We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlton Kings Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
oxon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We have just spent two nights with Lin and Stuart, and have to say it was one of the most pleasurable stays in a hotel that we have had for a long time.Everywhere was spoteless, the bed was heaven! and the food wonderful. If you are looking for a relaxing stay then look no further. Don't be put off by the 3 star award because it deserves 4 stars. We stay in a lot of hotels during the course of a year and this is the best so far for a small hotel. We normally stay at the Hatton Court just outside Cheltenham but this is now our favourite!!. We will be back. Thanks to you both for having us.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2010
It's very gratifying to get such good feedback. Thanks for taking the trouble to write a review. We look forward to welcoming this guest again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    65
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
109
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed in this hotel a few years ago it was very good.

On this occasion we went for Sunday it was absolutely first class. We would highly recommend it. There were five in our group, we all agreed it was the best meal we had had in a very long time.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mrporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Stayed here twice, first time in January and again in Febuary. Excellent, family run establishment. Good 'cooked to order' breakfast. Very quiet location on the edge of town, so you do need your own wheels, but ample free parking right at the door. Wireless Internet access was first class. Room comfortable, heating controls responsive. Value for money - yes. Substantially cheaper than town centre hotels with poorer facilities.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

We didn't intend staying in Cheltenham but had been unable to find a room in any of the Cotswolds villages that we tried. We arrived around 7pm on a Friday night and they had a vacancy and were able to offer us dinner so that was our reason for staying.

We had a ground floor room at the far end of the hotel which was quiet, we were only staying one night so didn't bother with an upstairs room, although the following morning wished we had so we could have had a view of the surrounding countryside.

The whole hotel was very clean and was immaculately decorated throughout.

Just a few criticisms of the place these being that it lacked any atmosphere, the toiletries and tea making facilities appeared a little cheap looking for such a nicely presented hotel.

We had dinner, which was just ok. Melon starter and pudding were beautifully presented, but my vegetable stroganoff was very bland and extremely disappointing.

Breakfast was average, cheap jam and toast which again let it down.

Overall it was pretty standard and just a few alteration could make all the difference. We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — Terrible bed
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scareyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snd13, owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2009
We bought the hotel in May 2008 and are improving and refurbishing throughout as time and money permit. Little surprised to read the comments about our beds in 3 posts - no one has ever complained to us verbally on this subject, and we have lots of repeat business from guests who have both the time and the inclination to complain if they wanted. Anyway, beds are on our mind! A post mentions cheap jam... We mostly use Robertson's. (Golden Shred, Dundee etc.) Not Fortnums admittedly, but not sure "cheap" is the right epithet. We prefer not to use jams etc. packed in portion-size glass jars because they seem wasteful of resources.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

From the moment you arrive at the Charlton Kings Hotel you are made to feel like a special guest. We were greeted by the owner who gave us a very warm welcome and personally showed us to our rooms. The rooms are large and very clean and had nice facilities, although the bed was a little lumpy. In the morning we were greeted and shown to our table in the dining room and had a most enjoyable relaxed breakfast. The staff were very pleasant and very eager to please. We will be returning again next year.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Lumpy bed
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annielawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, West Sussex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Stayed overnight when at a wedding locally. The hotel is well situated by the A40 London Road in an acre of grounds mainly laid to lawn, convenient for Cheltenham and the Cotswold countryside. We had a standard double room at the rear which was very quiet. The room was spotless with a recently refurbished bathroom, although the bed was not particularly comfortable. Only had B&B so can't comment on dinner. Breakfast was fine. Very friendly welcome from the new owners who were also very helpful with advice on places to visit. They recently updated the website and I'm sure further tangible improvements will follow. Would be happy to stay again.

  • Liked — Friendly welcome & sightseeing advice
  • Disliked — uncomfortable bed.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jockdownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Kings Hotel

Property: Charlton Kings Hotel
Address: London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlton Kings Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're small but sophisticated, informal but tasteful, individual but professional. We're more friendly than a corporate hotel and offer much more than a B&B. Quality and attentive service from the owners. Close to the town but also on the edge of the country. Ideal for Cotswold Way and walkers. Dogs welcome. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charlton Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton Kings Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing