We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of India Villa

India Villa
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Thaxted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Ordered a takeaway 2nd April chicken madras was very bland lots of grease not to there usual standards. We also ordered a special dish that we always order regularly but it also didn't taste the same. Not sure if we would return again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrewdunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We tried this takeaway for the first time and have been left feeling very disappointed. We placed our order and were advised that our food would be ready in 30mins which we found acceptable. Nearly an hour later we were still waiting for our food without much of an apology. Other customers were being offered drinks etc, we however were not. When we finally got the food home, half of it was cold and all of it fairly bog standard Indian food. Nothing special.

Helpful?
2 Thank LittleMilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Group of nine ate here one night as our hotel had no heating. Just turned up and they made us feel very welcome. Good food and helpful staff.
Would go again. Definately worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best ever!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I had the pleasure to visit this charming restaurant when visiting friends in Thaxted.We ordered from the takeaway menu and waited in the garden with drinks while it was being cooked>The staff were very pleasant and efficient.I ordered a king Prawn Dhansak with Pilau rice and a peshwari nan.I can honestly say this was the nicest food I have tasted in a long time.It was cooked to perfection and the spices were in the right quantity distribute evenly throughout.I would recomend this to anyone and will definately be visiting again when I am next in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrfussyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

visited restaurant on a Tuesday night really lovely restaurant in a nice setting food was above expectation with lovely flavours and the menu had a lot of variety. the prices were reasonable. and the staff attentive all in all a great find. My only complaint is that it is not nearer to where I live otherwise a brilliant place to eat and spend an evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amazed649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Villa also viewed

 

Been to India Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing