We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't feel very welcome here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlton Kings Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Didn't feel very welcome here”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

First the pros: there is free car parking, the rooms are clean and the decor is reasonable.
The cons: the owners had a distinctly cool air to them. Polite, but distant. I felt distinctly unwelcome and was quite frankly pleased to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
We remember you staying over the Bank Holiday weekend and spending most of your time at the festival you had come to see. We have no idea what we did, or didn’t do, to make you write such a damning – and we think unjustified – assessment. For a more positive view of the hotel, please look at Mr A’s review above and also many similar ones on online booking agents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    67
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
111
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, North Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed as a group of 11 walkers and enjoyed the facilities very much. Food quality was also excellent, but mine host failed to provide the kind of welcome one would expect! Every request was met by a polite response but not the 'of course we can' answer one would have liked. Perhaps we were not the group of friends enjoying the Cotswolds Way walk that the owners like, and the fact that we are all Welsh speaking may have been a factor in the interaction between the group and the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmt1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for your review and glad you liked the food and the facilities. Your tight-knit group of old friends virtually filled the hotel, and you all seemed to be having a jolly good time during dinner and afterwards. Given that you were all close chums it seemed best for us to stand back and let you get on with it. Don’t know about you, but we don’t think a hotelier’s role is to be a talkative “pub landlord” of the kind satirised by Al Murray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Certainly the least enjoyable of 4 hotels in which we stayed. The food was very good as was the quality of the interior. Our bedroom was adequate. However, a potentially excellent ambience was negated by a rather imposing and often condescending host who did little to enhance our enjoyment of the Cotswolds experience. Even his presence at Reception, behind a rather oversized desk was, in itself, almost "threatening!!". But we were able to laugh this off and continued to appreciate all that was wonderful about the Cotswolds. He certainly could learn some lessons on PR from the hosts at the other hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your review. As you were part of the same group as the reviewer above, please see our comments there. As for the desk - when you reflect on it we think you may feel that this comment was in fact just a teeny bit silly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel to be very clean and maintained to a good standard. Staff were friendly. The facilities were good, but perhaps did not warrant a four star rating. Breakfast was excellent, but the evening meal was terribly mediocre and very pricey for what was on offer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank extra_strong_mint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thanks for your review, Mr Mint. On a point of information, we are not a 4-star hotel. We are merely a 3-star grade. If you don't fancy our food, there are scores of decent restaurants in Cheltenham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just had a break in Cheltenham and so enjoyed the Charlton Kings Hotel, our room was probably the best we have had! the decor super and spotless ,,no scuffed walls !!! (we had room 2 on the ground floor ) this was one of the larger rooms and definately worth the extra supplement.
The walk in shower was fab everything fresh and tidy,the owners so pleasant providing first class service to us .
Whilst the Dinner menu is not huge there is a sensible choice and the food was quality and beautifully presented. Breakfast was very good too.
Location is good for visiting places like Bourton-0n-The -Water or shopping in Cheltenham.The garden is neat and tidy with good parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabaker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

12 of us, walking the Cotswold Way on a Pilgrimage, descended early on the hotel. THe owner and his wife could not have been nicer and welcomed us in. Hot showers, comfortable beds, great food, a friendly bar - we loved it. Perfect for a night en route for walkers. Quirky, friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here on our travels on the Cotswold Way

The owner, in a quirky, nice and very friendly way, had a little of "Basil" in him. Amusing and fun.

We were well greeted by he and his wife.

The rooms were the only singles they had but were fine, apart from the noise of the main road into Cheltenham which was pretty bad at times. The room was good though!

Breakfast was lovely, accompanied by a little light Mozart.............which I liked!! Better than Britney Spears at Breakfast anyway!

A good stay and good value. Try it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goan_and_Indian_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
542 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
0.4 mi away
Hilden Lodge
Hilden Lodge
#1 of 6 in Charlton Kings
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Kings Hotel

Property: Charlton Kings Hotel
Address: London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlton Kings Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're small but sophisticated, informal but tasteful, individual but professional. We're more friendly than a corporate hotel and offer much more than a B&B. Quality and attentive service from the owners. Close to the town but also on the edge of the country. Ideal for Cotswold Way and walkers. Dogs welcome. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charlton Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton Kings Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing