We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent and very homely comfortable house.”
The grand, Wyck Beacon House, within 2 acres of land
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The grand, Wyck Beacon House, within 2 acres of land
Impressive hallway Large, cosy living room with french doors to the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
The grand, Wyck Beacon House, within 2 acres of land
Impressive hallway
Large, cosy living room with french doors to the garden
Elegant dining table for those special occasions
A smart, well presented kitchen
Adjoining pantry room with outside access
Downstairs WC
Ground floor family bedroom, sleeping 2+2
Ground floor family bedroom, sleeping 2+2, reverse angle
Heading up the staircase...
Traditional bathroom with roll top bath
Colourful zip and link bedroom (Super king or twin configuration)
Beautiful double bedroom
Rural views beyond the garden
Master bathroom, Jack and Jill style
Twin bedroom
Spacious double bedroom
Ensuite bathroom facility
Further double bedroom
With great views!
Ensuite bathroom facility
View of the house from the garden
A lush, expansive garden
Fun for all the children!
Wyck Beacon House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Wyck Rissington, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Experienc...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing visit”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a family celebration at Wyck Beacon House for a long weekend March/April. It was a lovely house but we experienced many problems.
On arrival we were greeted with house info detailing how the property suffers from low water pressure.This is mentioned in small print but more serious than implied.
On the first morning the water went off. We assumed it would return but late afternoon had to ring the manager.We were without water for more than 4hrs at the crucial time of late afternoon/evening. No bathing, showering, drinks, cooking meals flushing! The next day the same thing happened, over 5hrs without water. One might think this a 'one off ', except that the manager had been unsuccessful when asking the water board for a key so that they could flip the the switch every time it failed rather than waiting hours (this implies regular failure which cannot be rectified).
The dishwasher and the toilet in the main bathroom did not work due to low water pressure.
We had 5 babies/children in our party and being in a property without running water made a family celebration impossible.
We wish to warn other families to select another property if they wish to shower, bathe, cook, sterilise or flush!
When we complained, the manager informed us that the owner was adamant that he would only compensate us £150 (less than 10% of the rental). We considered this totally inadequate as with such water problems, the house was not fit for a family to stay in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
"Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owner's appointed property manager at Wyck Beacon House:

It was very disappointing to discover that these guests were experiencing problems with the water supply at the property. This problem had previously occurred, and was caused by the Thames Water equipment failing, rather than there being an issue with the property. Thames Water sent out a team of engineers, who, after hours of work, tested the system and declared it fully functional. The housekeepers visited the property to prepare for these guests, and the water and equipment was working correctly.

The guest information book states, ‘due to the position of the property, it can sometimes suffer from low water pressure, which should only last for a couple of hours. If this occurs for longer, please advise the Property Manager’. These guests arrived on Friday, and the first call we had was early on Saturday evening. The guests advised that the water had been off all day, but despite the notice in the guest book, thought it was normal. We immediately contacted Thames Water, and they sent out an engineering team. The water was back on within four hours, and we were assured that the issue was resolved.

There was no further contact from the guests until Sunday evening, when they called again to say that the water had been off all day. We called Thames water to complain, and they sent out an engineer once again. The water was restored some time later, but this was a temporary fix, as replacement parts were required which were not available until the following morning.

Whilst all the properties are checked regularly, as with any home, occasionally equipment breaks, or services fail. It was clearly inconvenient to have this problem, especially with young children in the party but, had we been advised of the issue earlier in the proceedings, the interruption in the supply would have been greatly reduced. When an issue is reported, we act with speed to implement our resolution procedure, with the minimum of disruption to our guests. This was evident on both occasions during these guests’ stay; we did everything we could, in a timely manner, to restore the water to the property. The pumping equipment is owned, maintained and repaired by Thames Water - we have no access to the equipment. When the equipment was fixed, all worked correctly, and we have not had an issue since".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyG151
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and very homely comfortable house.”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Wyck Beacon House for my father's 90th birthday celebrations. It accommodated all the family easily and we especially liked the spacious dining room with very large table - excellent for all the family meals. The lounge is also huge. The bedrooms were lovely and all had comfortable beds, and everywhere was warm. The weather wasn't great (we had snow and fog) so the long walks didn't happen but there was plenty of room to get away from one another in the house when needed. The internet could be a little bit temperamental but it wasn't too bad, and it was best to stagger the showers otherwise the water pressure could play up, but this was never a problem for us. This is a great place and we would definitely go back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue194020...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful spacious house for a family celebration”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This property is in a superb scenic area with plenty of local attractions for all the family. The house itself is unique in its furnishings, very eclectic mix of old and new. Comfortable and welcoming. I would highly recommend the property. there are tired ares but generally its superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The originality and space
Liked least: The worn sofas and slow showers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petesuv
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Thank you for a lovely stay. The place is bright, grand and fun.
As you walk around there are various items for you to look at and find. We've been here 2 nights and keep finding new things to look at such as paintings, chairs and sculptures.

Pros:
For the majority the property is clean and very tidy.
Stunning views
Great garden (we enjoyed tennis court)
Lots of fun and quirky things to look at.
Ample parking
Ideal for lots of guests.

Cons:
Our room, downstairs (converted garage?) was cold, ceiling was dirty and needs re-painting, window was full of black mould and condensation.
Beds in our room were uncomfortable - we stayed on the sofa bed and it was awful.
Kitchen was fairly dirty (some units) oven stunk of oil/burning.
Wifi is unstable (often cuts out or does not connect)
Every guest drove past the place and some struggled to find it.

Over all. I would highly recommend this place. I would have given it 5/5 but given our room and the kitchen I could only commit to 4/5

Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
"Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the property manager of Wyck Beacon House: "Whilst it is always very pleasing to receive pleasant comments from guests who have enjoyed their stay, we also appreciate when guests bring maintenance issues to our attention. It’s lovely to hear that these guests had a great time at the property, and are happy to recommend it to others. As part of our on-going maintenance schedule, we shall be working with the property owner to address the points raised about the ground floor bedroom.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drapps30
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasure to stay at and enjoy”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just wanted to leave note to say thank you for such a lovely house last weekend. Brilliant property not a fault to be had.
A pleasure to be at and enjoy.
Walking to the local pubs was a pleasure and returning to the house was the icing on the cake.
Lovely would recommend.
Would love to know who the music events promoter was who owned it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaBon
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing property”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I rented the house for a family group aged 2 - 86 to stay in, while in the area for my son's wedding. The house is so large with plenty of space for a large group to be together, and also gives the opportunity to escape from others! It is full of interesting pictures, books and articles which kept the whole family interested. From Fluffy (the stag head on the stairs - named by the 2 year old! ) to the pulpit in the dining room. There was something new to spot every minute and it made our stay all the better. The girls loved the garden - lots of room to run around without fear of damaging anything or themselves. Very well equipped, though we didn't do much cooking , only breakfast. Ideal spot for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space.
Liked least: The towels were rather small
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T639
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Murder mystery hen weekend”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic property with lovely furnishings and a beautiful garden. Our party of 12 had the very best time and there was enough room for us to have our own space when necessary.
The dining room was the perfect room for entertaining and even had a lectern for the actors to use as part of the murder mystery plot I organised.
The lounge is large and cosy and the kitchen facilities were very good too.
All of the bedrooms slept 2 people comfortably and were of a high standard. Plus there are 3 bathrooms with showers, 1 with a roll top bath and a downstairs loo.
On top of this there were books,CDs,DVDs and games to help while away the time and the wifi worked too!
Finally the garden was ginormous and there was a croquet set that the girls had a great time with,plus a tennis court and hula hoops!
Would recommend this property to large groups and families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing