We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real welcome”
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A real welcome”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Lizzie and Nik have obviously put a lot of thought into this venture. The welcome was great - with helpful suggestions of sightseeing around the Cotswolds and lots of information about the immediate area.
There is free off-street parking for about 8 cars (depending on the abilities of your fellow guests to park in a straight line!). The room I had was bright, airy and beautifully decorated. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. The wardrobe smelt nice (I know that's an odd thing to comment on - but you know it's a bad sign when the wardrobe smells stale!) and it was adequately roomy. There was plentiful drawer space, two good well-positioned mirrors , a comfy chair and a dressing-table stool.
The room was equipped with a radio/alarm which even I could work out how to use, a small but deceptively-powerful hairdryer, a good-sized kettle and tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits. Also an information pack. There was a TV/DVD player and - joy of joys - a very comprehensive DVD library which Lizzie and Nik are happy for guests to borrow from. Free wifi is available in all rooms.
The bathroom was small but spotlessly clean, loads of hot water and a nice basic range of toiletries. I would have preferred a larger bath towel but that's just me being fussy.
The only meal on offer was breakfast - the selection was good, the food delicious and the coffee - fantastic.
Whilst no evening meal is offered you are welcome to take your own cold food up to the rooms or to order a takeaway to eat in the dining room. Otherwise there is a really nice pub-eatery a short walk away.
Hilden Lodge has a bar available until 10pm with a good selection and some particularly nice local bottled ales.
It is an easy drive from Hilden Lodge to all sorts of Cotswold delights and a 20 minute walk into the centre of Cheltenham, or 35 minutes if you're lazy, overweight, ate too much breakfast and the weather is hot!
A good tip = look at the Hilden Lodge Facebook page - it has more information about what's on in Cheltenham than any other source I could find on the net!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHildenLodge, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Dear Mrs. Maguire,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was particularly nice to know that you have found us on Facebook, as this is a new venture for us. It's great to know that guests are finding the information useful.

I hope if you are ever back in the area you will pay us a visit.

Very best wishes,

Lizzie and Nik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    59
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
99
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Great attention to detail paid at this wonderful B&B, nothing too much trouble in a very professional sort of way. Best of luck to these enterprising owners, they deserve it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We recently stayed here for 2 nights. The Hilden Lodge has many good points the location is good. access to Cheltenham is easy as is access to Gloucester and surrounding areas. The hotel is clean and bright. It looks like it has recently been refurbished, The breakfasts were superb enough to keep you going until the evning meal. We were greeted by the owner on arrival and given reccomended eateries for the evening. One of the reccomendations was the Langton about a 10 to 15 minute walk. The food was soooo good we eat there both nights. It was very freindly and had a varied menu. Prices were from £9 to £19 for a main course. The service was very good.

We were given our keys and offered our luggage to be taken to our room.I had seen previous reviews and had requested a quiet room when I booked. As requested we were given a room on the back of the hotel. The room was very clean with all the usual facilities. As in a previous review we found our room a little on the small side and we had a double bed. I must agree with a previous review about the en suite, it was only 700 mm wide the size of the shower, that was fine but the sink was very awkwardly placed with a glass shelf above we banged our head on it a couple of times whilst brushing our teeth. By some of the noise coming from other rooms we were not the only ones. We did not use it but there was a good selection of DVD's that you could borrow and the TV had a good selection of channels.

The other negative point for us was that ther was no access to a lounge during the day. and if you wanted a drink in the eveining you had to press a bell to request it. The bar also closed at 10pm. Breakfat was served by the staff and although the service was good (apart from on the 2nd morning they did not remember they had served us the day before and preceded to go through th available menu again)

The Hilden did seem a little impersonal we only saw the owner once this was on booking in. To some people I am sure that is a bonus but we felt there was not much atmosphere and you werent encouraged to se the facilities other than your room.

I would stay here again but would probably ask for a bigger room. We booked through the web and the price was reasonable. I would have been very dissapointed if we had paid the rack rate.

Overall this is a good B & B for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelling757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHildenLodge, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Dear Madam,
We were really pleased to read how much you enjoyed our breakfast and our recommendation of the Langton, for an evening meal. We are sorry you felt Hilden Lodge lacked atmosphere. We were unusually quiet on the nights you stayed with us (Sunday & Monday), consequently Nik and I took a day off and this is why you only saw us on arrival. We had our two Receptionists covering for us.

Our bar area is open and available to use all day and the bar is actually open for drinks in the morning and from 3pm until 10pm. Due to the fact that there is usually only Nik and I around we use the bell system so that we can be contacted wherever we may be in the house. Nik and I love nothing more than chatting with guests on their return from a day out or in the bar. We are sorry we missed you on this occasion.

If you are ever in the area again and are looking for accommodation, please note that we do have larger bedrooms with larger ensuites and would happily upgrade you to one of these rooms.

Hope to see you again.

Best Wishes,

Lizzie and Nik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The first thing that struck me about this guest house (it is not a hotel by any means) was the total lack of any facilities. No dining facilities, gym, grounds or even bar after 10.00pm. In fact after 10.00pm you'll get nothing unless you are actually dying.

I stayed in room (or perhaps it should be called box) 9 and you literally had to climb over the bed to get from one side of the room to the other and be careful on the way not to bump your arm or head against the TV. The shower room was actually dangerous in that it is so small and the shelf directly above the sink could take your nose off if you bend down to wash your face in the sink.

The room was nicely decorated, fresh and clean but the traffic noise....!!! Now I am a very heavy sleeper but had trouble nodding off before 11.30pm and was woken at 5.30am. Oh and because of the traffic noise you have to turn the TV right up and obviously the guest in the next room had the same problem as I could hear which channel he was watching too.

You'll have to go out to eat and its a brisk twenty minute walk into town. Oh, but they are kind enough to give you a front door key so you can let yourself in without knocking. I say that as when you book in, they seemed to regard that as a plus feature...!!!

Overall, its clean and tidy but that's just about it. Would suit experienced old B&B'ers who like an interrogation, sorry chat, over their breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHildenLodge, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
Dear Sir, We are so sorry that you were not happy with our facilities. We do not try to be a hotel, we are a family run guest house, offering attentive service. We offer our guests comfortable rooms with full tea & coffee making facilities, an LCD TV & DVD player, free Wifi & an excellent freshly cooked breakfast.

We are sorry that you were unhappy with the layout of room 9. Room 9 is short on floor space due to the 6 ft King Size Bed but is usually very popular with our guests for this reason. I was surprised to read your comment about the traffic noise. Obviously we are situated on the A40, which is a main road and one of the reasons why we are so convenient and easy to find. However we have had numerous guests, who class themselves as light sleepers, who have not experienced any noise issues in room 9, as it is on the side of the house, overlooking our garden. Perhaps it was a unusually busy night. It is unfortunate we were not made aware of these issues during your stay, as we would have endeavoured to move you to an alternative room.

The town centre is a 25 minute walk from us however there are a few eateries within a 10 - 15 minute walk, which we list in our Guest Directory, so venturing into town is not necessary.

We are sorry you felt interrogated over breakfast. We do pride ourselves on our friendly, chatty nature and we're sorry if this was too much for you. However, without exception all other feedback we have received on this, and other sites, echoes this.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail.

Kind regards,

Lizzie and Nik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

A small hotel, walking distance (half an hour) from centre of Cheltenham, or buses from just down the road.
Nice clean and comfortable rooms, recently decorated, not huge, but fine for a short break. Traffic noise may be a problem if you're a light sleeper and have windows open.
Breakfast freshly cooked with a good choice of the usual plus muffins with scrambled egg and smoked salmon, also fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, lovely jams and marmalades.
The owners Lizzie and Nick were very welcoming. There is a small bar area and outside there are a couple of tables next to a garden. Must be popular with the race goers as all the rooms are named after famous horses!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkiecorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHildenLodge, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
Thank you for your honest review.
Nik & I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We're particularly happy you enjoyed our jam and marmalade collection, as they are a recent addition to our breakfast offering.
Just so you are aware, for future visits, we do have a number of rooms that overlook the back or side of the property and so are quieter than some of the front facing rooms, if you are a light sleeper.
I do hope your friends and yourself will stay with us again one day. We really enjoyed having you here.
Very best wishes,
Lizzie & Nik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Very friendly staff, made us feel very welcome.
Only a short drive away from Cheltenham City Centre. We stayed here as a base, to visit The Cotswolds ( most villages are less then a 30min drive away) ans we wouldnt have done it any other way.
Rooms are very clean and very well presented -modern decor, although the en-suites are quite small, this wasnt an issue for us.
The Breakfast was included during our stay, the food was great, they have a variety of choices and hot breakfast is made fresh evey morning.

I would recommend to friends/family and i would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neadles610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHildenLodge, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
Thank you taking the time to write this review.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We just wanted to let you know, for future visits if you're ever back in this area, that we do have rooms with larger bathrooms, which are more spacious.
We hope to welcome you back one day.
Very best wishes,
Nik & Lizzie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My wedding guests stayed here and they had a wonderful time. I thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in charlton kings. The best b&b in cheltenham by far.

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennylovesjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
115 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 70 in Cheltenham
579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charlton Kings Hotel
Charlton Kings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Charlton Kings
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Property: Hilden Lodge
Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing