We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Murder mystery hen weekend”
The grand, Wyck Beacon House, within 2 acres of land
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The grand, Wyck Beacon House, within 2 acres of land
Impressive hallway Large, cosy living room with french doors to the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
The grand, Wyck Beacon House, within 2 acres of land
Impressive hallway
Large, cosy living room with french doors to the garden
Elegant dining table for those special occasions
A smart, well presented kitchen
Adjoining pantry room with outside access
Downstairs WC
Ground floor family bedroom, sleeping 2+2
Ground floor family bedroom, sleeping 2+2, reverse angle
Heading up the staircase...
Traditional bathroom with roll top bath
Colourful zip and link bedroom (Super king or twin configuration)
Beautiful double bedroom
Rural views beyond the garden
Master bathroom, Jack and Jill style
Twin bedroom
Spacious double bedroom
Ensuite bathroom facility
Further double bedroom
With great views!
Ensuite bathroom facility
View of the house from the garden
A lush, expansive garden
Fun for all the children!
Wyck Beacon House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Wyck Rissington, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
T639
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Murder mystery hen weekend”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic property with lovely furnishings and a beautiful garden. Our party of 12 had the very best time and there was enough room for us to have our own space when necessary.
The dining room was the perfect room for entertaining and even had a lectern for the actors to use as part of the murder mystery plot I organised.
The lounge is large and cosy and the kitchen facilities were very good too.
All of the bedrooms slept 2 people comfortably and were of a high standard. Plus there are 3 bathrooms with showers, 1 with a roll top bath and a downstairs loo.
On top of this there were books,CDs,DVDs and games to help while away the time and the wifi worked too!
Finally the garden was ginormous and there was a croquet set that the girls had a great time with,plus a tennis court and hula hoops!
Would recommend this property to large groups and families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markieb19...
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly Cotswold Weekend”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wyck Beacon House is a truly beautiful home, and the ideal retreat for a large group.
There were 9 of us celebrating a big family birthday, and the house provided all the amenities we needed for a great weekend, and was the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds.

Decor throughout was superb, including lots of rock/pop memorabilia which was right up our street.

The house was immaculately presented, warm and cosy, with a huge lounge which was great for all the family.

I would love to go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful bedrooms and bathrooms.
Liked least: Can't think of anything to criticize.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r_haskayn...
York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice house and gardens quite luxurious with some quirky elements.”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a very nice stay here with our extended family, there was plenty of space for every one and quite a few bathroom ensuite. Very nice size dinning room to accommodate fourteen and a large lounge. The house had every thing we needed and we would definitely book the house again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house and accomodation for us all
Liked least: The couches in the lounge could do with replacing and some of the kitchen items
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateLeice...
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic family birthday celebration”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

10 adults and 3 children had a long weekend in Wyck Beacon House to celebrate a 30th birthday and we would recommend this for anyone but it is especially child friendly. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking and we managed several feasts around the grand dining room table. The rooms are comfortable with fabulous bathrooms, the only downside being the downstairs bedroom which was sometimes noisy. The outside space is lovely and I imagine in the summer it's glorious, there is a great play area for children and lots of lawn to run around on. My only gripe would be having to take our own recycling to Teso in Stow as there is no recycling collection. We visited Adam's Cotswolds Farm, Stow on the Wold, Bourton on the Water, Daylesford Organic and had sunday lunch at the Hollow Bottom in Guiting Power, great food and service and very child friendly and it was packed when we.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and size of the house
Liked least: The lack of recycling
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
254Jen
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous weekend in a gorgeous country house”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend with friends - four of us have babies/toddlers and the house was well equiped for this. Plenty of space, a fabulous garden and a beautifully furnished home. We would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissSophi...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to spend a weekend with friends”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I rented Wyck Beacon for a weekend to celebrate my 30th birthday with friends and it was an ideal house, I'm so glad I chose it. Everyone enjoyed the house so much, we were amazed at all the quirky, arty objects in the house and it was comfortable, homely, spacious and had all the facilities we needed. Staying here made the weekend extra special and memorable!
The service from Character cottages was also brilliant and instructions good.
I would definitely recommend it to others and would like to go back there when the weather is nicer to make more use of the garden and explore the local area more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LKane
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful family home in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic family weekend in this stunning house. We rent properties regularly and this is the first time the house has been decorated and set up as a family home with such amazing attention to detail.

All the bedrooms were stunning, there were plenty of sofas for all in the sitting room, the library/study full of interesting books and the lecturn in the dining room went down a storm!

We spent a fair amount of time in the garden and the children loved the climbing frame and swings.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing