evening were not friends or family as suggested in the review. They were guests visiting Prescott Vintage Sports Car club, along with yourselves. I apologise if their conversation and laughter in the restaurant disturbed you at 10.30 pm on Saturday evening.

Also, I would like to clarify that rooms are allocated at the point of booking, whether through an online agent or directly with us. Hilden Lodge is a Regency period house with 12 en-suite rooms that vary in size and price. We book up weeks in advance especially on Saturdays in high season. Your rooms were allocated when you telephoned and asked me to match a Special Offer you had seen online. I clearly described which rooms were still available, and agreed to honour the discounted rate for those rooms.

We would ask all potential guests to please read our many other positive reviews along with this one, and look forward to welcoming them to Hilden Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    58
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
99
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

stayed here 18th - 20th July, great location and free parking, very friendly welcome , lots of information on the local area, after a long drive had a cold lager sitting on the terrace, nice bar area along with dining room. everything is pristine, our room was very comfortable we were offered fans due to the current heatwave , fortunately we had a corner room with two windows. comfortable bed and great towels - very thick and fluffy. breakfast was excellent with a self service selection of fruit, cereals and fruit juices , followed by a selection of cooked breakfasts, great bacon and eggs !
location is great just a short taxi or bus ride to town.
hilden lodge is highly recommended,

Room Tip: ask for kingsize bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porthcawltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feed back, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at hilden lodge on the 29th of May, we were attending the Cheltenham sales. The rooms were extremely comfortable, all our party passed on our compliments to David on our excellent evening meal and morning breakfast. We would highly recommend the hilden lodge for any future stay,and we appreciated the excellent service provided by David and Sally.

Mr Flynn.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Francis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for giving us a great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent, friendly welcome to the lodge, very helpful in terms of local information.
Breakfast was great and the dinner menu looked good, but we didn't get a chance to eat there.
Rooms were a high standard decor and comfortable.
Made a lovely weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwispeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had an absolutely lovely two night stay at the Hilden Lodge over the bank holiday weekend, for a tremendous weekend in Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. The rooms were comfortable, smart and designerly and the welcome from the two owners welcoming, warm and hospitable.

The crowning glory was food . We dined in both evenings (a special roast was provided on Sunday evening as it was bank holiday) and were served with an exquisite steak on the Saturday which was the equal of anything, washed down by a superb Spanish Jumilla. Followed by tasty breakfasts full of local produce each morning.

Apparently there is a pub nearby that serves decent food (The Royal) but we never found the need to find it!

I've been visiting Cheltenham since my teens (I am 50); it is one my favourite places in England, I have been here many times but to be welcomed into such a lovely B and B in such a way just enhanced the experience just so much..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Hilden lodge and the restaurant meal. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sorry to say our experience was different.

We had family room at £120 per night (stayed 2 nights), but thought this was a treat. Room was cold, no wifi (too far away from router). First night no room in car park. Arrived early and got the key but could not get in the room - understandable. However, when we got back the place was deserted, after we had been told the bar would be open as they were full - 10.00 pm. Could not get the wifi from our room, no times for breakfast on bank holiday in the book - tried to phone main no in the morning but could not get an answer (did find the answer on the door to the bar in the morning and a mobile no buried in the book). It would be helpful for it to be on the outside of the book, if no reception staff. In the book said there was a thermostat in the room, but we could not find it, turned the radiator on in the bathroom but did not get warm, so presume the heating was off. Got extra blankets next night - only one in wardrobe which we gave to our child. Breakfast was good and waiter very helpful.

We did not feel this warranted a 4*. We do not usually complain, but felt we needed to. We had no redress and the money had been taken two days prior to visit. My husband helped an elderly chap down the stairs after the first night (with two walking sticks!) said there was no room on the ground floor for him and no way for him to get help. Decor ok but quite old fashioned, in my opinion.

Really think there should be some way of people to contact reception or owners in the room. Maybe it is the area but feel it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have addressed the points you have made as follows: the radiator in the room you stayed had been turned down by a previous guest, it is usually set mid-way and can then be adjusted to personal preference; we have put an extra stock of fleecey throws in the wardrobe for future guests.
In the room information folders we do point out that the bar in the lounge closes at 10pm due to fire regulations. Both landline and mobile contact numbers for the managers are also in this folder, and breakfast times are also posted on the lounge restaurant door. Additionally there is a bell to ring on the stairway for any guest who needs assistance outside of reception hours.
Free wifi is provided throughout the hotel. We have booster routers on the upper and lower ground floor and full BT infinity. Unfortunately, at the time of your stay, we were experiencing a drop in performance of the wifi which BT have since dealt with. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused to you.
We do have limited car parking which can get quite tight on a busy weekend, but luckily, there is free parking in the quiet, residential road beside the hotel. This has never proven to be a problem thus far, however we have applied for planning to make some improvements to the amount of car parking available for guests.
Your payment was taken as per our terms and conditions which are advised to you at the time of booking and is normal practice.
If a guest makes known to us any concerns during their stay with us, we will do our best to resolve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Had a very nice stay at the Hilden Lodge. Sally and David, the managers, were very welcoming and were very flexible. Nothing was too much trouble. Great breakfast and nice food in the evenings. Excellent place to stay in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Hilden Lodge in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
London Inn
London Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Property: Hilden Lodge
Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing