We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“credit to the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlton Kings Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

what a lovely hotel and a lot of the credit must go to the staff. all were so welcoming and efficient in their jobs. it was a lovely stay from start to finish. we had a huge bed in our room with everything we could need. the clock tower restaurant where we ate dinner was such good value with its.2 4 1 menu.we had stayed here for a family wedding, everyone agreed that the hotel had done a wonderful job of with all the arrangement's the whole hotel is very pretty with lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulgirlLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

Thank you to the hotel owners for a very lovely stay in your hotel. We had 2 rooms between 3 of us. Both were spotlessly clean, very warm and incredibly comfortable. We had dinner in the hotel which was yummy, the breakfasts were also perfectly lovely, the whole hotel was very impressive.

Also don't agree with the negative Previous comments. We will definitely be returning, thank you again!

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms on the very top floor which worked well for family members staying together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Many thanks for taking the trouble to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We booked the Charlton Kings Hotel on spec. Our bedroom had earlier in the year been refurbished. it was well done with a superb en suite bathroom.

The room and bathroom were a very pleasant start to our weekend. The evening meal, was truly superb, as was the breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel, a great location for the Cotswolds and with very welcoming and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ICJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Many thanks for your comments. Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

When we stayed at this hotel last year we so enjoyed the experience that we promised ourselves a return visit, as this was it. I reviewed Charlton Kings hotel last time, and everything was as perfect this time as it was then. We received a very warm welcome from Stuart, who opened the door for us to come in and carried our suitcase to the room. Lin also came to greet us and they both made us extremely welcome. As before, our room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was immaculate and had modern fittings, the shower over the bath was excellent and a heated towel rail ensured our towels were nicely warmed.
Breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented, and there was ample choice. We ate dinner at the hotel both nights, and could not fault the food whatsoever - the quality of the food was superb, and was freshly cooked. The homemade soups were delightful, and almost a meal in themselves! We also had pre- and after- dinner drinks in the conservatory.
At all times over the weekend, both Stuart and Lin were attentive without being intrusive; friendly, and ready to give any help and guidance with our questions about Cheltenham and the local area. We will certainly be visiting Cheltenham again and the Charlton Kings Hotel will be our first choice.
Stuart and Lin Doughty own and manage a lovely hotel and clearly have impeccable standards.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Many thanks for coming back - and writing another review. Very pleased that you so enjoyed your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and the room was v.clean, bed was v.comfortable and there was a well stocked tea/coffee/hot chocolate facility in the room. We even had an alarm clock in our room - a nice touch! Excellent breakfast with quick service. Good easy parking. The hosts were more than helpful, assisted us with our bags, showed us to our rooms, ordered a taxi and helped us with our onward journey in the morning.
Nothing wrong with this hotel !

Room Tip: Has everything you need including bar and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Many thanks for recommending us. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Spotless, great room, comfy bed, pleasant hosts, good breakfast with quick service, good parking, speedy wifi, hot water. Happy to recommend. I stay in hotels 3/4 days most weeks and this is better than most. I can't really understand some previous negative comments- as the saying goes "you can only please some of the people some if the time" - well I was one of the happy ones- well done I can see that as a private hotel you put your heart and soul into what you do and if back in the area will stay again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you very much for you review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime. We absolutely agree with your comments about other reviewers’ tastes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

First the pros: there is free car parking, the rooms are clean and the decor is reasonable.
The cons: the owners had a distinctly cool air to them. Polite, but distant. I felt distinctly unwelcome and was quite frankly pleased to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

We remember you staying over the Bank Holiday weekend and spending most of your time at the festival you had come to see. We have no idea what we did, or didn’t do, to make you write such a damning – and we think unjustified – assessment. For a more positive view of the hotel, please look at Mr A’s review above and also many similar ones on online booking agents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
325 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
555 reviews
2.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
532 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Kings Hotel

Address: London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range: £60 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlton Kings Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're small but sophisticated, informal but tasteful, individual but professional. We're more friendly than a corporate hotel and offer much more than a B&B. Quality and attentive service from the owners. Close to the town but also on the edge of the country. Ideal for Cotswold Way and walkers. Dogs welcome. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Charlton Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton Kings Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing