We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Treasure in the Cotswalds!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlton Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charlton Kings Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Treasure in the Cotswalds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Charlton Kings has all the feeling of a delightful B&B while being a hotel. The owners, Lyn and Stuart, are most welcoming and play an active part in the running of the hotel. We had a room for 3 with our grandchild having a separate alcove in our attic room. The food was more than ample and was cooked to our individual tastes. We did experience some traffic noise as it's very close to a somewhat busy road but it certainly didn't keep us awake at night. Overall a lovely experience and one we could recommend.

Room Tip: If you're needing a triple room you need to request that specifically from the owners as it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Don't think anyone's called us a treasure before! Very glad you liked it here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    63
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
105
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was a lovely stay and in a good location for what we wanted. The staff were very friendly and were constantly checking to see if there was anything we needed. The breakfast was really good, a lot of choice and the bed was really comfortable too. I noticed there was a review about room 6, that it was too close to the main road and was too noisy. This was not a problem for us and didn't think It was loud at all. If I was going to be picky about this room it would be that the TV was too far from the bed but again wasn't really a massive issue. We booked out another 2 rooms also as we had family members staying also and again there were no problems at all and seemed to enjoy their stay as much as we did. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in or around that area. Thank you for a lovely stay :)

Room Tip: We had rooms 3, 4 & 6. Rooms 3 & 4 were ground floor rooms and were away from the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaRick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Many thanks for the review. We're pleased you liked staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were on route to visit family so wished to stop off for the one night to break our journey. Travelling with a large dog meant we needed a large enough room for him to move around in and this we certainly got. Our room was downstairs, beautifully decorated and very large - room 2. The bed and the shower cubicle were huge - Room 2.
We arrived earlier than check in time hoping to just drop off our bags and were made to feel very welcome.
Being on the A40 means it is very convenient and easy to find- yes of course there is road noise which at night time was not a great amount and the double glazing windows do the job they are meant to. I am a light sleeper and did not find the noise the traffic an issue.
The gardens are lovely. The breakfast was really enjoyable and everything we needed was catered for.
Travelling with a dog means we look for hotel locations with or near by exercise areas and there is woods just a few minutes drive away which again is great.
Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moorali21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here overnight on a weekend trip with my mum. The 'hotel', (or guest house as it is more taht), is set in beautiful grounds and looks very impressive. When we arrived to check in we were greeted by a rather miserable man, although to his dues he did take my mums bags from her and helped her up the stairs, bu he was not exactly welcoming.
The rooms are a decent size and comfortable. My mums was slightly smaller that mine, at the back of the hotel but was definately more peaceful, overlooking the car park and some of the garden. I had the top floor room- No. 6 - which, I was sad to say I found very noisy as it overlooks the road. I have to sleep with a window open - more so as the heating was so high - and it made for a pretty bad nights' sleep. The bed was comfirtable, but the pillows were NOT! there were hundreds of them (and I threw most on the floor) but they were very high and firm. I woke with a terrible head & neck ache.
Breakfast was the big let down in this place for me. the ''buffet'' didnt cater to my gluten free needs, unless I wanted yoghurt and the fruit selection was pretty non-existent; grapefruit or grapefruit...so I went without. My mum ordered scrambled egg on toast and when it arrived (served by a very grumpy lady) it was served as a small, all crusts cut off square of bread (barley toasted) and dry looking egg piled on it. (toomuch egg for the bread) and no butter on the toast...
we checked out after breakfast and the young girl at reception, thankfully, was a step up from the gentleman who greeted us, she was smiley and helpful.
If you dont catch the staff on a (clearly) bad day I think this would be a nice place to stay as an overnight/short break. The wifi connection is good and so are the facilities, all in all it was ok.

Room Tip: if you need to sleep with a window open, dont take room 6 - it may be marginally bigger but the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty_katt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Too much scrambled egg and too many pillows! If these were the worst of your problems you’re a lucky person! Our scrambled eggs, by the way, are cooked to order with free-range eggs (not bulk liquid egg which some caterers use) and usually reach the guest within a couple of minutes of leaving the pan. Sorry, but I don’t get your general complaint about breakfast. You could have had: bacon, smoked salmon, eggs (boiled, fried, scrambled, or poached), tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans, and other fruit (prunes, apricots, banana) as well as grapefruit, all of which are gluten-free. But you only wanted black coffee. All bedroom radiators are under guest control: If your room was hot you could have turned the radiator off. Apologies for not being full of jokes when I showed you to your room, but I try to adjust my level of ebullience and humour to the guest. If people want to chat and gossip then I try to comply, if I sense they don’t, then I don’t. It takes two to tango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Myself and two colleagues, who were attending a boiler management course nearby, stayed there for two nights. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and checked out on Tuesday morning. On arrival we were greeted by owners Stuart and Lynn who were both extremely pleasant and courteous. Our rooms were excellent, clean bright and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was probably the cleanest I've came across on my travels. Although we never actually had an evening meal on the premises the menu was quite varied with prices no more than you would expect to pay in an establishment of this quality. Breakfast was fantastic - I opted for the full English both days. It was cooked to perfection with, as Stuart informed me, the sausage and bacon being grilled (so no unsightly fat or grease as so often found in other places). Lynn was always on hand to top up the coffee cup. The hotel boasts a nice bar with an adequate selection of spirits and bottled beers. There was also an ample selection of wines available. We had flown down from Aberdeen to Birmingham and hired a car for the journey to Cheltenham. I would seriously consider doing the same again with my wife to spend a long weekend at the Charlton Kings. A very enjoyable experience indeed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks very much for your very kind and detailed review. We're glad you liked staying here and naturally we hope the course had a successful conclusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here one night on a solo business trip.

Hotel clean and tidy, and very quiet. The room was modern and comfortable, with a well appointed bathroom. The wifi worked well. Breakfast was cooked to order, with a continental buffet. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Manager at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for your review. We're glad you liked staying here. Thanks for your complimentary note on the wifi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed here for 4 days for valentines. This is a lovely warm, cosy and friendly hotel. It is also superbly located as everywhere we wanted to visit was only 20 minutes away. The room was adorable and had a very decent bathroom with a fantastic shower. The owners are lovely and always talk to you when you see them. The bar is a lovely place to relax after a busy day out. I have no complaints about this hotel at all. It is just what we wanted for a romantic weekend away! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Very pleased that you liked staying here so much, and that everything was to your satisfaction. Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.8 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilden Lodge
Hilden Lodge
#1 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Kings Hotel

Property: Charlton Kings Hotel
Address: London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlton Kings Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're small but sophisticated, informal but tasteful, individual but professional. We're more friendly than a corporate hotel and offer much more than a B&B. Quality and attentive service from the owners. Close to the town but also on the edge of the country. Ideal for Cotswold Way and walkers. Dogs welcome. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Charlton Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton Kings Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing